We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"atmospheric, spacious, well equipped and well...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Longhouse

Front of the Longhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the Longhouse
Spacious kitchen with large farmhouse kitchen table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Front of the Longhouse
Spacious kitchen with large farmhouse kitchen table
The traditional Yorkshire Longhouse is full of individual touches
Kitchen
The lounge showing the original 'cruck frame' which reaches up to the vaulted ceiling
Cosy log burner in the lounge
Decorated for Christmas, December 2015
The snug
The 'snug'
The dining room showing the traditional range and the historic 'smoke window'
The range
Family room has exposed timbers and a vaulted ceiling
Family bathroom with an electric shower and bath
Twin room has a sloping ceiling and a dormer window
Twin Bedroom showing the 'cruck frame' in the background
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double room showing en-suite bathroom
Winter sun on the Longhouse
Patio garden with private seating
Heather in bloom in the National Park
York minster in summer
Pickering castle
A field of poppies in the Vale of Pickering
The abbey and fishing port of Whitby
Daffodils in Helmsley
The Victorian pier in Saltburn-by-the-sea
A deserted beach in September
Our guest book
View from Sutton Bank, December 2015
The countryside just north of Pickerig
Ralph's cross, one of the ancient stone crosses on the moors
The coastline with Scarborough castle in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
richardso...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“"atmospheric, spacious, well equipped and well dressed Cottage"”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Longhouse in Pickering is an atmospheric, spacious and well equipped property.
Well sited, within walking distance to all the amenities that Pickering can offer.....
The Longhouse was spotlessly clean on arrival........and when we left I hope!! The beds are very, very comfortable, especially so, after a day out exploring the area.. Whitby..Fish and chips at "The Star" restaurant, well worth a visit. Castle Howard, Nunnington Hall, Helmsley, Scampston Walled Garden, the latter being a beautiful, contemporary garden..a "must do", if you are into your gardening.....we also visited Kilburn, to see the furniture workshops of "The Mouseman" Robert Thompson..beautiful..............A great, relaxing and interesting holiday staying in a great, relaxing and interesting Longhouse.....................Would recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thank you for your very kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our house and also the local area... Scampston is lovely and we are looking forwards to trying the Star in Whitby ourselves. Thanks also for leaving the house so clean and tidy, it was nice to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbv
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a lovely weekend here with our family whilst in the Pickering area loved the main living room with high ceilings and beams plus two other smaller sitting rooms and large well equipped kitchen, the bedroms were lovely all with en suite facilities slept really even though on a main road.

The hous was just a short walk to all shops and amenities and the Sun Inn was five minutes away parking adequate fot all our cars and Gill was very frindly and helpfull we all teally enjoyed our stay and will return here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thank you for reviewing our house, we are pleased that you had a good weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philthesp...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend cycling stay”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The accommodation was quaint but roomy,it had all the mod cons, ideal for catering for ourselves if we'd had the need. The owners were extremely friendly and accommodating. The location was excellent for us, near the centre of Pickering and with Scarborough and Whitby not too far away. I would definitely book this holiday let again and will recommend it to friends and family. Well worth the money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thank you for reviewing our house, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and also the location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfrater
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Crackin' venue”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Five mates cycling around Pickering and the N. York Moors.
Well impressed with the property. Loads of character, nooks and crannies. The main room downstairs was massive and loads of light.
Lovely owners. Jill and her partner supplied a lovely breakfast - sausage, bacon and egg butties, fresh coffee and juice. Just the stuff to get you up the hills. Jill even baked us a cake!
Well recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thanks for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and the breakfast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax7122...
1 review
“Everything you need and more”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Beautiful old farmhouse in Pickering, deceptively larger once you step inside with three double en suite bedrooms. Lovely kitchen and loads of rooms downstairs to relax in. Great welcome pack including gorgeous lemon marmalade which we brought home with us (it would be rude not to). Lots to see around Pickering and quite central for trips to Whitby, York, Scarborough etc. Owners Gill and Ivan on hand next door in the unlikely event that you should need anything. Cant recommend this property highly enough.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
Thanks very much for you review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again. It was lovely to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieMags...
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely family friendly cottage,very spacious and well equipped. Nice walk through Pickering to catch the steam train to Whitby.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Thank you four your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn B
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Pickering is a nice market town with lot to do near by. We spent lovely day at Dalby Forest where the grand children enjoyed going ape. Plenty nearby, Whitby Scarborough and Robin Hoods Bay. So nice to go back to the cottage after a busy day plenty of room very clean nice welcome pack and Gill there making sure your stay is a happy one. Only down side is ther is a little road noise and if more than one car you have to park across the road which can be quite busy at times.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at out cottage and also visiting the local area, thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing