We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yorkshire getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yorkshire getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Scotland. It was really quiet situated in the lovely town of Pickering. The room was comfortable and clean and the food was superb. The staff were really friendly and helpful with onward booking and we certainly enjoyed our night at this hotel. I can highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was lovely and quiet with views of the garden and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lzhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    109
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
219
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel and the service we were given. When I asked for a quiet room I was told that the one I had been allocated could be noisy that evening because of a function. The receptionist very kindly changed our room to a quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank MSF1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, Kent, Uk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Sadly, our reason for our visit was a family funeral. However, the hotel was fine, the bed very comfortable and the staff all very friendly.
There was a wedding reception on in the evening and, although it was in full swing, we did not hear a thing when we went bed. In the morning, when we came down for breakfast, we would not have known that there had been a wedding the night before. Everything was cleared up, swept up and dusted down. Your staff must have worked all through the night. Congratulations.
Sally and David Sherwood-Stares.







  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Forest and Vale is easy to find on the main Road from Malton and is only 2 minutes walk from Pickering town centre. I spent 3 nights at the hotel with my wife on a Monday to Thursday short break. The hotel is clean and appears to have been recently refurbished but still retains character. Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a large and pleasant garden. The room was a reasonable size with comfortable beds, clean and well maintained (as per rest of the hotel). The bathroom shower cubicle was a bit snug (I am 6'2) but OK.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. When booking they warned us that the twin we requested might be noisy (over kitchen) but the noise was not too intrusive and limited to breakfast / dinner time.
Breakfast was a standard cooked option with cereals etc. We did not eat a main evening meal at the hotel but the staff provided a good omelette when we requested a quick snack.
Pickering is a pleasant town and an excellent base for visiting east Yorks. If you like history this is a great place to visit. The town has a castle run by English Heritage, a Church with frescos dating to the middle ages (impressive) and a good museum. If you visit the church buy the guide, it is a bargain for £2. You can also take a train on the heritage North Yorks Moors railway to Whitby.
We found 2 good restaurants in town (I have posted review for Willowgate bistro) and plenty of decent places for tea and cakes

Room Tip: Recommend room at back looking onto garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakie_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Big thanks to Darren at the bar top lad just what you need!!! The stories the Service great. Also big thanks to Sara lovely girl sorted out everything we asked and the beans. Lol!!! puts in some hours too both of them. Maids the rooms were spot on. Thanks. Hopefully be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halsto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
17.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing