We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Really Enjoyed the White Swan”
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent five nights at the White Swan at the end of April, and enjoyed the experience. We stayed in a Hideaway room, and made a good bit of use of the Bothy - the customer lounge across from the Hideaway rooms. (If it is important for you, we found that WiFi coverage did not extend to the Hideaway rooms on the lower level, but it is a quick walk to the Bothy where you receive full coverage.) We used Pickering as a base to explore north Yorkshire. We spent a day on the coast, visiting Scarborough and Whitby, and another day at the disappointing Castle Howard. One day we drove to Malton and took the train into York for a day of exploring. Our favorite excursion was the day we spent at Rievaulx Abbey and Helmsley Castle - just wonderful.

We really enjoyed our two dinners at the White Swan, and we had a very nice Indian meal at Cilantro, just across the road from the hotel. We were not as impressed with our dinner at nearby Figaro.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayo Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and I am really glad that you enjoyed your holiday in Yorkshire. You were right about the wi-fi coverage not being strong enough in those rooms but last week we had two new aerials fitted at vast cost so now I can safely say that all our rooms have 5 bar wi-fi strength with download speeds of up to 19mbs which we think makes us the fastest hotel for miles.

I hope that we will see you again soon.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 700 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently stayed at The White Swan for a long weekend. We stayed in one of the rooms away from the main building, they are clean and comfortable and provide everything you could need. Breakfast is excellent a full range of cooked meals to cereals and fruit. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We only had one evening meal at the hotel when we had friends visit us, the food was excellent and well received by all. The icing on the cake was the availability of a large room away from the restaurant with comfortable chairs and settees where we retired to after we had finished eating, the staff brought over our coffee and drinks and checked on us even though we were away from the restaurant. A great trip which we will be repeating.

Room Tip: The Hideaway rooms are apart from the main buildings, less than 2 minutes across the courtyard, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statistical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your really kind review and I'm glad we looked after you and your friends. The Bothy is a fairly recent addition and was designed with just what you used it for in mind - although we do sometimes use it for private parties so it is always worth checking. Do come again soon.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Really enjoyed our few nights in this hotel. We were given a warm welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff... one of the cleaning ladies even offered to do s bit of washing for us (as there was no laundrette nearby)!! The food - especially breakfast - was good, although we ate out at night. Pickering is a lovely old town with a great selection of restaurants within walking distance ... a fantastic Chinese just around the corner.. some rather nice 'bijou' boutiques, and easy access to lots of tourist spots - including the North Yorkshire Moors Railway (steam trains). Our room (No 20 in the annex) was warm and clean with a nice bathroom and shower, and underfloor heating. The guests' lounge (where you can get wifi reception, and free hot drinks) is a nice touch, too. We would definitely recommend The White Swan to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondielikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your great review and I'm pleased you enjoyed Pickering as well as the White Swan. I guess that from your address you won't be an all that frequent visitor but haste ye back nonetheless! I hope you are not too upset about the cricket and the rugby! (it makes a refreshing change for us to win something)

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just come home from a fantastic weekend away. This is the first time I have given feedback to anything but I felt compelled to write a review. My husband and I stayed in room 22 in the courtyard which was a refurbished room. This was spotless and had every home comfort you could think of. (candles when having a bath, I praised my husband for being so thoughtful!)

We ate in the restaurant on Friday my husband had the best cooked steak he has ever tasted I had the sea bream which was very enjoyable.
The staff were friendly and very attentive though out our stay. The manager and duty manager made our stay very special . I cant recommend this hotel high enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertsThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Weekends away are precious and if we were the catalyst for you having a lovely break then so much the better. Thank you for your kind first review and we hope to see you both again soon.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend in Ryedale, North Yrkshire. Pickering is well placed for trips out across the North Yorkshire moors and to the East coast. The White Swan has everything you need for a comfortable short stay. We were in room 19, a short walk across the courtyard from the main building. Very comfortable and clean, nice bathroom, good facilities - home baked ginger biscuits a nice touch. A shared entrance is a bit of a problem if you have noisy neighbours like ours. Impossible to get more than one channel on the tv.
The food was generally very good - a starter of (dry) black pudding and a scallop cut in half to make it look like two was expensive for what it was. Followed by delicious belly pork with red cabbage and apple and creamy mash - perfect. Second night the rib eye with chips, bernaise and mushroom (just one) was also excellent - a few more mushrooms and it would be even better!
Breakfasts are good - a nice selection of hot and cold choices - excellent sausages!
Special mention to Catherine in front of house - really friendly, happy and helpful - just makes you feel good as you start or end your day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thanks for your great review and your constructive criticism. Your point is taken on the hand dived scallop dish and we have already changed it. With the steak the mushroom is a garnish and we list a host of side dishes for one to chose from so we haven't changed that although it should be a big field mushroom in future. All the TVs have freeview so apologies if there was a problem with yours and we should have sorted it for you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Ups and downs for me here. Our room was large and well fitted out, but had a lot of scuffed walls that could have been tidied up easily. There were also fluffy rugs on the floor which I cant see how can be kept clean with people walking over them in shoes. The only lighting in the room came from the bedside lights, so at night the room was dull. The bathroom was excellent though. There seemed to be some staff issues on a Saturday afternoon, as we saw more than a few people walk away, as they didnt find anyone to serve in the bar, but there were 3 chatting in the reception office. As I said, a mixed bag.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orangytangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your review and I appreciate the heads up about staff loitering in reception. We addressed this as an issue at the time of your posting and I hope it is now one more thing we get right. You mentioned the fluffy rugs but they are vacuumed in exactly the same way as a carpet would be so we feel they are perfectly clean (but perhaps not to everyone's taste). Apologies if some of the walls were scuffed. We have a regular rota of painting and decorating and a full time handyman (Frank) so this also will/ has been addressed.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our second visit to this lovely hotel. We stayed in the main hotel building this time and the only issue was the noise from the bar next door. Im sure doudle glazing would help?
Everything else about a stay here is 1st class. The whole hotel has a real quality feel about. I cant wait to stay again, a lovely hotel in a beuatiful place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your repeat business and your kind review. The bar next door does occasionally cause us a few noise issues but really not very often. Our Hideaway rooms at the back of the hotel are aptly named and are very quiet considering we are in the centre of a busy town. Perhaps you might like to try one of those next time. Let us know and we look forward to your third visit soon.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,166 reviews
11.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: $175 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing