We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place to stay.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of No 2 The Ropery

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Beautiful dining room
Fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons
View from third floor bedroom
View of No 2 The Ropery
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
max b
2 reviews
“A lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great house. Very roomy. Owners were very helpful and accommodating. Would recommend to a friend.
Good kitchen with plenty of crockery, etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Come back again soon ! Thank you xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing ”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We were here for the new year and can honestly say we loved it!!! With 5 adults and 5 kids and it also been our first new year since we lost our best friend can honestly say it felt like a home from home we were greeted with gifts left for us and a lovely warm atmosphere x so much around to do thank you so much will definitely recommend xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Thank you so much xx I am pleased you had a lovely time - come again soon you lovely lot xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathsenio...
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a Christmas get together with friends at this lovely cottage. Placed well in Pickering with all ameneties close by. The cottage is very spacious and so comfortable, the owners had put Christmas decorations up which just added to the ambience. The kitchen had everything we needed, we even cooked a full Roast Beef Sunday lunch. The one parking spot is the only downside but we did manage to park around the corner, after saying that I would highly recommend No 2 The Ropery to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness and the space
Liked least: One parking spot at the property
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juduth70
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Superb accommodation, great location, brilliant friends. What more could I ask for? Thanks Alison for everything !! We will be back!! The Wetherby girls

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
Oh you are so so welcome - thank you lot for everything xxxx Glad you enjoyed xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonny D
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top weekend”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We arrange a weekend away every year to get together with friends (8 this time you could fit another 8 comfortably) and hit the nail right smack bang on the head. Location: spot on, Cottage: beautiful , Go back? Without a doubt. Went to Whitby by steam train on Saturday ( station a seven iron away) and they had a northern soul weekend on( Bonus). Altogether a great time. Don't think about it, book it. Thank you Alison and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
You have made my day thank you so much! Come back soon xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoose
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Spot on Location! Wonderful House!”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked this property on a bit of a whim, but were not disappointed at all! 9 of us from age 6 to 70+ stayed here with plenty of room to spare. The house was very clean with lots of amenities, books, games etc. There is a secret toy den in the top bedroom which my 6 year old daughter loved and was very taken with 'Holly' the horse, who she wanted to bring home with her! The beds were very comfy and despite being in the centre of town it is surprisingly quiet. The location is spot on. Directly opposite the main market place, and the NYMR station. One of the top bedrooms overlooked the station, and much delight from 8 year old and Grandad alike when the steam trains came in and out. Being able to pop out for a bacon sandwich for breakfast from one of the many bakeries, a newspaper from the newsagent and some milk from the fantastic new Lidl up the road was brilliant. We loved the Sun Inn pub, the Fortune Inn across the road for chinese takeaway, and Feast cafe (next to the White Swan). Loads of pubs, unfortunately didn't have time to sample them all. Pickering is a great base for exploring the moors and the coast and of course the NYMR is on your doorstep, as is the wonderful Beck Isle museum. We all live in Yorkshire so didn't have too far to come, and have been to the town many times before, but it really felt like a proper holiday break. Recommend the house and the town very highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the size of the property
Liked least: The very small 'wet room' on the top floor.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
Thank you so much for this Susan - glad it met your expectations. We love to read lovely reviews like this. Please come back again soon and tell your friends :) xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanie p
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY HOMELY AND WELCOMING”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Located right in the centre. Ideal for a walk round the shops or to have a drink or a meal (which we did) there is also a beautiful church, with tapestries. The house itself is very well equipped (remember to bring toilet roll though) we ran out. Our beds were really comfy and all rooms lovely and warm and spotless. The front room is really cosy with comfortable sofas that are arranged in a very sociable manner. The owner very kindly left us a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates (nice touch) and was also very nice to communicate with. We all had a wonderful stay and will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel
Liked least: No on-suite
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing