We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely character cottage in good town location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mandy F
Isleworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely character cottage in good town location”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a lovely week in Cherry Tree cottage - accompanied by our labrador cross and we were all made to feel extremely welcome by Matt and Lisa on arrival. The cottage is well equipped and has loads of character and charm - including a lovely and very effective fuel burning stove - which we didnt think we would need - but did load up with coal - and it was lovely. We also had the bonus of the outside space which is secure and private and offers a good spot to sit out and have a drink in the sun. The location in Pickering is great - you can walk to several decent pubs - and browse all the shops, cafes etc with ease. We found some lovely walks just a short drive from the property - and also took advantage of the walk around the castle which is only about 10 mins away. We have already booked again for Christmas - and will probably return after that.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andye899
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great town, nice property, shame about the noise”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just spent two weeks in CTC. Renovated 6 years ago, the property is as described and is on the A170. I can only re-emphasise what the last reviewer said in April about the noise. Luckily we read the review and came prepared with ear plugs. The owner has been very helpful and spoken to both establishments. Up shot is that the Indians will try to cut down their noisy early hours phone chatter, but the Chinese are allowed to cook a family meal after 11pm. The extractor starts at 12 noon. We have enjoyed a warm welcome in Pickering, which is a beautiful town and very dog friendly. Local countryside is ideal for walking and boasts picture post card views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamela s
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy cottage?”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

disappointing stay, bed made from old timber very uncomfortable. Furniture and fittings of poor quality, also very noisy from restaurants either side and garage surrounding cottage. noisy industrial extractor fan until 12.00am. chatting from restaurant staff until early hours outside bedroom window. Outside space would benefit from some improvement . Overall very disappointing

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: handy for shops
Liked least: the poor quality
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Despite only giving it an average rating had a good stay at the cottage and it had a good welcoming feel to it.It is close to pickering and makes a good central base for touring.Woodburner was very good and as previous reviews the toilet cistern was a novelty not seen one of these since leaving school a very long time ago.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to pickering town centre and local attractions.Cosy cottage.
Liked least: Could be noisy some nights after 11:00 p.m owing to Indian restaurant staff chatting in back garden next door.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenandR...
Hedgerley, Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Cherry Tree Cottage for a week at the end of August. Pickering is a lovely town in itself and is the perfect location for exploring North Yorkshire, close enough to York, Whitby and some pretty villages and towns. The cottage is a short walk from the town. Parking in the drive is not for the nervous or spatially unaware, but was mastered easily enough with a bit of confidence. On road parking was easy enough to get as an alternative. The cottage is breathtaking on first view and furnished with everything that we needed for the week. We were a bit disappointed that the weather remained nice enough not to need the wood burner! It was the perfect choice for us and our dog (who was made welcome pretty much everywhere that we went) and we would definitely stay here again if returning "up north".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky nature of the cottage
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoghauler
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is a cosy little cottage in Pickering. Comfy lounge with woodburner , although we didn't use it,no need because weather was good. Well equipped kitchen. Nice bathroom . Comfy bed once in it, especially if you sleep on the left. We did know this before we booked. There is off-road parking but anything bigger than a Honda Jazz, you will struggle to get in. Not much of a problem you can park in front go gates to unload and there was always plenty of free parking on the street. Plenty of places to eat in the Town. Can recommend both the Indian and the Chinese either side of you and the pub across the road does a tidy pint. Didn't try the food as they had recently taken over and we're not doing food. Turn right out the gate,20yrds, newsagent and then a Costcutter mini market, both good. Cross over road, go left,3-4 mins walk, little CoOp and a very good Chippy. Would stay again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing