We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place”
Review of Cropton brewery

Cropton brewery
Ranked #28 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
north wales
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just got home from a weekend here. Stayed in brewers cottage which was clean, modern and can't wait till we return.
Staff was friendly and always smiling. Food was really good and could nt fault it. Will be back next year

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jueNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    38
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brewery tour”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a treat for my husband's birthday and it turned out to be a treat for both of us! The tour was great and very informative. Then the lunch was the best pub grub I have had in a long time. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food came quickly and was hot and tasty, with plenty of it. We were seated with another couple who had starters, our mains came at the same time as their starters and our puddings at the same time as their mains so that none of us were sat without food watching the others eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“"Modernised" - about 40 years ago.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We didn't do the brewery tour but went for lunch having found it in the Good Pub Guide, where it describes itself as "Modernised" (pubs now pay for their entry and presumably edit the copy). The decor is off-putting, false beams, anaglypta wallpaper, odd bits of tacky brass, "old" advertising mirrors, dark wood pub furniture of a certain age, worn floral carpet that sticks to your feet, sticky tabletops. I doubt it's seen a lick of paint in 25 years.

The staff were welcoming and friendly, despite being short-staffed during a busy lunch-time. (There was a loud discussion about the number who'd been let go on holiday at the same time) The beer (one of their own brews) was excellent and the food was very good - a steak and ale pie and beef sandwiches, both with lovely hand-cut chips.

Full marks for the staff, full marks for the food, full marks for the beer. Why spend money on the place when it's doing a roaring trade? Well, some customers might enjoy it even more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cancerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect pint (and a good door stop sandwich)”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Walked to this pub from the Forest Cabins in Keldy, great walk for both myself and the boyfriend (as well as the dog!) The ales on offer were really nice, you can even buy bottles to take away in a gift box, always nice to take something home for the family (if it lasts that long!) Decided to have lunch too, the sandwiches were lovely, a proper Yorkshire doorstop sandwich! Dog friendly too, which is always great. Definitely recommend to anyone who loves a good beer and a sarnie!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura_198699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and myself had o groupon voucher for the brewery trip what excellent value for money this was. We had the trip which lasted appro 1-2 hours a free pint of beer after the trip or you could have a rack of beers and then a gift of 3 of their boxed beers. Marvellous

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank grattan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cropton brewery also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cropton brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing