We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Horse Farm Inn
Ranked #11 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly place to stay”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend break in beautiful surroundings. Amazing service and helpful friendly staff. The breakfast was one of the nicest we have had anywhere. Will definately look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 151AnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    45
    9
    12
    6
See reviews for
37
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for one night 10/8. A warm welcome and shown to our £95pn room, which was just fine for us and very clean.
Friends joined us for dinner which was typical pub food; Nothing too exciting but no complaints. Only gripe would be is that breakfast is between 8:30 -9:30. When I am away, I like a lie in especially the weekend. High praise for the lovely staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

3 couples on a sunny weekend - we spent the evening drinking and all had meals. I've come to half expect substandard service and generally poor reception in those places that rely far more on tourism than local trade. Mainly they don't need to impress because most don't go back. And with only 2 pubs in the village they have fairly much a captive trade. However this place is the exception, and we were made to feel welcome by the landlord on a busy evening. The food was excellent and we enjoyed good beer. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

After several really nice meals at The White Horse and being fairly local to us, we decided to book a meal to celebrate my birthday. When my meal of roast beef and yorkshire pudding arrived I could immediately smell a "cheesy, sickly" smell. When everybody was served I lifted the yorkshire pudding and the smell was obvious to everyone on our table. My husband went to the bar to discretely state that the beef was off on which the waitress an elderly lady (not sure if she was the owner) came and snatched my plate away. After approx 5 mins she came back and told me the chef had said there was nothing wrong with the beef. I was quite embarrassed by this and said that their obviously was. I was then told that she had also tasted the beef and it was fine and reiterated there was nothing wrong with it. We were all shocked into an embarressed silence by this. She reluctantly offered me a choice of something else. I therefore ordered the sausage & mash, thinking this would be a quick alternative as the rest of our party had already been served. Unfortunately it was another 20-30 minutes before my meal arrived by which time everybody else had finished. We were then completely ignored throughout the evening with the waitress pushing past our table several times to attend to other guests.
I received no apology for the rancid meal which was served to me and was made to feel that it was my fault that the beef was inedible and I was lying about it.
What a shame that the waitress was also as unpleasant as the food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LTaylor528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the beginning of June, we were lucky with the weather and had a nice relaxing break. The staff are friendly and helpful creating a welcoming atmosphere, food excellent and the view front the rooms at the front could not be beaten. Rooms are clean and comfortable will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front, no superior rooms overlooking valley but the view more than makes up for it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malone1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed three nights here in a superior room at the front of the building. The view from the front is truly beautiful looking out over Rosedale and beyond. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant all three nights and the food was of very high quality and reasonably priced - the portions were also huge - whoever is in charge of portion control here obviously has a very big appetite! Our room had a very comfortable bed and a separate sitting area with a large television. I would recommend any one thinking of booking to request a front facing room for THAT view! My only grumble would be the curtains (as mentioned by several other reviewers), they were white and flimsy with a white blind behind, as a result the room was filled with daylight just after 4am which made it difficult to sleep. However I would certainly recommend and hope to return again myself in the future.

Room Tip: Request a front facing room, Room 8 has a separate sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieQuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel along with our two friends who were celebrating their 25th Wedding Anniversary.
The rooms looked that they had been re-furbished recently and were of a very high standard.
We were fortunate to have a table for dinner that was placed adjacent to a window overlooking the most stunning view imagineable.
The food for both the evening meal and breakfast was first-class and the service was superb
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and look forward to returning in the future

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimF643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
13.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
723 reviews
16.4 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Farm Inn

Property: White Horse Farm Inn
Address: Red House Gill Lane, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — White Horse Farm Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse Farm Inn is a 16th Century Country Inn, set on a hillside with panoramic views over the village of Rosedale Abbey, surrounded by the North Yorkshire Moors. The bar and restaurant are full of old world charm and character featuring a roaring log fire. The bar offers a wide selection of traditional hand pulled ales, fine wines, and malt whiskies. Traditional Yorkshire Fayre is served daily, both in the cosy bar and the stylish restaurant. The extensive menu specialises in local game, fish, and organic meats. All meals are cooked to order using only the finest ingredients. We also have a wide variety of vegetarian options and are able to cater for any special dietary needs upon request. Located in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors, a trip to Historic York will only take one hour by car and Yorkshires Heritage Coast is a mere 19 miles away. The White Horse Farm Inn guarantees you a warm welcome, a great atmosphere and excellent value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Horse Farm Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing