We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something missing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blacksmiths Hartoft
Certificate of Excellence
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“something missing”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been here twice this year for Sunday lunch with family as my son works and lives nearby. It has the potential to be good but is lacking that final bit. Firstly Sunday Lunch is a bit of an afterthought comprising only two meat choices whilst continuing to offer their normal lunchtime menu. The food is well cooked and flavoursome but on both our visits has come out lukewarm which is disappointing. They take the time to source good local meat and then let it down by something so basic. Just need to up their game a bit and maybe concentrate more on a traditional Sunday luch menu and it could be a whole different story

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    63
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
28
169
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have just come back from a fantastic weekend away with my husband in the Moors, made all the more wonderful by the Blacksmiths Arms. Cannot fault this place at all. Beautiful rooms (we stayed in a 'standard' room which has a gorgeous shared balcony!), fantastic service and exquisite food! The sticky toffee pudding is an absolute MUST! Melts in your mouth, the flavours are sensational. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, it was so nice to see (after a wonderful breakfast) as we walked past the kitchen, all the staff laughing together after service - a sign of happy workers! Both my husband and I agreed that the waitresses were second to none both at breakfast and dinner and should be commended. The chef is an asset to the place also. We will definitely be back, thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hartoft is a gorgeous little slice of the North York moors and on our August visit, with the light slanting down on the grassy hills and the heather-covered moor, was enchanting. This inn is less so, but it's also less of a disaster than others here claim, I feel. We had a standard double and our son a standard single; ours was adequate, but the dated, bargain-bin furniture and flooring, and baths sans proper shower, were a letdown for the price. The single, by contrast, was charming, with a splendid view of the moors. The food in the restaurant was good--there was decent wine by the glass, and our meals (chicken in a tarragon sauce, steak and sea bass) were really enjoyable. I also found the breakfast excellent and very generous, with porridge, goodish scrambled eggs, surprisingly zingy coffee, fresh fruit salad and a fry-up much enjoyed by our son. (Again, I'm flummoxed by other comments here about poor coffee and rubbish wine--and I'm very particular about both. Absolutely not our experience.) The wait staff were lovely and highly efficient. So, on the whole, I'd advocate eating here, but thinking twice about staying until the owners start matching price to decor and comfort in all the rooms on offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nisha09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a 4 night 'tour' of the North Yorkshire Moors. This was our fourth & final stop and I have to say, we were really disappointed.

Having paid at least £30 more for this room than for any of the others we stayed in, I had reasonably high expectations, but felt really let down.

The room (Room 9), at quick glance, looked very nice and quite high-end. But this could not be further than the truth, the room had an extremely cheap finish:

- the doors were hollow MDF jobs, which did nothing to block out any noise from people in other rooms/the corridor.
- the gap between the bottom of the door and the floor was sizeable and, as other reviewers have said, let in a fair amount of light.
- the bath had holes in it, where the handles should be (unfinished job)
- there was no window to leave open for fresh air. There was a patio door, leading out to the garden, but with wild deer running across the garden, I didn't want to leave it open overnight, off the chain.
- Wifi only services the area around the bar; it didn't reach the rooms to the left of reception (it didn't work on my iphone 5 either, which was asking for a username, to which there wasn't one...worked on my mum's iphone 4 though!)
- the TV signal (freeview) kept cutting out. However, I reported this to the manager, who fixed it whilst we went exploring in Pickering (about 8 miles away!)
- when we arrived in the room, I discovered we were sharing it with three daddy long legs!

On the positive side, it is in a stunning location and the young staff in the bar & restaurant are very friendly.

I paid £110 for a twin room, B&B and, to be honest, felt a little cheated out of my money. I would say the room was more reflective of a £60 price tag at most.

I was very disappointed and wouldn't recommend it to others, unless the price came down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcarbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the fantastic reviews but had a really poor experience during our recent 2 night stay. Perhaps the "superior" rooms are as good as the reviews say but our standard double was hugely disappointing. I know this is a country inn and not a 5* hotel but there are certain basics that any hotel needs to get right; A comfortable bed, a hot shower, a good meal and a decent night's sleep, we didn't get any of these things.

We stayed in room 12 and barely got any sleep at all due to the sagging mattress, the bright light coming in all night through the inch wide gap around the door, the neighbour's TV blaring through the paper thin walls, the shouting coming from the kitchen below and the conversations of all the other guests trooping past our door at the top of the stairs on their way to their rooms. The décor seemed to be inspired by an old peoples home and the bathroom was in serious need of an update. Taking a shower was interesting as the water was either scalding hot or freezing cold. When I mentioned this to the manager he didn't apologise just grinned and nodded and said "no, the shower in that room doesn't work! " Very helpful.

I am struggling to find anything positive to say about this place at all. The young staff working in the restaurant and bar were really nice and tried hard to make sure guests had a good stay, unfortunately the same cant be said for the rather patronising and sarcastic manager. The bar area is a nice, relaxing place to spend the evening however the "bar snacks menu" advertised is mysteriously unavailable so you have to choose from the ridiculously overpriced restaurant menu. If you want a glass of wine you will be served a miniature bottle of something cheap and nasty, they don't have any decent wine by the glass. Breakfast was not great, a bowl of fruit salad which looked like it had been prepared about a week ago and wheeled out every morning, rubbery eggs and undrinkable coffee.

A really disappointing experience as we were so looking forward to staying there and after two nights of no sleep we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for five nights August 2013. From very start the Owner and staff excelled themselves,
We arrived mid afternoon with car trouble and within five minutes of arrival an appointment with local garage had been arranged for following morning. Our room overlooked the moors and was clean and very well decorated. The bathroom was big with shower and bath and first impressions
were followed as the week developed. Meals can only be described as superb as is the beer.
The staff warrant very special mention all so helpful and attentive with a lovely local friendship.
We single out Sam,Patrick,Mike and Kevin for enjoyable evening chats and laughs in the bar.
Howard the owner has passed on his unique skills to them and our last night was so special as he and his band played at the Coachhouse in Rosedale driving us back in person himself.
Patrick's photographs in bar were so amazing we had to buy some, great place to relax and chill.
To all at the Blacksmiths we wish you every thing you deserve our stay was simply
a piece of pure moors magic made so special by you all thanks Dave and Caroline.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinsmanArgyllAndBute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

One night stay with children. Beautiful location. Friendly welcome and nice rooms. Food good, varied menu although the kids menu expensive for the portion size. Lovely staff, special mention to Sam, who couldn't do enough to help and whom my 2 year old son loved. Recommended and will return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AECUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
6.4 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
6.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
713 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 46 in Pickering
55 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmiths Hartoft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmiths Hartoft

Property: The Blacksmiths Hartoft
Address: Hartoft End, Pickering YO18 8EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blacksmiths Country Hotel Pickering
Country Inn Pickering
Pickering Country Inn
The Blacksmiths Hartoft Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing