We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the North Yorkshire Moors”
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Jewel in the North Yorkshire Moors”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you want a restful and indulgent stay in a very good Inn in one of the most attractive small towns in North Yorkshire, then look no further. The White Swan is a delight: tastefully and traditionally decorated with a contemporary edge. Roaring fires in all the public rooms where you can sit and read the papers and welcoming and well-trained friendly staff make this a truly special place with high standards. Exceptional food, beautifully presented, locally sourced. The famous Ginger Pig pork, sausages and bacon are on the menu.. (the only place outside London where you can enjoy it we are told). Rooms are a choice of contemporary/traditional and are extremely comfortable with White Company linen, although ours was quite snug. This was our second stay in 4 months and we enjoyed their winter special offer which was extremely good value. The North Yorkshire Moors Railway was sadly not running, but we drove to Whitby instead and came back over the moors via Rosedale. We did not find Dracula, but there is much to see and do in the area, even in January. We will be back again soon. Yorkshire is God's own Country and we love its 'real' people.

Room Tip: Might try room 2 with a bigger bed quietly overlooking the rear or room 11 with higher ceiling on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review Catherine M from Bicester. The railway starts again in the spring so you have the perfect excuse to come back. I'm sorry that you didn't find Dracula but I could arrange for my mother to pop in next time which is the next best thing (We bought her an iPad for Xmas so Iknow she can now read these!) She also has a great Bicester based limerick about society wedding held there. Not funny if I say it but hilarious coming from someone approaching 80.

Room 2 is my favourite room because it has the biggest bed - but is in fact our second smallest room.

haste ye back.

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    148
    42
    20
    9
See reviews for
77
441
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Right in the centre of Pickering with ample free parking.

Excellent staff, knowledgable, friendly & helpful.

Amazing breakfasts, i love kedgeree!

Our room was on the top floor of the main building overlooking the main street, lovely - if a little dated.

Very reasonably priced wine list - always a bonus!!

Wouldn't hesitate in recommending or staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks Catikens for your custom, your review and your recommendation. We also have much funkier rooms which we call Hideaways. If you can come again soon (before May) email me first and I will try and get you a free upgrade so long as it is available.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Checking through TripAdvisor looking for a late break we came across the White Swan at Pickering. The reviews looked good and they had a special Snow Break Offer on - so we deciided to go for it. What a find, we had a great stay and without a doubt will be back. The Hotel is bang in the middle of Pickering on the bustling Market Square. We had a hideaway room which is in what appeared to be a converted building at the rear of the Hotel. The room was cosy and comfortable with a big bath and great shower in the en suite.
We had dinner in the hotel dining room which is in the main building. The food was just wonderful. Beautifully cooked and nicely presented, the focus was on local produce. We had Goats Cheese and Tomato Tart and Home Oak Smoked Mackerel for starters followed by Ginger Pig Pork Belly and a Cod Steak for mains. I could not resist the pudding menu and was delighted by the moist and deeply flavoursome Sticky Toffee Pudding. We enjoyed a very nice bottle of wine with the meal.
We ate breakfast in the same dining room and were again delighted by the meal. From a big choice we opted for freshly prepared Eggs Benedict and a Yorkshire Breakfast fearturing Ginger Pig bacon, sausage and black pudding, both were fabulous.
I have not mentioned the staff at the White Swan because unusually they deserve a special mention of their own. They are all really attentive and helpful, even when called to our room twice to help us sort out the telly they were friendly an smiling. They seem really happy to be here and it shows in the service.
The quirky Hotel Guide in the bedroom which had me in hoots, is probably an indicator of where the happiness flows from - it was written by the owner who clearly has a good sense of fun. Of course they don't need a taxidermist any more, the chefs have mastered the art!
We will be back to this gem of a place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review which is fortunately at odds with the previous reviewer - despite you both staying at exactly the same time. I'm glad you found our staff friendly and attentive and we all really hope you come back to see us again soon. Glad you also liked the in-room blurb. Smiles and sense of humour restored then. Thanks again

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Where to start?! My wife and I take a weekend break in and around the North Yorkshire moors and frequently meet up with friends for lunches, to go for walks etc, this in mind we have have stayed in a lot of the establishments in the surrounding area. It's was by far one of the worst FOR THE MONEY. Now had I paid around £70 for the room I would have expected the treatment I received and the average state of the room, however I didn't I paid full whack at £119 for one of the inside rooms.

Initially we arrived and the receptionist was on the phone, perfectly normal. Rather than smiling and saying just one moment please or even just a smile and nod of acknowledgement, we were given a raised finger of 'wait' and she could not have looked more annoyed that we were there. This was not a great start, however the hotel looked lovely downstairs and was clean, with what looked like a lovely restaurant.

I notice this has been mentioned on another review, but we too were asked to take a look around town when we arrived at about 12:45. I realise this is much earlier than mentioned in the other review, but I would have expected to be offered drinks in the bar, or even (sales opportunity clearly missed!) lunch in the restaurant. We didn't even get a recommendation of where to go... Good job we had an idea of where we were!

When we arrived back the receptionists mood hadn't improved and we were not taken to our room, but given a description of where to go, not an issue but not what you expect for the money. Arrival at the room was probably the biggest disappointment, one of the light bulbs was out and the TV wasn't working. It took 45mins for this to be sorted once it was pointed out to the huffy receptionist, and then a young man came to sort the issue. He was very cheerful so no complaints there, although a complimentary bottle of wine for the poor start wouldn't have gone amiss and would be expected in a classy establishment. Once the lights were working the room wasn't the same as the picture online, these were clearly taken long before our stay and the room needed a touch of love... Or a barrel full.

We decided to dine in the restaurant as it genuinely does look lovely, very well seated, not too close but not too spaced out. I have absolutely no complaints about the food, that is really a credit to the hotel. The staff were a mixture of sullen to friendly, and there didn't seem to be a clear definition of who was running things. We did have a lovely waitress who was very polite, and who served us the whole time which I like as you often find you have 3-4 people serving your table and you repetitions of the same questions etc. so a plus there.

After dinner we retired to the bar and eventually left because no one came to serve us, I am still confused as to whether or not it was merely there for decoration as the following day there was no staff in there. Good array of wines and spirits, you just won't be able to get to them unless you are eating.

Finally on check out the following morning, I different much friendlier lady greeted us. I was asked 'Have you enjoyed your stay?' To which I replied 'not for the money thank you very much' I was not offered this so called no-quibble money back guarantee or even asked why, but was actually smiled at and told 'oh dear, I know we seem pricey but you know what they say, you pay for what you get!' Well not in this case.

So to sum up, some of the best food in the area, but as a hotel seriously lacking especially for these prices.

Room Tip: Just don't. Eat one evening and retire to a friendlier hotel with better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Geoffpanhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. It just goes to show that if we don't get the welcome right then the rest of the stay doesn't matter - and you rate us as terrible even though you thought the food was some of the best in the area.

The White Swan has legions of reviews about how friendly and accommodating our staff are. I will look into who was on reception that day and really deal with the issue. I apologise profusely

You are welcome to have your money back by the way but you'll need to get in touch. I would just like to know when you stayed please?

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

what a fantastic place, staff so friendly place very beautiful, a pleasure to stay will go again, bar warm and welcoming, lots of fine beer, tried most, room massive for a single bathroom nicer than mine at home

Room Tip: all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are really pleased that you all enjoyed The White Swan for your family reunion. It was our pleasure to look after you.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed overnight with a party of 15. Superb service, accommodation and food. Staff went out of their way to help out and provide extras. One of the party had a sore throat and throat sweets were brought in from the shops for her...! Couldn't fault anything. Great breakfast menu. Loved the Bothy. Felt totally comfortable and very welcome. Will return and recommend :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalcolmDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review. Your party was a great success from our point of view too. I hope you ALL come back again soon.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Spent a couple of very nice days between Christmas and New Year. Lovely place but very overpriced which kind of took the edge off it for me. The food however was amazing and did make up for it. They seemed rather short staffed too. I felt sorry for the ones that were working so hard and on split shifts as well. Overall lovely place to stay but they should revisit their tariff it was more country house mansion price! My compliments to the chef though - faultless food!

Room Tip: Stay in the main house, cosier and cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley186313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you liked the food and the place in general. Rather than dismiss your comments about price, I am genuinely interested to know what you thought you should have paid - perhaps you might get in touch through this site or privately?

Thanks anyway.

Regards

Victor victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
222 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,596 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
520 reviews
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Property: The White Swan Inn
Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing