We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, homely, ideally located cottage in...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil S
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, homely, ideally located cottage in Pickering town”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Extremely comfortable cottage situated in the heart of Pickering. Quaint railway memorabilia throughout along with the sights and sounds of the local steam railway, make this a truly wonderful place to stay. Small enclosed garden, ideal for dogs/pets. Cottage overall is very well equipped and the lovely wood burner was great to cosy up in front of. The location is within a stones throw of amenities such as a butcher, bakers and the local supermarket.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Beds were slightly uncomfortable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent a week at this property and it was perfect for touring and for all the facilities of the town of Pickering.
Some properties state 'within walking distance' but that's only if you like walking a marathon but not this property as it truly is just round the corner from the town's main high street.
The parking isn't at the property but as we stayed opposite the train station a walk along the platform everyday to get the car was an added bonus.
The only thing I would disagree with in the description is that there maybe noise being on a main road and opposite a train station - the road was mostly deserted at night and the station only used during the day - it was so peaceful
The owner was great and so eager to ensure we had a problem free holiday - which we did!
Strongly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The shortness of the holiday - our problem not the properties
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda R
Doncaster
2 reviews
“Pleasant accommodation in excellent location”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent a week here with our young children and their grandparents. The accommodation was lovely, well-equipped and in a really good location.

Some thoughtful touches, such as tea, coffee, milk, etc being provided for our arrival. The kitchen was well equipped with washer and dishwasher. The three bedrooms were all pleasant, the children particularly liked being able to see the steam trains in Pickering station out of the front bedroom window.

We asked the owner to provide a travel cot and high chair during our stay and these were both in really good (new) condition.

We found the location great for walking around Pickering, and also for heading off to other nearby places such as Scarborough and Helmsley. Pickering itself is a very pleasant town and everyone was friendly. Had some very enjoyable meals in the White Swan and the Willowgate Bistro.

All in all, would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICK G
harrogate
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, highly rated”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend (without our young children!) and we had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful cottage.

An excellent location for restaurants, pubs, wine bars and the train station. For day time activities it's 10 minutes from Go Ape and the Great Dalby Forest where we visited on Saturday. Plus there are superb level walks from the door one of which we completed on Sunday in spectacular Spring sunshine.

The cottage has many new features and was very warm... made better by the fab log burner. The owner matt thoughtfully left some logs and kindling.
All in all a great cottage, we hope to be back again with out children as Pickering has so much to offer and this cottage was 'home from home'.
One last point.... there's a very good Indian restaurant around the corner and a lovely café at the top of the high street - these fine eateries added to a top weekend for us 6.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free wifi, the log burner, comfortable bed, fresh towels and location!
Liked least: No pint glasses!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
booo74
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cottage in a Lovely Little Town”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My husband and I stayed in this gorgeous cottage in January 2014 with my parents. The accommodation was excellent and would provide ample space for 6 people. There was a lovely little wood burner which provided some much needed heat (it was January) and was really nice to cosy up to and watch a film. The little town of Pickering is lovely with lots of art and antique shops. When it's open, (it wasn't when we were there unfortunately) you can get the steam train to Whitby and it is really close to York and Scarborough so makes a great base. There are lots of lovely little nods to its steam train heritage in the property which is very tastefully decorated. Try the Post Office in Middleton (next village along) for afternoon tea - you won't be disappointed. I would definitely recommend this property but just to point out, it is on a main road and parking is quite limited. We parked at the Trout Farm just down the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing