We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect peace.”
other travelers have booked this property
A sunny day on the patio!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A sunny day on the patio!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
A sunny day on the patio!
Front of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect peace.”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderfully quiet cottage beautifully appointed and lovingly cared for. Amazed at just how much thought has gone in to equipping the cottage - there is literally nothing you could possibly need for a comfortable easy stay.
The location is perfect for all Pickering’s facilities, all within ten minutes walk and lovely walks a bit further with the dog.
We hope to return at some point and will definitely recommend to family and friends looking for a peaceful, comfortable and rewarding break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to review my cottage. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back! Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise S
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb dog friendly 5* self catering cottage”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from a lovely relaxing week in Pickering with our dog Pip. This self catering cottage is immaculate throughout and in great location. A real home from home feel with welcoming tea and cake upon arrival. Excellent location, a quick walk into Pickering or up to the castle for morning dog walks. Also a great base from which to explore the wider area with off street parking and outside courtyard area a great asset. We will return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Dear Louise, thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased you all enjoyed the cottage and visiting Pickering. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, very comfortable cottage in the heart of Pickering”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived we felt at home in this lovely cottage. It is very close to the centre of Pickering and just a couple of minutes walk down to the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. The cottage is well equipped; the bed linen and towels are very good quality and we appreciated all the little extras such as the cake on arrival, the basic toiletries and a good selection of cleaning products. It was also very quiet at night which was an unexpected bonus. Off road parking and the private location make this a perfect spot for a short break or a longer holiday. We hope to return before too long! Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Dear Anne,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela L
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very cosy, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent base for walkers. Pickering woods walk was lovely. Pickering is lovely town with good amenities. Easy reach of Whitby, Filey and York. Used the train from Malden to York excellent service. 13 miles to Helmsley a lovely market town. This was our second visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Dear Pamela,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our cottage. I'm glad you had a good holiday and hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanlesz...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castlegate Coach House”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just spent a week here at this lovely pet friendly accommodation. This is our 4th visit and we will return again. Everything you need is here at the cottage. Perfect location for a walk into town, taking the Steam Train up to Whitby, walks around the Castle/woods and surrounding area and then also for visiting nearby places of interest. So much to see and do. We can highly recommend staying here. Thank you Lucy and Paul for their hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
Dear Susan, Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit. Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house, very cosy, great location”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place to stay for the weekend, both the house and the town! The communication I received from the owner was great, and we found the house using her directions without any problem at all. The house was warm and cosy when we arrived, and we were very happy to find a chocolate cake and tea bags waiting for us when we walked in! A very nice touch after travelling for 4hrs.

The kitchen is very well equipped, and the beds were very comfortable. We put the fire on for Saturday night, and it was so toasty inside. The house is only a few minutes walk from both the town centre and the castle, so really is perfectly positioned.

Pickering itself is a lovely town. I spent quite a long time walking around it on Sat evening whilst the kids and hubby watched a film, and it is a very pretty place with lovely shops and restaurants/pubs. We travelled to the coast to have an afternoon at Robin Hood's Bay on the Saturday, and it only took about 30 mins in the car, as far as I can remember. A really lovely place to spend the weekend, and we would definitely consider staying at this lovely house again. Thank you for putting us up!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Dear Rachel, Thank you so much for taking the time to review my cottage, it is very much appreciated. I'm so glad you had such an enjoyable weekend and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing