We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal, attentive staff, lovely surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice meal, attentive staff, lovely surroundings.”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We went here on New Years Day for a meal in the evening. We had tried to get in the White Swan but it was fully booked and they suggested here. We both had pate and haddock. Both courses very nice. The staff were very courteous and the decor is lovely. Only 2 other parties were in the bar - table of 4 having a bar meal same as ourselves and a party of 4 that then were taken through to the restaurant. Would go again as food good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettieNooD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    109
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
222
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We were staying in Pickering the weekend before Christmas, thought we might have trouble find places to eat that time of year, we booked a table at the Forest of Vale, when we arrived there was only another party of six in, this should have told use something! the menu was very short not a lot of choice, the restaurant menu had much the same choices as the bar menu but inc. coffee and chocs.
The food was very avarage, nothing special, we had soup and a pate and both of us had loin of pork, the port was not freshly cooked and covered in gravy! I ordered apple crumble when it arrived it was just apples and custard (£5.50) no sign of any crumble, I sent it back, and a refund was given.
Very disappointing for our Xmas treat!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Nothing was to much trouble and my 5 year old was treated like a princess all the time we were there when a bird flew in the window they were quick to sort every thing out can't wait for my next stay all so thanks to all the staff for making my mum and dads party full of wonderful memory

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwall, Malvern,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Four of us met for Sunday lunch at the Forest and Vale Hotel at Pickering. Despite the foggy miserable day, the staff were chatty and cheerful and made us feel very welcome. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. We had all three courses and enjoyed everything. The starters and puds in particular were superb. It was very reasonably priced with a set price for three courses and coffee. Tip for the ladies - visit the restrooms to see the wallpaper - very tactile! Overall, this hotel was an excellent choice for a meal and we heartily recommend it. Will try staying overnight if we get the chance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Warm welcome and attentive staff for a recent family meal. Good quality Sunday lunch style cuisine - the best roast potatoes I have ever tasted!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WineDineMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had stayed at this hotel just over a year ago and were visiting the area again and decided we would return. I rang the day before to see if we could have early check in and was told this should be possible. When we arrived we received a warm and friendly welcome and were given the same room that we had stayed in on our last visit. It's a good size room and there are two chairs for relaxing (something you don't get everywhere.) There is hi speed internet access in all rooms but wifi only in the public rooms. We ate in the bar as past experience we had found the meals in the dining room too large. There is a reasonable choice on the set bar menu and always some specials too. We had an excellent breakfast and overall, although a short stay a pleasant one and we would certainly stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread over a number of different locations and access to some involve quite steep sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We booked 2 nights DB&B £123.00 per night with a food allowance of £26.00 pp for ourselves and my husbands parents as a birthday treat for his mum. Stayed in 2 rooms on the ground floor in the newer part of the hotel. Rooms nice and clean and plenty of hot water which is always a bonus, the lighting in the room was not fantastic but not really a major issue. The main part of the hotels public areas decoration is jaded and needs updating although very clean.

The food in the restaurant on the first night was ok with what I would describe as an out-of-date menu, but the second night was not so good and no manager present to complain to as I think it was his night off, the main courses were overcooked and the chips were definately recycled. Maybe this is why we were the only 4 people eating in there on both nights! Breakfast was not too bad and the usual menu choice.

The drinks from the hotel bar were expensive but I think they can be in a few hotels and restaurants. Would maybe stay again but on a B&B basis and if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieCOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
17.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel

Property: Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing