We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location; comfortable cottage in the...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tonia H
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location; comfortable cottage in the perfect location for exploring North Yorkshire”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Platform 2&3/4 in early August. Now with 2 teenagers who appreciate their own space, we decided to find a 3 bed cottage rather than the 2 beds that we have been used to in previous years. We also looked for a town location within easy reach of the coast and the moors both of which we love. We were not disappointed.

We had not stayed in Pickering before and the cottage and the town were a delightful find! Pickering is small enough to get to know quickly - everything is in walking distance; lovely independent shops, flea market, museum, North York Moors railway (directly opposite the cottage), Pickering castle, many many good places to eat, Lidl and Coop, post office, banks, etc. etc.

We were lucky with the weather but the cottage itself has everything you might need in both good or poor weather and at any time of year. It is a bit of a tardis with much more space on the inside than appears from the outside.

Travelling from Pickering to other parts of Yorkshire is very easy. We did a couple of beautiful Moors walks (recommend www.walkingenglishman.com), went to Whitby by steam train, visited Nunnington House and the Rievaulx Terrace, spent some time in York, pottered around Pickering... We actually ran out of time to do all the things we had planned so we definitely plan to return.

Would highly recommend.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKMapman
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
643 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Great location opposite station”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Platform 2 3/4 is in an excellent location for train lovers, as it's directly opposite Pickering station on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway; one of the the three bedrooms looks out across the station. It's also very conveniently located for the town centre, being less than 2 minutes walk from the main streets, about 2 minutes fro the Co-op supermarket and 5 minutes from Lidl; there are numerous pubs, restaurants and takeaways convenient. As Pickering is realisably quiet, it doesn't suffer too much from noise and the small gravelled courtyard is secluded enough at the rear of the property. As noted by others parking is by arrangement with the trout farm about 10 minutes walk away - no problem if it's not raining.

Inside the cottage it has three decent sized bedrooms, two connected living rooms and a well equipped kitchen (although the collection of cutlery and crockery is a bit random - it sleeps 6, but there aren't six of almost anything in the kitchen!) There are also a couple of omissions - no bread knife (despite 3 bakers within 5 minutes walk), nor banking sheets on which to heat things like pizzas or pies).

The beds were comfortable enough, though there is no cupboard in one of the bedrooms (and no chairs upstairs at all). In fact there are only just about enough chairs for everyone to sit down at once. We couldn't find a promised CD player, though you might be able to play it on the TV's integrated DVD player. Wi-fi was available and worked fairly well with occasional drop-outs.

We were disappointed by the welcome pack - the milk was just tiny plastic UHT for coffees, and there was no banking or biscuits, though clearly this had been provided to some people from the guest comments book. Luckily we arrived in time to visit the shops listed above!

In summary it's great for parties of up to about 4, but might be a bit cramped with its maximum occupancy. It's less well equipped than many self catering we have stayed at in recent years, but has all the basics and is clean and, above all, in a great location if you want to stay in the heart of Pickering near the preserved railway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Only one room with comfortable chairs
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annetax
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I stayed here with my sons family on a Pre Christmas visit to Yorkshire. The owner was excellent and kept us well informed about a heating problem but all was sorted long before we arrived. The cottage is comfortably furnished and well equipped. Parking is a little bit of a pain, as there is no parking for the property and the pull in opposite is time restricted. However, a permit space is available down the road. The bedrooms were comfortable, although the glass panel in the rear bedroom door lacks privacy but a bath towel worked! There is very little garden at the rear so maybe not a great choice for children in the summer but it is close to the shops and centre of Pickering. And there is plenty to do locally. But the highlight for us was being right opposite the NYM steam railway station - great for every enthusiast! Of course we had to take the Santa Special but you can easily watch trains come and go for free. Would definitely return again and we do have our York Panto tickets purchased for 2015...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, homely, ideally located cottage in Pickering town”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Extremely comfortable cottage situated in the heart of Pickering. Quaint railway memorabilia throughout along with the sights and sounds of the local steam railway, make this a truly wonderful place to stay. Small enclosed garden, ideal for dogs/pets. Cottage overall is very well equipped and the lovely wood burner was great to cosy up in front of. The location is within a stones throw of amenities such as a butcher, bakers and the local supermarket.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Beds were slightly uncomfortable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent a week at this property and it was perfect for touring and for all the facilities of the town of Pickering.
Some properties state 'within walking distance' but that's only if you like walking a marathon but not this property as it truly is just round the corner from the town's main high street.
The parking isn't at the property but as we stayed opposite the train station a walk along the platform everyday to get the car was an added bonus.
The only thing I would disagree with in the description is that there maybe noise being on a main road and opposite a train station - the road was mostly deserted at night and the station only used during the day - it was so peaceful
The owner was great and so eager to ensure we had a problem free holiday - which we did!
Strongly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The shortness of the holiday - our problem not the properties
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda R
Doncaster
2 reviews
“Pleasant accommodation in excellent location”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent a week here with our young children and their grandparents. The accommodation was lovely, well-equipped and in a really good location.

Some thoughtful touches, such as tea, coffee, milk, etc being provided for our arrival. The kitchen was well equipped with washer and dishwasher. The three bedrooms were all pleasant, the children particularly liked being able to see the steam trains in Pickering station out of the front bedroom window.

We asked the owner to provide a travel cot and high chair during our stay and these were both in really good (new) condition.

We found the location great for walking around Pickering, and also for heading off to other nearby places such as Scarborough and Helmsley. Pickering itself is a very pleasant town and everyone was friendly. Had some very enjoyable meals in the White Swan and the Willowgate Bistro.

All in all, would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICK G
harrogate
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, highly rated”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend (without our young children!) and we had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful cottage.

An excellent location for restaurants, pubs, wine bars and the train station. For day time activities it's 10 minutes from Go Ape and the Great Dalby Forest where we visited on Saturday. Plus there are superb level walks from the door one of which we completed on Sunday in spectacular Spring sunshine.

The cottage has many new features and was very warm... made better by the fab log burner. The owner matt thoughtfully left some logs and kindling.
All in all a great cottage, we hope to be back again with out children as Pickering has so much to offer and this cottage was 'home from home'.
One last point.... there's a very good Indian restaurant around the corner and a lovely café at the top of the high street - these fine eateries added to a top weekend for us 6.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free wifi, the log burner, comfortable bed, fresh towels and location!
Liked least: No pint glasses!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing