We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Swan

White Swan
Ranked #18 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $74
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The kitchen at the White Swan is focused on doing very little to excellent local ingredients with very rarely more than three flavours on a plate. We make just about everything from scratch in cluding the ketchup and we charge more for it than we would need to if everything came out of a freezer via a microwave.If you are looking for prissy and plastic fine dining then don't expect that here. If you are looking for mountains of cheap food and you don't care where it came from then there are better places to get it.However if you love proper food then I also promise you service from people who are genuinely pleased to be working in our lovely Inn. The AA deems our food good enough for 2 rosettes - and that is without a single smear, smudge or froth in sight. At the other end of the scale, we don't do wrapped butter portions or packets of sauce either (or piped musak). If you want real food in a relaxed experience with great service and a happy atmosphere then come on down. If you want something else - then don't say I didn't warn you.Victor Buchanan - Owner
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Extremely attentive staff, lovely beer and great, local, homemade food. We had the ginger pork in a jar and a ploughmans between two which was plenty. Particularly impressed with the ploughmans. We would defintely come back.

Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    119
    49
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great, but at a price”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The White Swan is without doubt one of the best appointed hotels and restaurants in the area, but they've duly awarded themselves licence to charge London prices, which probably doesn't upset the majority of their affluent guests, so all are happy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb meal out”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely three course meal in the White Swan. Service was attentive and not pushy. I had a beautiful steak and my partner had belly pork. Well recommended.

Helpful?
Thank lotrrulzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great end to my birthday”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my birthday with a train ride to Whitby, returning to Pickering for dinner. Having our lovely German Shepherd dog with us, we were limited for places to go but The White Swan allowed her in the bar. It was comfy, cosy and very friendly - we struck up some really good conversations with other diners there. The food, not cheap, was absolutely lovely and the choice was extensive. I was so pleased we had chosen The White Swan - perfect end to a lovely day

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Visited 31st july, decided to just have a drink after first impressions of the front lounge bar was very dark and gloomy. Ordered a pint of timothy taylor beer and one medium glass of wine when asked to pay £11.50 i nearly fell over with the shock, not being one to embarrass myself and question the ridiculous price i duly handed over my money. Will certainly not be rushing back here for a drink or food.Dark and dingy and damned expensive

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
This review is plain wrong. We simply don't charge £11.50 for two drinks. Even if this did happen your rationale for not questioning will appear somewhat strange and not the normal actions of someone faced with being overcharged.

Next time you are buying a car please can you give me a ring. I've got a lovely 12 year old BMW 3 Series which is a snip at £58,000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Swan also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing