We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay, April 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Two night stay in Pickering. First time at this hotel. We got a good deal from Best Western including breakfast,and the rooms were fine. Good location and facilities. Staff were very helpful too. Would recommend this hotel and will use it again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 433 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

M and I have just returned from the Forest and Vale Hotel,Pickering from a 3 night stay, and cannot praise it enough. The hotel is exceptionally clean throughout, the dinner menu offers a good choice to suit most tastes and the quality and presentation of the food is first class. Breakfasts are cooked when ordered and are hot and plentiful, with again a good selection of dietary options. The hotel is extremely warm throughout, the beds are huge and very comfy.
For sunnier times the F & V has a lovely sun terrace for enjoying a drink/meal in the summer.
The staff are very friendly, and efficient ,nothing is too much trouble. We would recommend the F & V to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the large garden tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have eaten here on several occasions and experienced the restaurant and both eating areas in the bar.

The food is usually very good (only one meal has ever been disappointing) and the staff are excellent. The dining room is splendid, grand and with lovely views over the garden. The bar area is comfortable although some tables are draughty when hotel guests are using the bar door to access their rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaybrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

booked this hotel at the last minute and was really pleased with my choice. The hotel staff were very helpful, the food plentiful and super quality and the hotel accomodation very good. As it was the 1st of February the weather was poor and very cold but the hotel and its rooms were welcolming and warm. We will definately return and would recommend the hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank diane1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Got stopped by snow while travelling to Whitby on Friday 25 January 2013. Decided a night in Pickering was better then a night in the car on the moors. Arrived at The Forest & Vale to be greeted by a cheery receptionist who then showed us to an "executive" room in the old part of the hotel. Room was large, clean and very well appointed. Not quite what we'd planned but had a restful stay and then explored Pickering the next day when the hotel were really helpful regards checking which road were open. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will be returning for a planned stay shortly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Right from the initial phone call to book, this hotel was professional, helpful and friendly. The receptionist advised me of the best route to take due to the awful weather conditions (Google maps and BMW satnav suggested other routes which would have been much more difficult if not impossible in the heavy snow) On arrival we were greeted in a most welcoming manner, the receptionist knew who we were (lucky guess?) we were given a room upgrade to an Executive room an SHOWN TO THE ROOM. The room was very comfortable and beautifully furnished. Nice to see a decent sized TV rather than the postage stamp you get in a lot of other hotels. The staff in the lounge were very helpful and pleasant and the snack we had was well presented and very tasty. Breakfast the next morning was freshly cooked - NO SHRIVELLED UP BUFFET. The vegetarian breakfast I was served was the best I've had. Would we use this hotel again, ABSOLUTELY YES

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room in the hotel. The view of the garden is particularly nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

After a dreadful experience at the White Swan my friend and I went to the Forrest and Vale for something to eat. What a difference to the White Swan, we were greeted at the door by a smiling, yes I said smiling waitress, when I asked if we were too late for lunch, I was told absolutely not, we were seated in very comfortable surroundings and offered the menus, the service was excellent, the staff chatted to us and not each other, and not an inappropriate word escaped anyone's lips. The meal was superb and we were not rushed, the whole experience was delightful to say the least and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, in fact I have told my brother and his wife to stay here the next time they visit with their family. Well done the Forrest and Vale.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
541 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
155 reviews
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel

Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: $111 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing