We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masonic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Masonic weekend”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous weekend here , the food on both Fri and Sat evening were great . The manager and staff were very helpful and polite , a special mention for Darren behind the bar who is more than pleasant and managed to keep everyone well lubricated throughout our stay . Highly recommend this venue .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pragerfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    111
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
63
233
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Since our first stay and the F & V back in 1996, and with at least one stay per year since then, the one thing that the hotel has maintained throughout that time is the friendliness of the staff, the fantastic food, the cleanliness of the hotel both in its public areas and bedrooms (You need sun glasses on when taking breakfast, the linen is SO white ) and the value for money.

We have stayed in a number of hotels over the last 12 month,(including a supposedly 5* one in Edinburgh) and none of them come near the F & V in any respect.

All the food is served piping hot, the breakfasts are especially good, really setting you up for the day, we don't need anything at lunch time, apart from a drink, then we are ready for dinner at night.

The menu is varied and covers most dietary needs.

I would really struggle to find fault, lovely fluffy bath towels, comfy beds, good food, really great
staff.

Cannot wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Bedrooms in the road side suffer from traffic noise early in the morning, try for one in the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Nice old building, nice decor in Superior rooms, friendly staff. Good central location in Pickering. Breakfast was average considering the price paid. If you book, make sure you ask them to turn the heating on your room before you arrive!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elloughton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Lovely friendly hotel, the special valentines menu was a real treat and the staff looked after us really well. Very comfy bed, room small but adequate, and everything we needed. Lots of good old fashioned touches missing from so many modern hotels - especially treating clients as people rather than numbers. Would definitely stay again, recommend asking for rooms overlooking the garden.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Booked this at the very last minute for a short break away. We arrived earlier than the check in time but were shown straight to our room. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room excellent quality and value for what we paid.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank 985angelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a couple of nights last week and must say we couldn't fault it, the room was lovely, clean and spacious, the food was excellent and the friendly staff couldn't do enough to help, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel it's self was well decorated, very clean and well kept.

We had a very enjoyable stay, we will be staying at this hotel again without a doubt.

Mr & Mrs Child. Leeds

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_child00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
222 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
515 reviews
17.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,045 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel

Property: Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing