We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Manse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Manse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another Relaxing Break”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have recently returned from another very enjoyable short break at the Old Manse. We have stayed there many times over the last 15 years or so and I have never written a review. I thought that it was about time that I wrote one! Given the fact that we return there year on year is a bit of a clue as to how good it is. We always receive a warm welcome from Valerie and are offered a coffee with biscuits on arrival. The lounge / dining room is nice with a log fire in the autumn / winter and the bedrooms are spacious. Breakfasts are excellent and there is the option of a very nice 4 course evening meal. Pickering is a lovely town and the Old Manse is only a few minutes’ walk from the North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway. Whitby is a half hour drive away. Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending The Old Manse as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We like room 3 which has a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review it is always lovely to see you both and catch up with all the
news. It was wonderful to receive it. Hopefully we will continue to see each other for years to come.
My love to you both. Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    44
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
129
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WASHINGTON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

were to start we booked our 1 night stay as part of a special offer and after reading reviews and looking at photos we thought it would be a good place to stay
on arrival we were met by the owner and showed were to park and given our room key she told us on booking it would be a small double which we were ok with as photos looked great the lady said she had give a us a bigger room over looking the garden so we thought that would be great was i wrong the room was very tied and still very small and if i had paid full rate i would have very upset after unpacking i thought for 1 night it would be ok on our way out i notice a few rooms unlocked so had a look in omg these rooms were a great size and nicely finished and packs of biscuits on hospitality tray so we felt like second class guests so we just went and enjoyed on time in pickering
breakfast was good and the young girls serving were very good
check out we were asked if we enjoyed our stay i said it was fine and the lady replied just fine and said i did not want to get in to it but she insisted i did
so i told her we did not like the room and the reply was it was well worth what you paid for it we like most people have stayed in hotels b&b on special offers and had the same standard room as full paying guests so i was shocked to here her say it was well worth the money then lady went on to say the hotel was full and we could not have had another room but i no for a fact there was empty rooms and when i told her this she went back in the hotel and slammed the door
so if you pay full price you will have a nice room and if you visit on a offer do not expect the best

Room Tip: not room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELLY3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi There I am sorry that you felt you were second class that was not the case at all - when your wife made the booking I told her the room was small and in fact we did move you to another room
over looking the garden we were in fact not intending to take any offers over the bank holiday
but we ended up taking two rooms - The room you saw was the four poster which was empty
has someone had pulled the shower off we had managed to get a new shower fitted but the
tiles were wet this was the reason I did not relet it that day.

I did go back in but did not slam the door there was no point in continuing the conversation.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Had 2 nights here at end of March.Our room had a four poster bed and was very spacious and clean.We were very greatfull that we could check in early after a very warm greeting from Valerie.Breakfast was mainly good.Full English was a good size.Spoke to Valerie when we left about an issue on the 1st morning and all cleared up.Will use again as very quiet surroundings and very friendly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Thank you so much for your lovely review. I enjoyed meeting you both
hope you had a good time in Whitby.
Hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this delightful hotel in Pickering. We did not eat in the evening but if the breakfast is anything to go by I think I would in the future. Our room was well appointed and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent, offering a great selection of fruit and cereal and a 'Full English' of a very high standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f_hatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello, Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am glad you had a good time and look
forward top welcoming you back again. Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I do not live that far away & have been to Pickering quite a lot, but had never heard of this Hotel until it came up with a GROUPON offer. I took my partner as a birthday treat just for a Saturday night. We were both most impressed by everything to do with this Hotel. It has a large safe car park to start with & from the time we called in to advise we had arrived, the staff were all friendly & helpful.We had room no 5, found on the top floor, with a great view of the lovely garden.(I don't think there is a lift, so be aware if you find climbing stairs difficult)The room had a courtesy tray with tea, coffee, milk & squash sticks & of course a kettle!There was a hair drier & lovely en-suite with shower, sink & WC. Towels & shower gel&caps + liquid soap were provided, but a nice touch was a couple of white toweling dressing gowns & two face flannels also available to use. There was also a nice flat screen TV to watch.The bed was very comfortable as well.

We did not eat an evening meal here, but you can do this if you book in advance. There is an area to sit downstairs if you wish & the dining area is very light & comfortable, & looks out onto the garden. The choice at breakfast was brilliant.3 fruit juices, fruit, cerials, including home made muesli & a choice of cooked breakfast.

The shower was an ample size for my 6 foot 1 inch quite large partner & there was plenty of hot water. The Hotel was warm & spotless throughout.
10/10 Val & Colin. Many thanks for a lovely stay. We hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Thank you for your lovely review, it was lovely to read.
I am glad you had a lovely birthday and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed there for one night with my partner, and my only gripe is that we didn't stay there for 2!
The manse itself is a beautiful old building that has been lovingly and tastefully decorated and in keeping with what you would expect of a property of this period. My jaw dropped when I saw our room; beautiful, spacious, clean, comfy, great view, and a 4 poster bed!!!!! I loved the little touches the owner had made, such as the tea tray with tea pot. How pleasant just to sit and enjoy a decent cup of tea looking out over the gardens. Bliss! I could not fault the room at all.
We did not stay for dinner as we decided we would like a venture into town, but if it was as fantastic as the breakfast, maybe we should have stayed in. Back to breakfast; I can honestly say that this was one of the nicest full Englishes I have ever had. The quality of the produce was evident in every mouthwatering morsel, and certainly set us up for another days adventuring.The cereal/fruit choice was amazing too and I thought the museli and berries were outstanding. The ladies that served us were lovely and most helpful.
Keep up the good work team, it was a pleasure staying with you, and next time we fancy a relaxing time, we would love to come visit again :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stottyCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review -it was so lovely to read after a busy lunch.
We do appreciate you taking the time to write. What more can I say you have made our day.
Take care hope we meet again. Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely hotel. Service from Valerie and her team could not have been better. Breakfasts the best choice and quality I have ever came across. As for the rooms well they are clean and fresh towels daily but they do have squeekie floorboards come on so what. If you want uniformity go to a chain hotel. This hotel is a place for real people run by a real person. Keep up the he good work see you soon

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank trisha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure meeting you both I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Hope we meet
again. Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
647 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#16 of 49 in Pickering
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lowther House
Lowther House
#13 of 49 in Pickering
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Manse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manse Hotel

Property: Old Manse Hotel
Address: Middleton Road, Pickering YO18 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Manse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Manse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manse Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing