We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old fashioned tea rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabeth Botham's Tea Rooms

Elizabeth Botham's Tea Rooms
Ranked #3 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Family run, traditional English Tea Rooms offering light bites. Sandwiches, Cream Tea, Afternoon Tea, hot & cold drinks. We also have a bakery shop selling items made in our Whitby bakery.
East Mids, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely old fashioned tea rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Right opposite the station, this is a lovely nostalgic tea room. Prettily frocked staff must be picked for their charm and cheerfulness. Tea and hot water pots are old fashioned heavy quality. Wish I could buy one for home! They are generous here with the tea so you can top up the pot with hot water for seconds, and even thirds.

Delicious cakes: fruity, flaky eccles; sticky date + walnut spelt brack; stem ginger brack with butter ...

We loved this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    56
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice tearoom, fare a bit disappointing, perhaps an off day?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The tea room was small and I had to wait for a table. I was disappointed with the quality of the coffee and the cake that I had was a bit dry. However staff were friendly and helpful and very apologetic about the wait and the setting was a nice, old fashioned tearoom

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Right first time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were going to the station and popped in in passing for some lunch. Good value and very pleasant atmosphere and staff. We even ended up at the other EB tearoom in Whitby when we went there by steam. That was fine too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great food, great value ("Tea after three" offer) and excellent service. I wouldn't go anywhere else in Pickering.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ooooooooh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Best cream tea we have had for sure. We were eyeing up the full afternoon tea, which looked great but only had room for a cream tea, but it really was worth fitting it! Tea was a lovely blend, and the scone & jam were really delicious, staff were spot on as well & it was not overpriced. Thanks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth Botham's Tea Rooms also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Elizabeth Botham's Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing