We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Beansheaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beansheaf
Ranked #25 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed for 1 night whilst working locally. I arrived late and had a friendly welcome and was checked in and shown to my room.
My room was spacious and had a couple of chocolates and bottles of J2O included - a nice touch.
I found the food to be good quality, homemade, and excellent value. Breakfast was also good.
The only downside was a bit of traffic noise during the early morning as the main road into Pickering got a little busier.
I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 162 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good size room with large comfy bed, very clean and plenty of tea and coffee. All phone numbers we could possibly need were listed in the folder from doctors to taxis. Lovely breakfast and good service. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sashasmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed with a group of 14 for 4 nights to attend Pickering steam rally rooms were clean, food was very good but the service a little slow especially at breakfast. I thought the bar could have stayed open later we came back from the rally late to find everywhere in darkness Overall it was a comfortable and enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The room I stayed in was immaculate in its presentation and cleanliness and I was also impressed with the folder of general information which listed a good collection of useful telephone numbers such as nearby doctor and dentist for emergency purposes.

I would, though, have one major and one minor criticism:

The major criticism I have is I found my duvet to be extremely starchy and hence had the ‘grating’ feel that many people associate with touching polystyrene and therefore if anyone from the hotel is reading this I would recommend using a better softener and/or getting a better laundry arrangement.

The minor criticism I have is there was no garden furniture at the back of the hotel to make use of the very large lawn at the back of the hotel in the summer months.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CAdams12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night in room 1 which is freshly decorated to a good standard. Very comfortable super-king bed with good quality linen. No complaints about room. Excellent value for money. Just two small niggles 1. Tinned not fresh tomatoes for cooked breakfast 2. Bar closed early on a Friday night. Arrived back to hotel at 11pm after a concert expecting to be able to enjoy a nightcap - everywhere in darkness!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuartandtrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My only surviving brother and I met 3 cousins from mid Yorkshire and dined at the Beansheaf. The table was pre-booked and we were allowed to stay as long as we wished. Meals were ordered and the service was quick and the staff were helpful and very polite. All agreed that the meals were excellent and a bargain. I travelled 80 miles from the north and my cousins travelled a similar distance from the south. We were very pleased with the meal, service and conserate staff. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSimps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a pleasant two-night stay at the Beansheaf. We found all of the staff we encountered to be friendly, helpful and polite during our stay, from the duty manager/s through to the cleaner and reception staff.
A couple of maintenance issues arose during our stay (a stuck window blind and a hand basin tap). These were both rectified quickly and efficiently when pointed out.
There were two veggie main dishes on the menu - we tried each on consecutive evenings, and both were equally delicious and well-cooked. (We might have had to look elsewhere for variety if we had stayed longer though). Breakfasts were well-cooked and filling.
The exterior looked a little tired and in need of redecoration, but the inside was clean and up to a reasonable standard. Overall we could recommend the Beansheaf at least for a few nights stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy main road, so light sleepers would be .wise to take a room at the back if pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
2.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#2 of 3 in Pickering
700 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
4.7 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
436 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
6.2 mi away
High Farm Bed and Breakfast
High Farm Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 46 in Pickering
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beansheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beansheaf

Address: Malton Road | Kirby Misperton, Pickering YO17 6UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: $89 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beansheaf 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Beansheaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beansheaf Hotel Pickering
Beansheaf Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing