We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing countryside and lunch to match”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Horse Farm Inn
Ranked #14 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
shrewsbury_7
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing countryside and lunch to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a holiday home just outside Hutton le Hole and decided to walk to the pub across the moors - about 5 miles.
Great weather some dodgy map reading and we eventually arrived walking down the vertical (well nearly) Chimney Bank - billed as the joint steepest road in England.
At the pub to we were met by a really friendly guy behind the bar, dogs welcome in the bar area, and roaring coal fires.
The food was top drawer at reasonable prices - and after a couple of pints the temptation was to stay all afternoon.
But no we braved the return trip and buoyed by our refreshments crawled back up the hill from hell and on home.
A great day out with fantastic views, countryside and a lovely lunch.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrewsbury-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    43
    8
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
128
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

A last minute booking on a January Saturday night brought a very welcome break. Just above the village of Rosedale Abbey, stunning views of the surrounding countryside from the rooms. Fires burning, good ale, pleasant company. An excellent room with 2 showers and bath. Tea, coffee, biscuits in the room. Comfy bed. Creaky floorboards. Very typically N Yorkshire. The restaurant is a proper dining room or you can eat in the bar. Good local produce, we had Cropton pheasant for £11.00. Excellent fresh cooked breakfast. They get it all right here.......

Room Tip: Don't even think about eating anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having spent a 4 days walking break over the New Year period and have done so for the last 3 years. We always make a point of visiting the Whitehorse farm Inn because of the lovely warm atmosphere that is generated by Jim and Christine and all the Staff, nothing is too much trouble for them and done with such good humour.
The Food is a delight and the Ale's are some of the finest that I have tasted. My Wife told me not write this review because she wanted to keep this gem of an Inn as our secret but I can't keep my mouth shut, I tell anybody who will listen.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a long journey of 4 hours, we arrived at the White Horse tired and hungry. The food, yet again, was brilliant, from evening meals to the breakfast. A hotel cannot run properly without good management and staff and this place ticks the boxes on so many levels. Thank you all for a great stay and we will see you sometime in 2013

Room Tip: Front facing if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dollyducati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

From the moment we arrived it had the wow factor ( especially the view from the moors road at night when it was lit up . Looked like a stately home ). Great welcome on arrival ,excellent rooms ( two rooms ,two couples) very clean, warm and welcoming . We stayed for 3 nights and eat there every night , food was lovely with great service . All the staff were very friendly and always ready ( when asked ) with information about places to visit and how to get there . Special thanks to Christine, Jim, Sue , Fiona, Nita and other members of staff whose names we didn't get who made this visit memorable ( especially my birthday ) .Almost forgot the breakfast , done to perfection . Hope to return there again soon .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed them. Room was very comfortable, bathroom excellent with both bath and walkin shower. We were lucky enough to get a room facing the front from which we could enjoy the gorgeous view. Unfortunately, I think the extractor fans from the kitchen must face in that direction as we did get a lot of cooking fat smells.

We ate there two of our three nights and were given a table in the little nook, which made it feel private and intimate. At first we were not impressed by the menu as it seemed fairly standard fare, i.e. purchased from the local cash and carry, but please be assured it was not - it was obvious everything was freshly cooked, the pastry as light as a feather, the vegetables just right (not mushy) and very generous portions. Maybe a better presentation of the menu might give a better impression.

The hotel is geared for tourists/walkers to the area, but I was surprised when I asked for a local walking map of the village and its surrounds, they didn't have one. We walked down to Rosedale Abbey (what is left of it), but we had to ask someone how to find it. The guide magazines and books we have of the area, indicated other local places of interest, but we never actually found them - maybe we just didn't prepare well enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank antiquatedanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband stayed here for one evening on a business trip. When we enquired the hosts were extremely helpful and it seemed a good choice.
Upon arrival he was told breakfast was between 08.30am and 09.00am which was a little late as he need to be away by 07.45am. The hosts were extremely unhelpful and not accommodating in any way to ensure he had a breakfast before he left. Very negative environment, no atmosphere, bad attitude all round.
There are many B&B's in the area so shop around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EastbourneAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
8.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milburn Arms Hotel
Milburn Arms Hotel
#23 of 49 in Pickering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Farm Inn

Property: White Horse Farm Inn
Address: Red House Gill Lane, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — White Horse Farm Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse Farm Inn is a 16th Century Country Inn, set on a hillside with panoramic views over the village of Rosedale Abbey, surrounded by the North Yorkshire Moors. The bar and restaurant are full of old world charm and character featuring a roaring log fire. The bar offers a wide selection of traditional hand pulled ales, fine wines, and malt whiskies. Traditional Yorkshire Fayre is served daily, both in the cosy bar and the stylish restaurant. The extensive menu specialises in local game, fish, and organic meats. All meals are cooked to order using only the finest ingredients. We also have a wide variety of vegetarian options and are able to cater for any special dietary needs upon request. Located in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors, a trip to Historic York will only take one hour by car and Yorkshires Heritage Coast is a mere 19 miles away. The White Horse Farm Inn guarantees you a warm welcome, a great atmosphere and excellent value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Horse Farm Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing