We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 17 Burgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
17 Burgate
Ranked #18 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at 17 Burgate for three nights and everything was perfect. The B&B is faultless and the owners are perfectionists. The service was brilliant and the owners are keen to make your stay memorable. It is in a quiet street with off street parking off the back lane. It is a walk to everything. The only problem was that the wifi was not perfect in every room but worked well downstairs in the common areas. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staytruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Brilliant!!-our assessment of your review-thank you so much. We are aware of the odd dead spot with our free wi-fi around the house and will try to improve the situation. Look forward to your next visit as a member of the Returners Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
137
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We first found 17 Burgate on a return trip from Edinburgh. Its always daunting trying somewhere new however this was one occasion where w were pleasantly suprised. On arrival we were met by the owner and shown to our room, all the features of the accomodation,room bathroom etc. were fully explained. The room and furnsishings we're excllen and the bathroom a great place to relax after a long day out.

A nice touch while we setteled in to our room, the owner laid tea / coffee and cake out for us in the lounge just by a welcoming log burner.....what a treat.

The overall experience of Burgate is one where you are made to treat it as your own and relax.

Its ben so good we've since taken friends back to Burgate for a two day break.

Well done to the team at 17 Burgate.

Clive & Viv

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you Clive and congratulations on being our 100th TA review. Looking forward to a return visit from the gang using your returners cards. It is always especially pleasing when guests really relax into 17 like your friends did
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Really lovely comfortable room which lacked for nothing. Helpful and attentive service - nothing too much trouble. Excellent breakfast with good choice, particularly liked being able to choose between smoked or unsmoked bacon ( it's these seeminlgy small things that make all the difference).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hope your journey home was uneventful and thanks for your kind comments. The small differences are important and it is great when they are appreciated. Look forward to seeing you as Returners in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
239 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights in this boutique B&B and only wished it could have been for longer.
17 Burgate is situated in the centre of Pickering only a few moments’ walk from the main high street but does have its own private car park behind the house with ample parking. On arrival we were greeted by Will and shown our room. The communal areas were immaculately kept.
Our room, room 14, was a studio room with a lovely wrought iron tester bed and a small sofa. We had a nice bathroom with a bath with power shower and the room had good facilities. Will offered us tea, coffee and cake in the hotels sitting room which we enjoyed after unpacking, the cake was particular lovely. Will was a nice and helpful host giving us insight into the local area. We also like the fact that the sitting room had a honesty bar if you fancied a drink after a meal out which was lovely touch. It was nice place just to grab a drink and read the papers or have a chat. There were also plenty of leaflets available about the local area.
Breakfast both mornings was excellent a great choice of hot dishes which I like. The smoke salmon and scrambled egg was my favourite but my husband did also enjoy the full English. It’s nice that everything is locally sourced and I really enjoyed the fresh fruit and the lovely preserves.
Our room was very well kept, clean and comfortable and the B&B has a lovely relaxed feel to it which is perfect when away.

We enjoyed trips to Robin Hoods Bay which was beautiful and took the steam train from Pickering to Whitby which we really enjoyed. We even paid the extra on the steam train and upgraded to first class for an extra £3.50 each, which is worth it to have a cabin to ourselves. Although the steam train wasn’t cheap (£22.50 each) it was worth it for something different to do and the scenery was lovely. In Whitby we ate at the Magpie Café and had amazing fish and chips, although the portions were huge. We also really enjoyed a drink in the Duke of York as well as it had amazing views across Whitby.

Pickering is a small market town which has everything you need and is pleasant. We did struggle on the Sunday evening as we only wanted a small meal and the Indian restaurants seemed the only places open. We ended up in the black swan which was ok but I wouldn’t highly recommend the food, I believe the Station also does food (just pub grub) but we didn’t try it but had a drink in there and it was pleasant enough. I do wish now we had tried the White Swan for food as although it’s more expensive when we went for a drink it was lovely cosy pub.

We really enjoyed our time in Pickering and especially at the 17 Burgate and would happily go back. The service we received was attentive but not over the top and the B&B was immaculately kept with a cosy and relaxed feeling, having the lounge area with the bar was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 14 which was romantic with a tester bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review-not just of 17 Burgate but also of what you did and enjoyed on your North Yorkshire visit. It is so helpful when guests take the time to do this and we are sure it is of huge benefit to others planning to spend time in our wonderful corner of God's Own County.
We look forward to welcoming you again as Returners in the not too distant future and once again your kind comments are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My Partner and I have just returned from a lovely long weekend in North Yorkshire. I was originally recommended a different B&B, which happened to be full on the weekend we wanted to go, so I thought I would give 17 Burgate a try, and I am so glad we did. From the minute we walked in we were greeted by Pat and Will who were lovely hosts and brilliant breakfast cooks. We thought we would splash the cash and stay in Room 11 Junior Suite, and that did not fail impress. We were shown our room and I immediately thought "ahh this is heaven for a weekend". The 6ft Latex bed was so comfortable and give us both a fantastic night sleep. The sunken bath was a feature I wasn't expecting but again was very lovely. I cannot recommend this accommodation enough. I have been diagnosed with Coeliac Disease (Wheat and Gluten Free Diet) since I was 15 months old. Pat and Will catered for this very well offering me Gluten Free cakes on arrival which is very rare and my own Gluten Free toast at Breakfast. I was truly spoilt. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalou0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and really pleased you enjoyed your stay at 17. Always good when guests mention the details that have really impressed them -think the bed in11 is becoming a bit of a secret weapon. We look forward to a return visit when hopefully you will be able to make use of a Returners offer. It is especially pleasing to know that 17 delivers for younger guests like yourselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night stay at 17 Burgate. From the minute we walked in we were very well looked after. When we arrived we were offered tea and cake which was very nice.
We stayed in rooms 14 and 16 and the rooms are very nice and comfy and had everything you need. They even had an iPod dock with speakers.
Breakfast menu was excellent with plenty to choose from and the marmalade was home made and very very nice.
The B&B is situated just off the main shopping street in Pickering so it's location is excellent.
It's easy to see why this B&B has won so many awards and we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nielpeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review.It is good to know that 17 can meet the needs of a family group. We look forward to repeat visits when hopefully you can benefit from our Returners Offers. You clearly enjoyed your visit to our wonderful part of North Yorkshire and there is so much to see and do within a half hours drive. Trust you are enjoying the marmalade!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just spent a night at 17 Burgate for a trip to celebrate my husband's 40th Birthday. The owners were very friendly and helpful as it was the first time we had visited the area. Our room was fabulous with a very comfy kingsize bed and a lovely big bathroom complete with bathrobes. The breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. I have stayed in a number of 4 and 5 star hotels and this was just as good if not better! We will definitely be visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyinternational2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We don't often get guests posting on TA the day they leave-thank you so much for that. Your kind words are very welcome and we look forward to your first visit as Returners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#16 of 49 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#8 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden House B&B
Eden House B&B
#10 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Burgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Burgate

Property: 17 Burgate
Address: 17 Burgate, Pickering YO18 7AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 17 Burgate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star Gold Award winning Town House B and B in attractive North Yorkshire Market Town. Ideal for North Yorkshire Moors, coast, York and historic sites. Luxury accommodation, bar and lounge, secluded patio garden, fluffy towels and robes, afternoon tea, spa cosmetics, Wi-Fi enabled, locally sourced produce for breakfast. Winner of Best Guest Accommodation category at the 2010 White Rose Regional Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your 17 Burgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Burgate Hotel Pickering
17 Burgate Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing