We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Restaurant justifies the majority 5 star reviews”

NOYON tandoori restaurant
Ranked #35 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: one of the oldest restaurant in this area,serving authentic south asian food.we always try our best to serve quality & fresh food in a pleasant atmosphere.we are pleased to maintain our standard high & appreciate any constructive suggestion.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“This Restaurant justifies the majority 5 star reviews”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Having eaten at the sister restaurant Lal Quila in York 4 days earlier, it appeared to be a good idea to compare them. The interior is the same but different if you know what I mean. The menu for drinks and food are really excellent and give much more information than the average fare and again it made the choice of food very difficult. So many dishes we wanted to try.The temporary manager gave us lots of time and he was a really friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. He liked the idea of us comparing to the York restaurant. Well we weren't disappointed - at all. I had the vindaloo strength lamb curry (forgotten the name of it). The boss said it was like a vindaloo but with more flavour. Not wrong at all. My wife's Lamb Bhindi was absolutely gorgeous as was our side of chick peas. At the end of our meal, the boss told us the chef was bursting to find out which restaurant we preferred. I wouldn't want to chose between them and will have to try them both out again - soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldFroggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    40
    7
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Would come again”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A jewel in the North. Only visiting for the week but hit on this through Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Very flavoursome food, good amounts too, washed down with quality Kingfisher lager.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kels220576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superp food”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a chicken kutchi was aboutley gorgoes.thanks quys.....ususlly have two dishes kutch.arkan ghost both are lovely dishes.keep good work up russ

Helpful?
Thank Sharron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Take Away”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Went for a take away, the Korma & Chicken Tikka were to die for, creamy with succulent chunks of chicken.
The onion rice was superb, the onions were cooked but had a bit of crunch & fresh coriander sprinkled on top, in short delicious.
Pickle tray was fantastic & fresh.
Staff were very nice & there is a cash discount.
I will be ditching all other Indian takeaways from now on.
5 stars!

Helpful?
Thank Robby-york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Restaurant I Have Ever Been Too!!!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

One look at the menu and I was excited about getting my food. I love curry and the menu was filled with things I had never heard of which for me is a sign of something to get excited about. As a chef myself, I love Indian food for the combination of spices and flavor, I have been to many Indian restaurants and this has to be one of the best ones I have been to probably ever! I'm not from Yorkshire but if I would be in here every week if i could just trying everything and working out how they do it. I can not even tell you what I had but was really surprised about how much the bill came too but it was much less than i thought it was going to be. My only gripe is that they were playing Coldplay.... LUSH! LUSH! LUSH!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NOYON tandoori restaurant also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to NOYON tandoori restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing