We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really homely B&B with incredibly warm hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really homely B&B with incredibly warm hosts”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were made incredibly welcome at Peartree Cottage, nothing was too much trouble. Our hosts were so friendly and went out of their way to help us - and this made the difference to our stay. A very comfortable, homely B&B with excellent parking, luxury bathroom with power shower, well stocked tea tray in the bedrooms and delicious breakfast (apparently the black pudding is to die for and our hosts rustled up really tasty porridge too). We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Dalby Forest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased you all enjoyed your weekend with us. We really enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again when you are ready for some more adventures on your bikes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
65
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights to take a celebration trip on the railway, great convienient location, and amazing hosts.

The accomodation is welcoming with sitting room you are encouraged to use, with TV, books and games to entertain, as well as tv in the bedroom.

We were welcomed by the family and immediatly made to feel at home with tea and cakes.

Breakfast, everything you could ask for and more. Homecooked full yorkshire breakfast.
Chris and Sarah go out of their way to make your stay special.
Will not hesitate to stay here again.
There is a sign in the dining room that sums it up - arrive as strangers, leave as friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your special weekend away,and the sun shone - just to top it off!
We loved having you both to stay and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I arranged for a group of friends and myself to stay at this B&B as a base for the weekend whilst celebrating my 40th. The venue and service was absolutely exceptional and the proprietors could not have been more lovely. It is a family run business and it shows with the attention to detail superb. The rooms are beautiful, exceptionally clean and the beds extremely comfortable. I was on the phone to Sarah (one of the owners) several times in the build up to the weekend to ask for advice on what to do. She was wonderful and all her recomendations exceeded our expectations. We went to Go Ape and Dalby Forest on the Saturday and a lovely local walk on the Sunday. She booked the local Inadian restaurant for us which was delicious but did not meet the AMAZING standard of Pear Tree's breakfast spread. All produce is local and from great British suppliers....yum yum yum!

I had not really been looking forward to turning 40 however this B&B and its owners certainly helped make it one to remember. The best part about it was the fantastic value for money it was. I would definitely recommend this place for a weekend break / holiday or even business stopover as they have free wifi. We did not use the cottage but I had the chance to have a look at it and it also seemed very pleasant.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and different so there is bound to be one to meet your needs. They are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GVH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, your kind words mean so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and very much look forward to seeingh you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a brill base for me and my daughters half term visit to Pickering-and really reasonably priced.
She just loved the breakfast, in fact I hadn't had many full English breakfasts recently, so relished the amazing start to the day, and give the breakfast absolutely full marks (tasty local sausages and black pudding) after three in a row.
Chris and Sarah were really helpful in advising us of nice local walks, and pointed out lots of touristy things to do, a highlight was the day trip on the local steam train with locally bought picnic lunch.
If I could have brought anything back with me, along with our fond memories, it would be the award winning camra pub minutes walk up the road, and, to be greedy, having the Pear Tree House breakfast presented to me each day.

Room Tip: Ring up and book, Chris and Sarah are really helpful, hospitable and accommodating to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, your kind words mean alot to us. We are so pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed exploring our beautiful countryside. We very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very friendly couple. Beautiful home. We stayed in family room and it was spacious and very clean. Bathroom was better than mine at home! Had tea,coffee hot choc & biscuits in the room :)
Breakfast was lovely. Felt like I was staying over at a friends house as its really homely!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frances1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind words, it was lovely having you all to stay. I am so pleased you enjoyed the wedding and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A real Yorkshire welcome awaited us when we arrived and we were thrilled with the quality of the accommodation, the expensive and tasteful furnishings and fittings, creating a relaxing atmosphere in the bedrooms and seperate lounge area. In the mornings a superb breakfast was presented in the dining room.
This undoubtedly must be the Best B&B in the Pickering area.
It is unusual for anyone to tick 5 stars into every box, but this is exactly what it deserves. It is faultless.
The centre of Pickering is only a few minutes walk away and if you arrive by car there is plenty of off road parking available in the courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Warren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for for your lovely review, your kind words mean alot.
It was an absolute pleasure having you all to stay. I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Scotland and the rain held off for a while!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This fabulous B&B is tastefully decorated and well specked. We received a very warm welcome on arrival, the food was delightful, well cooked and loads of it. The beds are really comfy and the Barn room was light, airy and spacious. Tea tray in the room was well stocked with quality items. Plenty of parking space off road and the location in Pickering is very central with access to all the local places of interest. Sarah and Chris are fabulous hosts - so helpful. I can't recommend them highly enough. Our family very much enjoyed their stay and are looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: the barn room is a great Family room for 2+2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review.
it was a pleasure having you and your family to stay and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eden House B&B
Eden House B&B
#9 of 46 in Pickering
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 103 Westgate, Pickering YO18 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome from us all at Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you into our home, with tea and homemade cakes on arrival! All of our beautiful guest rooms have been completely refurbished, and are light and spacious. • En suite rooms• Off-street parking• Free Wi-Fi• Secure bike storageWe hope you have a really lovely relaxing stay with us, and manage to explore and enjoy our beautiful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree House Bed And Breakfast Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing