We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Stay”
Review of 17 Burgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
17 Burgate
Ranked #15 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 Star Stay”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our second visit and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend 17 Burgate to anyone looking for an intimate break for 2. We stayed for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary and I was delighted to find the most beautiful bouquet of flowers and champagne on ice on our arrival ( requested by my husband) The rooms are spacious and extremely well appointed with careful attention to detail - Egyptian cotton bedding, luxury toiletries, etc which make leaving the room to explore the surrounding area a challenge. Afternoon tea and cake is a lovely touch. The breakfast is delicious. Locally sourced produce, homemade marmalade and porridge which is the best I've ever tasted. Recommendations for trips, walks, local restaurants can be sourced in abundance from the owners and nothing is too much trouble. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudapada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Can only say thank you so much for your review. So glad you enjoyed the visit for your special occassion and look forward to future trips to this fantastic area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
141
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seascale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend break and had a lovely time in this excellent little establishment. The building, welcome, bedroom, breakfast, and facilities all far exceeded our expectations (Which were very high!) What a wonderful place, what a wonderful weekend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carpets40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Loved your comment in our visitors book-"Perfect in all ways" so kind of you.
Thanks for review and so glad you enjoyed your birthday weekend.
See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in Pickering for Valentine's Day and had an excellent stay at 17 Burgate. The owner's are extremely friendly and welcoming (tea and cake on arrival!) and everything is to a very high standard. The room's are spacious and comfortable and well furnished. We have stayed in several hotels in the area before and this is well worth the visit. We would also recommend a meal in the White Swan which was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It is always good to get such feedback from people who know the area and have stayed elsewhere. Hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at 17 Burgate on New Year's Eve and I must say the hotel exceeded our expectations. The property has a boutique feel about it and we felt most at home from the minute we arrived. We'd spent the day walking in nearby Dalby Forrest so to be offered tea and cake on arrival was a lovely touch. We stayed in Room 16 which was a quiet room, cosy decor, a large, light and airy bathroom, a lovely comfy bed too. What made it stand out was the attention to detail from the Caffetiere in the room, Egyptian cotton sheets to the good quality soaps and creams in the bathroom - chain hotels normally go for the cheap brands here. Breakfast was delicious, lots of choice - we went for the full english which was lovely as was the home made marmalade. We didn't use the garden with it being Winter but I can imagine on a warmer day guests would enjoy sitting outside enjoying their tea in this lovely walled garden. I wouldn't have any hesitation at all in recommending this hotel and this is coming from me who has very high standards!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeinSheffield790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your short stay at 17 and thank you for your lovely comment in "Visitors Book". You clearly enjoy our wonderful piece of Yorkshire and the outdoor opportunities so we look forward to seeing you again as Returners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbingtoN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here twice recently and had a wonderful stay on both occasions. We intended to stay one night, loved it and stayed for two.We enjoyed the area and our stay so much we came back four weeks later. Comfy beds, delicious food and fantastic hosts......We love it!
Anne and James

Room Tip: Have stayed in 3 different rooms and all were superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Good to see you again and thanks for the lovely review. We look forward to visits in 2013. Love you concluding line-says it all about what we strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at 17 Burgate for three nights and everything was perfect. The B&B is faultless and the owners are perfectionists. The service was brilliant and the owners are keen to make your stay memorable. It is in a quiet street with off street parking off the back lane. It is a walk to everything. The only problem was that the wifi was not perfect in every room but worked well downstairs in the common areas. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staytruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Brilliant!!-our assessment of your review-thank you so much. We are aware of the odd dead spot with our free wi-fi around the house and will try to improve the situation. Look forward to your next visit as a member of the Returners Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We first found 17 Burgate on a return trip from Edinburgh. Its always daunting trying somewhere new however this was one occasion where w were pleasantly suprised. On arrival we were met by the owner and shown to our room, all the features of the accomodation,room bathroom etc. were fully explained. The room and furnsishings we're excllen and the bathroom a great place to relax after a long day out.

A nice touch while we setteled in to our room, the owner laid tea / coffee and cake out for us in the lounge just by a welcoming log burner.....what a treat.

The overall experience of Burgate is one where you are made to treat it as your own and relax.

Its ben so good we've since taken friends back to Burgate for a two day break.

Well done to the team at 17 Burgate.

Clive & Viv

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you Clive and congratulations on being our 100th TA review. Looking forward to a return visit from the gang using your returners cards. It is always especially pleasing when guests really relax into 17 like your friends did
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#14 of 46 in Pickering
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden House B&B
Eden House B&B
#8 of 46 in Pickering
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Burgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Burgate

Property: 17 Burgate
Address: 17 Burgate, Pickering YO18 7AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 17 Burgate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star Gold Award winning Town House B and B in attractive North Yorkshire Market Town. Ideal for North Yorkshire Moors, coast, York and historic sites. Luxury accommodation, bar and lounge, secluded patio garden, fluffy towels and robes, afternoon tea, spa cosmetics, Wi-Fi enabled, locally sourced produce for breakfast. Winner of Best Guest Accommodation category at the 2010 White Rose Regional Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your 17 Burgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Burgate Hotel Pickering
17 Burgate Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing