We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely base from which to explore a lovely part of Britain”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 17 Burgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
17 Burgate
Ranked #18 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A lovely base from which to explore a lovely part of Britain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Everything about 17 Burgate was lovely, from the well-equipped and scrupulously clean rooms, house and garden to the personal and friendly service. The location was ideal for exploring Pickering or travelling by car. Breakfast was tasty with a good amount of choice - if I was being really picky I would have liked baked beans with the cooked breakfast or maybe a veggie sausage as i don't eat meat, but i am being really picky as there was plenty for me to choose from. Pat and William have obviously taken a great deal of time and care to make 17 Burgate such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, July 17, 2010
Thanks for your prompt review and kind comments, especially pleasing given how well you know the area and its places to stay.
We do have veggie sausages and baked beans available and we should have picked up on this from your order and ensured the young lady with us on work experience asked the question.
Look forward to seeing you again on future visits to what you ,quite rightly , say is a lovely area with much to see and do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
137
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights last year - a lovely place to stay, with a touch of luxury but still cosy and homely. Room (16) very clean and nicely decorated / equipped. Breakfast of a high standard and nicely served. We tried to book again this year but it was full on the nights we required - would not hesitate to go back in future. Nicely located for North Yorks attractions.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juls63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Thanks for your review and very sorry we couldn't do the dates required this year. An amazing percentage of our business is returners and we do always offer them the best deals available. Please keep checking the website for deals and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We met up with friends for a two night stay at 17 Burgate and could not have been made more welcome. The hotel owners are friendly and extremely helpful when asked for guidance, where to eat, where to go for the day and even which town to call at on our journey home. The hotel is perfect for a relaxing break. We all highly recommend 17 Burgate and will return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

Excellent hospitality from Pat & Will, a really enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to reccomend as a place to stay in Pickering.

Lovely room, food and best of all service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

This is our second trip to 17 Burgate- and we'll be hoping not to leave it so long before going back again. The accommodation is delightful- spacious and comfortable, with all the nice little extras that really make a special stay. William and Pat are extremely good hosts, friendly and helpful, happy to make time for their guests, but are not overbearing. Would absolutely recommend for a relaxing break in beatiful surroundings. to William as he was having a litle flurry of orders!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lime47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

A quick review after a delightful stay at 17 Burgate. We found William to be the perfect host. I would certainly recommend this B&B to anybody visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

We booked at the last minute and were only able to get one night here - we really didn't want to leave. We stayed in room 14. It had a very comfortable bed and pillows and a large bathroom. Standards of cleanliness excellent. Breakfast delicious - the food is locally sourced.

I think that the owners struck the right balance with their hospitality - friendly and very helpful, yet unobtrusive.

The accommodation is in a quiet location, but a very easy stroll to the town centre. By the way, we would also recommend a curry at "Spice 4 U" located on the main road through Pickering.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linc0lnlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
Thank you for your review and sorry we were already full for the second night you wanted.
Hope we will see you again as returners.
Have you posted a review of Spice4U? Sure they would welcome it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#16 of 49 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#10 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden House B&B
Eden House B&B
#8 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Burgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Burgate

Property: 17 Burgate
Address: 17 Burgate, Pickering YO18 7AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 17 Burgate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star Gold Award winning Town House B and B in attractive North Yorkshire Market Town. Ideal for North Yorkshire Moors, coast, York and historic sites. Luxury accommodation, bar and lounge, secluded patio garden, fluffy towels and robes, afternoon tea, spa cosmetics, Wi-Fi enabled, locally sourced produce for breakfast. Winner of Best Guest Accommodation category at the 2010 White Rose Regional Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your 17 Burgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Burgate Hotel Pickering
17 Burgate Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing