We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hospitality - Fabulous Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rains Farm Holidays
Ranked #15 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hospitality - Fabulous Location”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Many thanks to Lorraine for our lovely long weekend stay - the cottage was perfect - it was spotlessly clean & thanks for the lovely touches to make our stay so great.
A special mention for the breakfast too !!

It is a great place to stay to visit North Yorkshire & a trip on the North York Moors Railway is magical

Loved it so much we plan to go back for a longer stay

Dave & Ella From Crawley

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minigirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic review, I try hard to please and to make my guests happy. I enjoy and appreciate excellent service myself when on holiday so relish the opportunity to replicate the same high standards when guests stay with me here at Rains Farm. To compliment our B&B and Self catering operations we now offer Dove cottage as a suite, you have the convenience of all that a self catering cottage provides with the added luxurious extras of serviced accommodation plus a delicious breakfast served to your suite! Just the same as these reviewers enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week over half term 2012. A very clean and well presented cottage with friendly owners. Cottage was well fitted with comfortable beds and facilities. It would be nice if the wi-fi reached the cottage, but I got a GSM signal on my phone. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louthwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely, positive review. I am working on the wi fi situation. It is available in certain cottages already and hope that by the next time you stay the situation of wi fi access will be resolved by boosting the signal around the properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our second visit and it is just as good as the first. It is all on the level too, which is very good for me with arthritis. Lorraine thinks of everything to make your stay as good as home. The cottage is welcoming and cosy. Very clean and full of everything that is needed for making a 4 course meal or just a sandwich. We like going because of the peace and quiet, NO BARKING DOGS!!!. There are plenty of places to visit. Whitby is a good town. Goathland (Heartbeat country). Thornton-Le-Dale is a beautiful village with a stream running by the side of the road. The reataurant is good too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstaples66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Dove cottage. It is one of the most valuable things we can offer here, the peace and tranquility. I am glad you were able to relax and enjoy your week of peace. You know where we are when you need to escape the rat race in teh future. I will look forward to seeing you again sometime. Best wishes Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

we have just spent 1 night in the b&b and 1 week in orchard cottage this being our 5th visit if you want 1st class b&b or cottage accomodation that is very clean,spacious and everything you need just like at home then look no further.great welcome on arrival and great price for the type of accomodation.lots to do within easy driving distance and plenty of wildlife on farm and within the area..always had a great time here and a wonderful place to relax.lorraine and family look after you really well.once you have found such a great place at the right price then you are home and dry and thats why we always return.

Room Tip: all cottages are well equipped ,very clean and very quiet and relaxing location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am very pleased that you have pointed out that my accommodation is good value for money. I have always tried to re invest my earnings back into the properties to maintain the high standards I know guests prefer. Book now for 2013 before I decide to put the prices up!!! I will look forward to seeing you again next year. Best wishes Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just spent 8 days at Rains Farm, A week in Dove cottage and one more night B & B in room5, Ground floor. Both were excellent. Beauitifully clean and comfortable also well equipped. We have stayed 3 times before and will certainly return again. Lovely views & countryside, Lots of Goldfinches & Hares, and a very warm & jolly welcome from Lorraine once again! we will be back again in the cricket season!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normanornie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. I am always delighted when people return as it means I am providing accommodation that people enjoy and wish to return to! Hopefully next year the sun will shine cricket week! I will look forward to seeing again next year. Best wishes Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just returned fom a 4 night stay at this farmhouse b&b in the Yorkshire countryside, we had a great welcome from the "bubbly" Lorraine,with coffee & home made cakes in the large residents lounge.We stayed in one of the upstairs en-suite rooms which was of a very good standard and spotlessly clean.The breakfast in the morning was fantastic with a good choice and very very filling no need for lunch here,with the added bonus of all the wild life visiting the patio area and Lorrains bubbly personality making friends with fellow guests easy.
Rains Farm is situated in a ideal location to visit The North York Moors & Coast,York & East Riding area of Yorkshire, Castle Howard, National Trust properties and The NYM Railway.
There are plenty of places to eat within a short drive on Lorrains "foody trail" , we had a great time and look forward to a return visit.
ps: There is also 5 s\contained cottages at the farm which look fabulous , thank you Lorraine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doddek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your informative review. We are so lucky with all the wildlife that come to visit Rains Farm. I am especially thrilled when guests are able to enjoy viewing the variety of species that make an appearance here at the farm. I hope to see you again in the future as there is so much to see and do in the area, thank you once again. Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just returned from a week in Granary cottage with its huge lounge windows overlooking the beautiful countryside,the cottage was spotlessly clean and was well equipped,we were greeted by Lorraine who made you feel like an old friend.We visited Whitby with its many fish restaurants,give Trenchers a try, haddock to die for ,we also visited Scarborough,Filey and Bridlington.Hope to visit Rains Farm again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased you found your cottage clean and well equipped. It is very important to me that all my accommodation is very clean for guests to check into so that they can relax straight away. II really do pride myself on keeping up high standards of cleanliness and comfort. I will look forward to seeing you both again in the future and hope your shopping trip on the way home went well! Best wishes Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
5.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
8.4 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 46 in Pickering
59 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
279 reviews
6.0 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rains Farm Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rains Farm Holidays

Property: Rains Farm Holidays
Address: Allerston, Pickering YO18 7PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rains Farm Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rains Farm offers a choice of holiday accommodation in either one of our wonderful self catering holiday cottages or delightful en suite bed and breakfast rooms in the main farmhouse or Dove suite which is annexed to the main farmhouse. Cottages range from 1 bedroom up to 3 bedrooms and the B&B are either double or twin bedded rooms plus Dove suite with it's own lounge and kitchen. We can offer ground floor in either cottages or B&B if stairs are a problem for guests. All accommodation has been inspected by the AA and awarded a 4 star rating with a special breakfast award PLUS Lorraine won the national award of being the 'AA's friendliest B&B for the whole of the UK 2012/2013' This recognises the warm happy atmosphere, delicious tasty Yorkshire breakfasts and the high standards of service you can expect whilst staying at Rains Farm. All cottages have floor to ceiling lounge windows with wonderful panoramic views. An oasis for the local wildlife, birds and guests! Come relax and unwind in our own little piece of heaven. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rains Farm Holidays Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing