We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a really nice hotel with friendly staff and in a good location. Good breakfast, lovely room especially the room with the free standing roll top bath in the bedroom! Really can't fault this hotel at all and its our second stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    109
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
219
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Forest & Vale for my husbands birthday before going on the Stream railway to Whitby. I booked an Executive room and we were upgraded to a Superior room with 4 poster bed and beautiful views of the garden. Fabulous bathroom. The staff were warm and friendly and the food was excellent. Would definately go back and tell friends about it.

Room Tip: ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed her 1 night with a group from work. We were made very welcome. Lovely hotel well located in Pickering town. Pretty gardens and a comfy bar area. My room at the back was superb. Great bed with a topper and soft pillows. No noise. Breakfast was fine and cooked to order.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Pound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a one night stop at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. The receptionist was great in dealing with our booking and it is not often you see the Manager welcoming you and making sure everything is fine for her guests.
We had a lovely large room at the back of the hotel overlooking the well maintained gardens with a large and well appointed bathroom.
We had a meal in the bar - the food was good and we loved the informal atmosphere.
This is a hotel that achieves very high standards and is one we definitely want to visit again for longer.
It is in a great location to explore the town of Pickering and the North Yorkshire Moors

Room Tip: I liked the room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBrown51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights,The hotel is in the town centre,but is a litle Oasis of Peace,A very pleasant garden,where you can have a coffee or drink. Wasnt disturbed by traffic noise. Very friendly staff,and good food.It is agood central hotel for exploring the N. Yorkshire Moors A Bonus was the visit of the Olympic Flame. We enjoyed a very comfortable stay,and would stay again

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BalderdashSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is lovely, the room was a small but it was clean and well presented, as we where only staying one night it was fine, but if we had been staying longer it might have been a little bit of a squash. Ate our evening meal in the bar on the Friday night which was good, although I do get very frustrated when ordering a Pimms and they give you a measure of 25ml when it should be 50ml, that’s the official measure!
Breakfast was ok, in a large room but on a very small table for two, not a massive choice but enough. One thing that bugs me and they did it here, was that they had clean bedding and towels on the floor in the corridor on the morning, firstly I think that’s the floor which we all walk on and secondly put it on a trolley with a cover so its out of sight and tidy, really hate seeing clean and dirty laundry on the floor in corridors of hotels! On a positive note to end, the service was friendly and very welcoming at the reception and for breakfast. If you want it as a base to sightsee, I would make sure you are getting a good size room!

Room Tip: asked for a larger room if staying more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onlinebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Pickering. Most of the rooms overlook the lovely gardens and there is no disturbance from outside noise. The superior rooms, particularly 1 and 6, are well worth the extra money. Staff are extremely friendly and efficient and the food is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 6 are larger and overlook the garden. They also have plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
17.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing