We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly BEST Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed on Friday & Saturday night as B&B for a family wedding. Staff were great for the wedding and could not fault the wedding catering and hospitality, but.......

Shower over bath with no hope of getting head under the shower head.

Hot room as could not turn off radiators and windows could not be
left open as road outside.

Breakfast underwhelming for price of room. £130 Special wedding rate??

Great location for town & Steam railway from Pikkering station to North Yorkshire moors.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidhorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 426 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed in the garden wing in a very comfortable room with a fantastic bathroom. Couldn't fault the room, the service or the friendliness of the staff: breakfast was tasty, served quickly, with a good choice. Lots of parking and easy to get to.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliotF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Elegant old building in a central location in a busy market town. Outstandingly attentive service with fine attention to detail. Large, attractive well-maintained room (with 4-poster). Particulalry liked "no problem" attitude to various requets. Only minor didlike was longish wlak to car park.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evallonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Good points include central location in Pickering, attractive building, huge room (superior type), cleanliness, free WiFi and friendliness of staff.

On the down side, food is lacklustre generic foodservice stuff, the huge superior room had only a tiny desk (no good for work) and two single beds pushed together (leaving a hard ridge down the centre of the bed), the service (although consistently friendly and well-meaning) borders on the awkward at times. The bar is tiny, within limited seating space and overall, value for money is questionable.

Overall - almost good!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel was a wonderful surprise. The staff were very kind and helpful and the rooms were furnished to a very high standard.

We had a very comfortable stay and many of my colleagues took cards with the intention of staying in a private capacity at a later date.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Hotel was clean as was my room. Problem with toilet that was sorted promptly. Arrived late on my first night and as I missed my inclusive dinner they still prepared me some food. The quality of the food was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digriff828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed here one night only (sat 2nd Oct) as a B&B deal. Booked late, arrived about 7pm, parked up (raining again!) signed in, had drinks & bar snack (cheese selection) to eat, then bed. Up earlyish sunday morning and off sightseeing again !
So, not a deal to get too worked up over, but enough to say we'd go back there again. Lovely beer at the bar. Friendly & helpful staff. Lovely comfy bed, pillows etc. Clean room. Good breakfast available, not over expensive - just a nice refreshing stopover. Well done Carol (on reception) you have a nice team working there.
Niggles ? noisy fan in the bathroom (room 15) if you turned the light on. But can't think of anything else really.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
254 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
532 reviews
17.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,095 reviews
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel

Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: $128 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing