We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nostalgic”

North Yorkshire Moors Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.73*
and up
Steam Trains, Whitby, and the North York Moors Full-Day Tour from York
More Info
$50.40*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$55.71*
and up
North York Moors and Whitby Day Trip from York
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The North Yorkshire Moors Railway is one of the world’s greatest heritage railway experiences with thrills and education at its heart. Climb on-board a steam or heritage diesel train on one of the earliest and most historic lines. Experience 24 miles of Yorkshire’s amazing scenery at this must-see visitor attraction. We will take you on a journey you can’t even imagine! Explore the Railway • Pickering Station is a must-see 1930’s themed station that will transport you back in time to the locomotive steam era. • A must-see is the celebrity station, Goathland, which became Hogsmeade Station in the first Harry Potter film. • Explore Grosmont Station which is home to the operating and engineering world of the NYMR. If you are lucky you might be able to catch a sneaky peak at the work taking place on our engines! • Visit Whitby with its narrow streets and bustling harbour overlooked by the striking ruins of Whitby Abbey. • Explore Levisham Station which is surrounded by the North York Moors.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Very Nostalgic”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Having been brought up in the age of the steam locomotive it seemed appropriate to visit this railway on our recent break in Flamborough.

We arrived at the station just ten minutes to late and missed the previous train but we were told by a member of staff that the next one would be an hour later. We had a look around the well stocked railway shop, this is a must if you like steam memorabilia and like material, there is also plenty for the younger kids as well.

Soon it was time to board the train and we soon set of from Pickering to Goathland. Due to some track work further up the train was not going on to Grosmont.

Goathland is the home of Heartbeat from the TV series and there are a lot of reminders in the village.

On board the train we were impressed by the cleanliness of the carriages as a whole and when the ticket inspector arrived to clip our tickets he was a very jovial chap and we had a good chat.

We have made this journey several times in the past, but I personally still love every minute of it.

Well worth a visit especially for the children as well as adults. When we got off the train I bought a lovely fleece coat with the NYMR logo on it and it did not cost a fortune, we then went into the buffet bar and had tea, coffee and buns etc. Again this area was exceptionally clean and good value for money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank budeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nymrailway, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our attraction, we are pleased you enjoy visiting us.

Our staff and volunteers pride themselves on offering a good service and we are pleased we did not disappoint on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, in the meantime if you have any suggestions or queries please contact us on info@nymr.co.uk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,056
    671
    176
    83
    55
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“STEAM RAILWAY”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Really nice station at Goathland, staff very friendly and helpful. Car park for the whole day is £3.50.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nymrailway, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of Goathland station. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Enjoyable rail trip through scenic area, but amateurish timekeeping”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I really enjoyed this return visit to the NYMR, pulled by steam through scenic valleys of the North York Moors, and spending some time in both Goathland and Grosmont by using a day rover ticket. However, I can well understand the disappointment of 'Magnus'. We only discovered that all trains were cancelled on April 4th when we walked to Levisham station two days before to check things out and saw a notice on the wall. Fortunately we had two days available and went on the first day of the summer timetable. Though trains were indeed running on April 5th, and we enjoyed the trip, it has to be said that the casual disregard of timekeeping commitments is very unfortunate. We arrived at Grosmont station for the return journey at the stated time, but then experienced a long delay. There were no proper announcements, just a staff member speaking to anyone he happened to pass, saying that the engine would be along in about 20 minutes and then had to re-fuel. We eventually left Grosmont 59 minutes late! I appreciate that the railway is run by volunteers, but we are paying money and should expect better. Surely the volunteer staff must know how long steam operations take, and plan accordingly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nymrailway, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the NYMR, We are pleased you had an enjoyable trip with us.

We do endeavour to run trains as per our timetable, but unfortunately sometimes delays do occur. There were speed restrictions in place and a locomotive had a minor maintenance issue which delayed the service on the day you traveled. Our station staff should keep people updated with the situation, and we are sorry this did not happen on this occasion. We will pass your comments onto the department head.

We hope you will visit us again, and if you have any more queries or suggestions please contact us on info@nymr.co.uk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A nostalgic journey across the North Yorkshire Moors from Pickering to Whitby. Lots of interesting stations. A must for 'Heartbeat' and Harry Potter fans. A few hours to explore Whitby and to enjoy fish and chips before returning to Pickering in the evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank f_hatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nymrailway, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit.

We are pleased you enjoyed your day with us and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“huge disappointment”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We checked the timetable on the Internet before travelling up from Oxfordshire to take a return trip to Goathland.
The chalked up notice board confirmed the times of the trains that day.
We were prepared to take pot luck as to whether our train would be steam or diesel drawn but imagine how we felt when we were told there would be NO trains at all that day! No apologies were made or explanations given.
We drove back to Oxfordshire, a round trip of over 400 miles feeling cheated and angry

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank magnus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nymrailway, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you were disappointed when you arrived at our station. The decision to not run trains on the 4th April was due to the need for us to complete essential engineering work before the main season began. this was not a decision that was taken lightly. As soon as we were aware of this, we immediately posted notices, on the 2nd April, on our website, facebook and twitter page.

We also placed posters in prominent positions around the stations and in the car parks.

Our station staff are volunteers who give their time freely to help us, and should have been able to explain why the trains were not running. As a charity we rely heavily on the generosity of our volunteers and visitors to help us continue running and to provide future generations with a chance to ride on a steam or heritage diesel engine through the North York Moors.

Feedback from our customers is always appreciated and we always try to provide the best possible service to our visitors and we are sorry that you did not have a positive experience with us on this occasion.

Should you have any further comments or suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact the NYMR info@nymr.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Yorkshire Moors Railway also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Goathland, North York Moors National Park
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to North Yorkshire Moors Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing