We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, dog friendly & sticking to simple good basics” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppies Tearooms - CLOSED

Poppies Tearooms
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quiet, dog friendly & sticking to simple good basics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a rainy day in march. Said dogs welcome at manager discretion, so checked and the manager checked with all the other customers first-I thought this was a great thing to do. Yes we love dog friendly places but it showed real customer attention to those already paying. Lovely latte-nice & strong, not wishy washy. Shared the crumpets & they were brought on 2 plates so real attention to detail. Lovely & traditional. Embroidered table clothes, china tea cups. Other food been served looked nice. I like it when tea rooms stick to the basics and do it well of drinks, sandwiches & baked potatoes.
Friendly staff too. Worth veering just off the Main Street to have a rest in a peaceful relaxed tea room.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMarshall1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good Tearoom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Visited in late February. Group of 7. No one else in the tearoom. Service was good and friendly.
Food good. Nicely presented. A small, efficient, very pleasant tearoom. Serves glutten free menu also.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chump57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Okay, but wouldn't return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We called in one morning whilst in Pickering, and from the other excellent reviews we were a bit disappointed. We have been in quainter tea rooms, with nicer cakes and more competitive prices. My wife's pet hate is warmed up scones, and it seemed like these had been put in a microwave, and not really worth £1.60. Like the tile says, okay but wouldn't return

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neiljaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We called in for lunch as we were staying in Pickering for the night. The young waitress was very pleasant and amiable. Food was freshly cooked and very tasty and the price was reasonable. highly recommended

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampar, Perak, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Pretty nice food, I'd definitely come again :) Cosy environment. Affordable foods, Will definitely return to the place again :)

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies Tearooms also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing