We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My cafe of choice in Pickering” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Sundae

Lazy Sundae
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My cafe of choice in Pickering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

A lovely little café atmosphere is relaxed, service is good and food/drinks excellent. Best hot chocolate in Pickering

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    20
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I recently popped into Pickering and found the most delightful cafe. Initially I just wanted a coffee, but after seeing all the homemade cakes on display I gave in to the coffee cake to go with it. I'm so glad that I did, taking another piece home for the hubby!! Can't wait to go back and try some more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrscookhelmsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden little treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

What a fab little place lovely and friendly staff we only had coffee and crumpets but the lunch which was brought out for another table looked great. We had some cake to take out which was fab we will. Be back in the spring very quaint and cosy. We especially loved the gingerbread latte

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kittycat0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Perfect Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Staying in Whitby on honeymoon, we decided to have a scenic drive out on my birthday and stop for a bite to eat in Pickering before tackling Dalby Forest.

Having our 16 month old son and his pushchair in tow, we were a bit hesitant on whether to go inside as it is lovely and cosy and we didn't want to get in the way, so we sat outside. Never did I think I'd be able to sit outside in the sunshine in December. Even blankets were provided on the backs of chairs which was a nice touch.

I popped inside to get a menu and explain we were outside and the lovely young lady could not have been more helpful and accommodating which put us at ease, and she was very polite and professional taking our order and when serving our food.

I had the special, sausages with caramelised onion chutney and cheddar in a ciabatta which was delicious and beautiful presented (the salad served in an open kilner jar was so cute!). My husband had a bacon stottie with the soup of the day which was garden pea and bacon. Both were delicious and very fresh.

The coffees were superb. The best we've had in a long time. You can tell the barista knows exactly how to make a good one.

Upon paying we decided to take a slice of date and oat bake home. It didn't last to the car park as it was too tempting. Our son particularly loved it's chewy texture.

It's clear by the attentive staff and immaculate surroundings, that Lazy Sundae takes great care and pride in pleasing all its customers. I can't recommend it highly enough and wish all involved continued success 5*

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
236 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my fiancé and parents after reading the good reviews!

Had a lovely lunch me n my dad getting the bacon flatcakes a couple of mugs of coffee and a pot of tea. My fiancé and mum had some delicious paninis and we were all equally stuffed and satisfied.

Lovely little cafe with friendly staff and decor. Would recommend and will be back next time we're in Pickering!

Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Sundae also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lazy Sundae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing