We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Spencers Bar and Grill
Ranked #25 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Being an avid dog lover, I adore the fact that this place is named after Spencer the dog! Great atmosphere and Black Sheep Beer at £2.50 a pint. Food is great. Lodges look fantastic set in idyllic grounds on the side of a lake. What more could anyone want?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisdogHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    31
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice quick break”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed in the lodges for a few nights, was a great stay. Spencers had a nice atmosphere with pleasant staff and they accommodated to my fussy eating habits :P. Impressive restaurant area and great food to go along with it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raszero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing food and service”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Ate here this last weekend and was really looking forward to it having read great reviews on here. We were pretty disappointed to say the least. None of the decent, local beers on tap were 'on' and would take six hours to air apparently and order taking process was slow and disjointed at the bar. When starters came the other half's didnt come out until we asked and were then told the chef thought it was a main course (?) and my starter was a spicy nachos when I asked for the normal - bit annoying as I can't eat things too spicy. The kids meals were really poor quality - macaroni cheese looked like soup with some pasta in there and the chicken goujons seemed like frozen food. To be fair it was very cheap for the kids meals (around £3 I think) so should have realised. The burgers we ordered were OK. All in all, wouldn't rush back there which is a shame as it looks like a fab spot and staff were friendly enough. I don't know if it was maybe an off day or they were distracted as a big extension had just gone up and they had a party later on but it could have been so much better. Also, the music they were playing was so loud and we couldn't hear ourselves talk - that said, they were good tunes!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant place”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at a nearby caravan site, we decided to give Spencer's a try, what a lovely place. Friendly atmosphere, welcoming friendly staff, super food and great prices. Also pet friendly and lovely view overlooking the lake. Will certainly go back again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have a holiday home very close to Spencers and we love this place.

The staff are nice, food is excellent and very good atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spencers Bar and Grill also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Spencers Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing