We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C 2 C”
Review of August Guest House

August Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
August Guest House
Ranked #30 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“C 2 C”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A fabulous welcome awaited us here , the room & the bathroom a delight & sitting in the garden chatting with our hosts we felt sure we'd be returning one day.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nothing was too much trouble. When I fell over in the mud Mary wahed my jacket and trousers, and the trousers even came back ironed!
One or two reviews have commented on the steep staircase, but Michael takes your cases up, so it wouldn't be a problem unless you have difficulty with stairs anyway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelmsfordElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Once again a great 3 nights break with Michael and Mary. As always there,s a lovely cuppa on arrival and a catch up with one another. The room was very homely as always and the view from the window is fantastic, wish it was ours at home. Michael,s wit has,nt changed, there is always a laugh with him. mary once again filled us to bursting with her breakfast. Look forward to coming again later in the year. Thanks Di and Chris

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

A very warm welcome from Mary & Michael. The room was fairly compact and the stairs steep but the friendly hosts and relaxed atmosphere makes for a great stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Michael kept us amused while serving a delicious breakfast. Our stay there was very comfortable and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenis and Juli... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed at August Guest House on Friday night along with 3 walking friends. Michael & Mary greeted us with a warm smile & a lovely cuppa, which was much appreciated after our short 9 mile walk!
We were recommended an excellent pub for dinner, just a mile away, which didn't disappoint.
Wished we could have stayed longer but we had the Coast 2 Coast walk to complete!
Can highly recommend.
PS Great breakfast too!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallythorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Michael and Mary were fantastic hosts and made our stay with them one of our favourites on the C2C walk. Michael shuttled us from the Lion Inn, then later to the pub and collected us from the pub, and then back to the Lion Inn the next morning - nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed Michael's humour and Mary's hospitality greatly. Fantastic breakfast where Mary had soaked our porridge overnight and there was even fresh fruit salad (rarity on the C2C)! Also, the best packed lunch on the entire walk. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

During a three week trip to the UK this was the highlight for my wife and I. We had ditched the kids on their grand-parents in York and spent two wonderful days in an area which i knew well as a child. I had almost forgotten how beautiful this area is. And Michael and Mary´s guest house is in a perfect location, just a 15 minute walk to the village. They just couldn´t have been more accomodating and friendly. Michael even took it upon himself to drive out during a thunderstorm to find us after we had set off walking. The breakfasts were excellent. This place is great value for money, ultra-friendly and in the best location, what more could you want? nd if you go there you MUST go to the White Horse Hotel/Pub 200 metres above the village itself, the views and the food are unbelieveable and the staff extremely friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valencianista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
4.2 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
10.5 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craven Garth Cottages
Craven Garth Cottages
#13 of 27 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.0 mi away
Milburn Arms Hotel
Milburn Arms Hotel
#24 of 49 in Pickering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to August Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Guest House

Property: August Guest House
Address: Plane Trees | Rosedale, Pickering YO18 8RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Hotel Class:4 star — August Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
August Guest House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing