We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bramwood Guest House
Ranked #3 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at Bramwood. We have three children, and in all, used three rooms (one double, one twin, one single). The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. There's a guest lounge, which is as comfortable as the bedrooms. The breakfast is delicious, and served in a relaxed environment. The couple who run the guest house are friendly and chatty, and provide a happy and homely atmosphere. We enjoyed the little touches, eg the bath bomb for the bath, the home-made jams at breakfast, the hot chocolate on the tea/coffee trays in the rooms. All in all, we felt very well looked after. Brilliant location for Pickering - 2 minutes from the town centre, but in a quiet street. Good parking.

Have the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast!

Room Tip: If you like a nice big bath, choose room 1 (twin room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It isn't often that we have families in the house, and it was a pleasure to meet you all. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 330 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband, Mum and brother for a trip on the Moorlander Steam Train. On arrival we were were warmly greeted by the owners Helene and Richard. The guest house is beautiful - so tastefully decorated and the breakfasts delicious. Ideally located for Pickering centre and Railway Station. Already planning another trip to Pickering just so we can stay at Bramwood!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexxxxx2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, and sorry for the delay! We are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again sometime this year. Thank you for the lovely card.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

helen and richard new owners of the bramwood are the cream on the cake ,the bramwood is a little piece of heavan in a side steet in pickering ,it doesent get much better than this guest house and this couple PERFECT stayed there 5 times now got a standing booking going to go back over and over again carnt wait sandra turnbull

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsymartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

The best reviews are always the unexpected ones. Thank you for taking the time to write this, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Bramwood again this year. It was a pleasure to meet you and we too are already looking forward to next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome by the lovely hosts. Delightful house and garden. Attractive furnishings and everything was very clean. Good breakfast. Situated in a quiet street within easy walking distance of the town which has plenty of places to eat and drink. All in all, it was a great find.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol_farnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review , we are pleased that you enjoyed your impromptu stay with us and hope that you will choose Bramwood when you are next in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have stayed many times before at Bramwood and Richard and Helene were our fourth hosts. They were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We will certainly be coming back. The room and breakfast were great and we agree that the breakfasts would put many hotels to shame. Had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityBreaks064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your review, its always a bit of a worry for us when guests have stayed so many times before - we would hate for it to be the last! We are glad that this will not be the case and look forward to seeing you and hearing more of the history of the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our first stay with Richard & Helene, and it will not be our last. We had a great time and felt very comfortable in the guest house. The hosts are a very engaging couple.....and nothing is to much for them. The breakfast would put many so called 4 star hotels to shame. Choice of kippers, pancakes, full English, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, coffee/tea a'plenty. all served up in a lovely sun filled dinining room

The lounge area is a very comfy place to sit of an evening, with TV or curl up with one of the many books dotted about the guest house on bookshelves. Home baked cakes are often left in the lounge to eat.

Richard and Helene have not been doing this for very long at all, but they have certainly got the hang of it. They deserve every success in the future. Can't wait to go back when we next visit the county.

So, want a comfy and reasonably priced place to stay? near to the Moor, York, Whitby? an historic railway? Don't hesitate.....book it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you both. We look forward to seeing your photographs of North Yorkshire and will keep an eye on the website. Looking forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here with a group of friends for a mini type of reunion of old work colleagues and their partners. It was a really good find. Pickering is a lovely place that I'd definitely recommend to anyone wanting to get away, but with plenty of amenities. Add to this the Bramwoods and you have a fantastic weekend. The standard of the house was well above my expectations; I could have just chilled in our room all day it was that comfortable an environment. Then there are the proprietors, Helene & Richard, who were welcoming, fun and very accommodating - they made you feel right at home. This isn't a B&B, it's something more than that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Many thanks for your review, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will choose Bramwood again for your next visit to North Yorkshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#13 of 46 in Pickering
94 reviews
0 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bramwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramwood Guest House

Address: 19 Hallgarth, Pickering YO18 7AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: $77 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Town House situated on a quiet side road just a minutes stroll to the centre of Pickering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bramwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bramwood Guest House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing