We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Day of Steam Train Travel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Yorkshire Moors Railway

North Yorkshire Moors Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.25*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The North Yorkshire Moors Railway is one of the world’s greatest heritage railway experiences with thrills and education at its heart. Climb on-board a steam or heritage diesel train on one of the earliest and most historic lines. Experience 24 miles of Yorkshire’s amazing scenery at this must-see visitor attraction. We will take you on a journey you can’t even imagine! Explore the Railway • Pickering Station is a must-see 1930’s themed station that will transport you back in time to the locomotive steam era. • A must-see is the celebrity station, Goathland, which became Hogsmeade Station in the first Harry Potter film. • Explore Grosmont Station which is home to the operating and engineering world of the NYMR. If you are lucky you might be able to catch a sneaky peak at the work taking place on our engines! • Visit Whitby with its narrow streets and bustling harbour overlooked by the striking ruins of Whitby Abbey. • Explore Levisham Station which is surrounded by the North York Moors.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Wharton, Texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day of Steam Train Travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The trip from Pickering to Whitby and back was wonderful. Having the opportunity to travel on a vintage steam train through the incredibly picturesque North Yorkshire Moors was a real treat. The stations, atmosphere, and fellow travelers all added to the experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,893
    627
    161
    78
    55
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out on the NYMR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

It's a long time since we visited the NYMR. So we decided to revisit, this time with friends who had never been. My mate is a big fan of steam trains as well so we really were looking forward to our visit.
We were not disappointed. The journey to and from Whitby was excellent, the scenery is first class and as the train only travels at 12mph you get to see it all. On the way back we upgraded to 1st class , at the time of travel this was £3.50 per person, well worth it.
One thing we did not know was that NYMR own Sir Nigel Gresley.
The day after our trip we went back to the station in PIckering to see Sir Nigel Gresely, well worth the visit, you even get chance to get into the cab.

There is no charge to view the station / trains, but you pay for a day rover ticket.

All the staff we spoke to were volunteers, they were really helpful and charming.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pickering to Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wonderful ride through the Moors. Lots of wildlife to see from the window and a steam train for most of the journey.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank STUART M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The golden days of steam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

What's not to like? I'm not a railway fanatic but can remember the steam trains of my childhood.

The trips are through some lovely countryside, through nicely "period" railway stations and can take you from Pickering up to Whitby for a nice *traditional* day out at the seaside, leaving Pickering at 9am and getting back there at about 7pm for a lovely summer's day out.

The train out of Pickering was, in our case, an old diesel locomotive to begin with, and it was at Goathland that I think we were swapped onto a steam engine. We remained in the carriage while this took place, a process lasting perhaps 15-20 minutes. After that we were off under steam and I have to admit this was great fun. I just stuck the digital camera out of the window and filmed the train huffing and puffing along the line with the clouds of steam shadowing the fields beside the track - very evocative. The camera came back inside rather filthy with sooty specks (these were also seen flying past the camera on the film!) - nothing that a damp tissue can't fix. Sticking your head out for a look might not be so bright unless you are several carriages back along the train.

As a start to a traditional fish'n'chips & ice cream kind of day out at Whitby, the North Yorkshire Moors Railway has to be a top option.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We travelled from Pickering to Goathland just for the fun of it, no it wasn't cheap but we felt it was worth it to keep these magnificent engines running for everyone to enjoy. The sights, smells and sounds are unique and special. The stations are well kept and well run. A good day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Yorkshire Moors Railway also viewed

Goathland, North York Moors National Park
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to North Yorkshire Moors Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing