We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Shevington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very accommodating”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived the experience was excellent. The Receptionist, concerned that being 6'6" might be a problem in the standard beds offered an upgrade to a large superior room overlooking the garden with an enormous and comfortable bed.
The restaurant menu wasn't extensive but the food we chose was good. Only downside was the bacon at breakfast was a little too 'crispy' for my liking.
Hotel is convenient for Pickering town centre and station for NYM railway which are a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    109
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
218
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Always a professional service from efficient helpful staff. We were advised that there was a wedding party on one evening of our stay, so we expected some noise, but we never heard a thing in our room - on past experience at most hotels, this is very unusual. The beds are super comfortable, decor is pleasing & nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheelaghrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here on the 20th april and everything was amazing. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The room had been set out and decorated beautiful. there helped everything run smoothly and went the extra length to make it perfect. The food was amazing and ever single guest couldn't find a fault. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was nice and the staff service was the same day and night faultless.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel lies just next to the center of Pickering. It has a really nice garden who are well kept.
When we first arrived the lady in the reception seemed like she had a really bad day - she seemed like she was the manager. The rooms are ok, but a bit out-dated and then there is the noice... oh my. From the hall you can hear everything and moreover from above you also can hear..everything! People going to the toilet or taking a bath like it was right next to you. The breakfast which we tried twice out of our 4 nights stay was incredibly booooring. The staff was ok, but the food..I know its England, the nation of dull food, but still.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the nicest places we have stayed in whilst travelling the UK, the room we had was very large & the bed was to die for, we ate dinner in the bar 2 nights out of the two we stayed because the service & food were excellent. I cant remember the name of the lovely lady on reception she was so helpful nothing was to much trouble, i remember her telling us she lives York way!! thank you once again for your hospitality & a great stay.... The very thankful Aussies!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helgarbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Two night stay in Pickering. First time at this hotel. We got a good deal from Best Western including breakfast,and the rooms were fine. Good location and facilities. Staff were very helpful too. Would recommend this hotel and will use it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

M and I have just returned from the Forest and Vale Hotel,Pickering from a 3 night stay, and cannot praise it enough. The hotel is exceptionally clean throughout, the dinner menu offers a good choice to suit most tastes and the quality and presentation of the food is first class. Breakfasts are cooked when ordered and are hot and plentiful, with again a good selection of dietary options. The hotel is extremely warm throughout, the beds are huge and very comfy.
For sunnier times the F & V has a lovely sun terrace for enjoying a drink/meal in the summer.
The staff are very friendly, and efficient ,nothing is too much trouble. We would recommend the F & V to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the large garden tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
210 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
17.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing