We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Swan Inn
Nearby Hotels
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
$139
$111
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveler rating
494
158
42
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
494
158
42
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshideaway roomginger pighonesty barvintage roommain buildingkedgereewine bar next doorhomemade biscuitsbelly porkresidents loungecosy barcomfy sofasunderfloor heatingfish and chipsopen firebirthday treatthe north yorkshire moors railway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 723 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A group of us who were shooting at the wonderful Wykeham Estate near Scarborough stayed at the White Swan on Monday 20th January. Pickering is a beautiful market town on the edge of the North York Moors. The welcome we received at the White Swan was very warm indeed. The bar is small and full of character. We thoroughly enjoyed private dining and the gourmet food in the recently redecorated bothy. A perfect stay in an extremely comfortable hotel. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to those looking for wonderful food and good but unobtrusive service in a location on the edge of some of our most stunning countryside.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank WoodD1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed with friends,between Christmas and New Year. Booked the Hideaway rooms which were very quite and comfortable. Made use of The Bothy, a sort of Lounge away from the main Hotel, having an honesty bar and,coffee along with an open fire and papers,very relaxing.
Evening meal,good quality along with very good service from a delightful young waitress who had a very good attitude,and made us feel very welcome.
Breakfast was very good,usual cereal along with a cooked option.
Had a couple of minor niggles which were dealt with extremely efficiently, by a truly professional manageress,Catherine.
Not having been here before would definitely return with friends again,this time for longer.
Overall I think the staff from reception to the bar and restaurant deserve a pat on the back for a very professional approach.

Room Tip: Hideaway Rooms very comfortable
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chingford13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

For my birthday and our tenth anniversary, and with our dozy, blind old poodle in tow, we set about looking for a dog-friendly night away, with a touch of luxury.

Hours of browsing the net, and we decided that the White Swan (an historic coaching inn) appeared to offer everything. If you want a corporately-identical chain hotel, then this is not for you, but if you’re after a little sinful indulgence and a dollop of real period charm, then read on.

We booked one of the contemporary newer rooms in the converted stables (Hideaway Rooms), as these rooms can accommodate dogs and their humans. The rooms have a car park right by them, and are accessed via a tiled spacious porch, where you can leave muddy boots etc. A complimentary brolly to loan is handy. This has motion-sensored lighting for going in and out by dark. Outside was a table and chairs in a private, screened area.

We found our room extremely spacious and very well-equipped; everything was of an immaculate standard, from (feather-filled) bedding and fluffy thick towels, to toiletries and an honesty mini-bar. The bed was very comfortable, and this combined with a very comfy easy chair and footstool, demanded an afternoon snooze. The slate floors look lovely and are very practical with a dog. The under-floor heating is magnificent; and can be controlled by the room thermostat. The heating system means that the dog has a very warm bed on the floor! The tea and coffee-making facilities are tucked away in a drawer, and are plentiful, with a jar of homemade cookies – a nice touch. Free Wi-Fi is a great bonus, and we had a great signal on the upper level. There is a good desk area, should someone need to use a laptop. Complimentary reading matter in the form of magazines and a fun (and informative) hotel guide kept me busy for an hour. The house-keeping is to be commended.

The spacious bathroom is outstanding - no other way to describe it. A large, deep bath, with lovely toiletries, retro white tiling, contemporary sink/toilet and fittings, all good. The large, tiled, walk-in rain shower is the best my partner has ever experienced (and he’s a shower- aficionado!). Lovely heavy, soft towels (have I already mentioned them?) and matching bathrobes are provided.

Now to our evening meal. We were aware that dogs could not be accommodated in the restaurant (not a problem, as there were other options), and were offered a choice of bar or lounge in which to dine. We opted for the lounge at check-in (sounds quieter than a bar), sight unseen. The batty, blind old poodle is better in a quiet environment. In the event, nowhere was raucous, but this turned out to be a good choice. The lounge is a lovely room, with a roaring period log fire and wood panelling, a comfy sofa, a couple of armchairs and a couple of tables. We were set up with a dining experience in the bay window, and what a treat this was. She had plenty room to be accommodated, and we had a view of the main street – we like to watch the world go by. I must highlight the G ‘n’ T – what a revelation. It’s down to a good gin and a masterpiece of a tonic water called Fentimans (a new one on me)!

The service was really friendly and welcoming (thanks Ryan and co. for ensuring we return home with a dog who now believes she is royalty!), and whilst great service, it wasn’t at all stiff and formal. Fantastic food. Great local meats. My partner enjoyed the Levisham lamb very much (and chicken, I have to say, doesn’t always get done this much justice!) and a mean Crème Brulee, and fine wines. Luxury and quality don’t come cheap, but we think that our choice hit the nail on the head for a very special occasion for us.

Breakfast, by the way, was had in the same lounge area, with madam accompanying, and this was much appreciated again. Lovely breakfast!

Only regret – not being able to thank everyone enough personally, so a massive than you from the three of us (especially Pippa). 5* staff team all round – hospitality at its best!

Now when will a national broadsheet pay me to do this for a living??

Room Tip: For the ultimate in dog-friendliness, choose a room in the converted stables (access straight outside and slate floors)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twixtthepennines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Good food lovely atmosphere I would go there again. Can be a bit noisy and crowded in the bar during shooting season. Restaurant in the back not as warm and comfy as the two rooms in the front of the pub. We were seated near the service door that banged open all the time in this back room. Anyway the bacon chop was wonderful as well as the sticky toffee pudding for dessert. I would recommend this eatery as very good value for the money








Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've been coming to the White Swan for 8 years now and it never disappoints. The service is extremely good and designed to make your stay as relaxing as possible - every time we need a break to unwind we choose the White Swan

The restaurant is a real treat - local food, unfussy but imaginative and very well executed. The wine list and real ales are a great accompaniment. I always head to the bar ahead of the meal and for a nightcap if we're not dining in the restaurant.

The rooms are very nicely appointed and the beds are something else - don't plan any early mornings, you'll not want to get out of them!

Location is great, Pickering is a lovely little market town with the added attraction of the NYM steam railway. It is a lovely town for a walk around, there are some nice pubs and cafe's - it really is the gateway to the moors.

I know this is a glowing review but I can't find anything to complain about over the half a dozen times we've stayed and the latest stay (3 couples) in October was as good as ever. It is really hard maintaining this standard over a long period of time but the White Swan is managing it. It deserves all the good reviews it gets. Love the place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews