We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Vicarage Pickering
Ranked #5 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wakefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent weekend”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

just spent a wonderful weekend here with my family. A very warm welcome, and so many extra touches that made our stay so enjoyable. We also booked to have lunch on Saturday and the food was outstanding and very reasonably priced. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildcatanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis W, Owner at The Old Vicarage Pickering, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks very much for the great and welcome review
FW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
92
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed for two nights but could happily have stayed for two weeks. A unique Georgian house that has been faithfully restored containing a large yet very comfortable sitting room. A quiet and relaxing time is to be had here. The breakfasts were superb and I believe the owners will also provide an evening meal if required. Francis is a mine of information regarding the local area and the town is next door to the North Yorks national park. I only put this review on as the owners asked me to otherwise would have kept it to myself as they only have 3 rooms. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis W, Owner at The Old Vicarage Pickering, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we are trying hard and learning quickly. We need all the reviews we can as a new business to let people know we are here. We will always do our best to find a room for you guys. Thanks F&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a fantastic new B&B in a perfect location! My girlfriend and I recently visited North Yorkshire for a short break away from hectic city living. We stayed in the beautiful market town of Pickering, which is a stones throw away from Dalby forest, the North York Moors and the many other attractions in North Yorkshire.

We received a warm and friendly welcome by the proprietors Gill and Francis. They recently renovated their beautiful Georgian home into a B&B with bedrooms all complete with en suites.

Our room was beautifully decorated keeping in with the Georgian theme. They were clean and very comfortable contributing to a peaceful nights sleep. Facilities were great which included Wifi, a personal TV in our room, as well as the large TV situated in the living room to relax.

There was an extensive breakfast menu which will cater to everyone's tastes and requirements, prepared to preference using fresh, local produce.

This is the best B&B we have stayed in for a long time! We would highly recommend to anyone planning a trip or impromptu overnight in North Yorkshire. A great hub for nearby attractions complemented by accommodating, friendly hospitality in beautiful surroundings. An impressive find! Without doubt we will be returning!

Thanks so much Gill and Francis.

Joe and Rachel, Leeds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis W, Owner at The Old Vicarage Pickering, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
J&R thanks for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. We appreciate your effort in doing this. Having just started this business it makes such a difference to have guests give us feedback and say such nice things and it helps us strive to keep up our efforts to get it right again. Ta F&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Everything about this B&B is great, rooms,cleanliness, location, food and proprietors Francis & Gill.
everything you need for a great stay in a fantastic B&B
Cant wait to visit Pickering again, without doubt we will stay at the Old Vicarage.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis W, Owner at The Old Vicarage Pickering, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks for a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay. Thanks for your support. Francis & Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

What a great Find! We stay in hotels and B&Bs quite often, but this has got to be one of the best we have ever stayed in,
Food, first class,rooms, first class.
Thanks again, Francis & Jill, see you soon,cant wait

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTL300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis W, Owner at The Old Vicarage Pickering, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks for your speedy and very positive review. We appreciate it. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and try our new venture. We were excited that you booked to stay again, very soon. We very much look forward to your return and will strive to make your return stay a good one too thanks F&G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I have recently visited North Yorkshire and stayed in a fantastic new B&B in the lovely old market town of Pickering famous for its War Weekend and stream railway.
On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome by the proprietors ,who have tastefully renovated the old vicarage to provide three beautiful en-suite bedrooms for guests.
The owners have worked hard to keep the features of this amazing three storey Georgian house whilst providing the facilities expected of 21st century living.With the level of attention to detail and comfort you will want to return.Great breakfast and base to visit the many attractions of North Yorkshire.This is an absolute find...stay there and be Impressed!
Peter
Dulwich

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis W, Owner at The Old Vicarage Pickering, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thanks for your review and your kind support in this new business. We appreciate your kindness and look forward to seeing you here again in the future.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I recently stayed at a remarkable new B&B in the heart of Pickering,the gate way to the Yorkshire Moors.
The property is a Grade 2 listed Georgian house overlooking the St Peter's and St Paul's Church.
The proprietors Gill and Francis have sympathetically updated their family home to provide three spacious, tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms.
All rooms on fitted with TV and Internet connection.
Guests have access to a lounge,a tea room/reading room and a dinning room,where you are treated to a fantastic breakfast using locally sourced produce.The owners can, if requested, provide guests with dinner also.
This is a real gem. I would highly recommend it if you are planning a trip to North Yorkshire.
Eva
SE London
PS loved the Dumbwaiter

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis W, Owner at The Old Vicarage Pickering, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and so pleased you enjoyed it. This is a new venture for us and we have a lot to learn. We aim to work hard deliver a great experience. thanks again and look forward to seeing you here again sometime soon. F&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
668 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden House B&B
Eden House B&B
#9 of 46 in Pickering
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 46 in Pickering
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage Pickering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Pickering

Property: The Old Vicarage Pickering
Address: 25 Hall Garth | The Old Vicarage, Pickering YO18 7AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Vicarage Pickering 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our centrally located, historic Georgian vicarage we offer a luxury bed and breakfast experience. Set in this oasis in the heart of Pickering, we guarantee a personally tailored and relaxed stay. Choose from three comfortable and well appointed bedrooms. We offer modern facilities alongside period décor and furnishings. Two bedrooms over look the church and one overlooks the garden. We have one room with a king-size bed and two rooms with double beds, all of which come with en-suite facilities. For special occasions we can accommodate groups of up to 6 people. Start the day with a delicious breakfast cooked to perfection and served at a time to suit you. We offer a comprehensive breakfast menu, so choose a traditional 'Full English' or a lighter continental style if you prefer. We use fresh locally sourced products as far as possible, and we are able to cater for any particular dietary requirements - just let us know your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Old Vicarage Pickering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Pickering Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing