We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very friendly staff and understated but efficient service. A great place to settle down with a perfect pint of beer in front of a warming fire followed by an excellent dinner.

Room was very good and a good offer for room dinner bed and breakfast.

Breakfast lived up to expectations and typically Yorkshire.

Will definitely stay gain and hope to go back with friends.

Room Tip: We're shown the Hideaway rooms and will try one of those next time although the vintage was more...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbholroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your great review. Please tell all your friends and come again soon.

Regards

Victor victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 679 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked a stay at the White Swan Inn partly due to the excellent reviews on TA, and found it to be a mixed experience. It is not cheap, and in my opinion it is certainly not value for money. FIrst the positive - the food was excellent, and cannot be faulted. Full marks to the chefs, and I can highly recommend it for an eating experience. On a less positive note, the room prices are high, and the room we used was pleasant, but nothing special. From the reviews, it's the more expensive courtyard rooms (which can take dogs) which get the better comments, but we were in the main hotel. Some of the people staying when we visited told us they were on special deals that had been notified to them by email, so perhaps they were getting better value for money?

Most of the staff were efficient and pleasant, but some of the glowing comments in other reviews make me very suspicious, as there was no evidence of the level and quality of service other reviewers mention. The receptionist gave a very cool greeting, and sent us off to look round the town until our room was ready (we were there 20 minutes before the booking-in time). A classier place might have suggested a table in the bar (and even complimentary coffee?) but this place showed none of that warm welcome or class. In fact the two small bar areas were constantly full of people waiting to dine - and we twice ended up going to the pub down the road as we couldn't get seats. When we did use the bar late one evening after our meal, there was no ice available for the drinks. The Bothy is a good idea (a room dedicated to residents which is across the courtyard) but we would have preferred being part of the atmosphere in the small bars.

On checking out I had to challenge the bill - which was incorrect, then some weeks later we received a personalised letter thanking us for our return visit. If it HAD been a return visit, that might have impressed me. As it is, it just confirmed that things are not quite as good as they should be - for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ttravellingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for both of your reviews. You kindly left a five star review of the restaurant on the White Swan TA page but were less impressed by your hotel experience for which I apologise. I would like to make amends for the less that perfect service you experienced on check-in etc.

With regard to pricing - we have a published rate and also offer packages and discounts from time to time. In these days of web dominance then it is quite likely therefore that there will always be someone on a better deal than you - same as everywhere. I can't really apologise for that.

It seems quite clear that had you been given a warmer welcome and things had got off to a better start, then perhaps things might have been different. It is our policy to offer complimentary tea or coffee on arrival to ALL guests regardless of what time they arrive and a warm welcome should go without saying. Clearly this wasn't done and I will try to find out which member of staff needs a little training in this matter. It would be very helpful if you could send me a TA message or an email to tell me when you stayed. The bar and snug are generally busy places at the weekend. I understand that as we had already 'got your back up' then you were not predisposed to any further patience with us. We also have a brand new ice-machine so there is was no excuse for running out at the end of service. I shall also address this as a training issue.

With regard to the thank you card we sent you. It was hand written, contains no sales message and represents a genuine attempt just to thank you for your business that takes a genuine effort on our part (not just a mail merge and a sticker). We send one to everyone of course and I am sorry that you didn't feel it worthwhile - despite the mistake.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have two elderly dogs so it is always a must that they can accompany us (were not quite over the hill, yet). We had a courtyard room which was brilliant for our girls. We enjoyed being able to take them in the bar whilst we studied the menu. The meal, attentive staff were first class, as was breakfast which was very nicely presented. A most pleasant and relaxing stay, we will endeavour to be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biddys78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your brilliant review. Do come back with your lovely dogs anytime.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

fantastic room double bath and shower under floor heating,, dogs allowed ,could go on and on about room, wonderful romantic retreat(even for oldies like us) not the cheapest but then again not the most expensive, food is wonderful in restaurant, lovely breakfast and have deals if you like on facebook will go back when we get a chance

Room Tip: go for court yard rooms
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20cass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your great review. Don't leave it too long before we see you again and thanks for mentioning that we do some great deals via the web site or Facebook.

Best regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Visited Dec 2011 for 30th wedding anniversary, Feb 2012 for a birthday and again in Dec 2012 for 31st wedding anniversary.
I've said it all before in the review a year ago, and the quality is still maintained. Stayed in a courtyard room (15), as they are modern, very well equipped and quiet even if, with advancing years, it is a little difficult to get out of the bath without the assistance of the tube dispensing the water, which consequently is becoming loose, (Honest, it was loose before we arrived!)

You can't really fault this place, the accommodation, food, wine list and staff attention and service are all excellent.

We will be back in May for my birthday, notice the intervals are becoming shorter!

Highly recommended without reservation for those wanting a relaxed break and have the ability to relax and enjoy whilst they are there.

Happy Christmas and New Year to all at The White Swan.

See you in May.

Neil and Sheila Snowden.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unitignorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Snowdon

Thank you for another kind review. Happy New Year to you too and see you in May. We will make sure there is a liveried (blind) flunky to assist you in and out of the bath or perhaps just make sure the tap is rigid.

Best wishes

Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

So I shall keep it short. Food good staff friendly, service slow, Manager seemed more interested in flirting with the receptionist. Basically waited ages for order to be taken when approached he manager he said yeah, I'll be there in a sec 10 mins later still no show I went to find him still at reception flirting with the receptionist. Asked to speak with the owner in the morning who was 'far too busy, sorry'

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Sir

The manager who let you down is now working elsewhere.

I apologise profusely for the effect that his actions or lack of them had on your stay and if you could get in touch then I would gladly try and make amends.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We found the restaurant meal outstanding and for a smart and civilised stay this would take some beating.There is a small bar area and a room with a bow window to look out on the main street but it is the restaurant with its flagstones and open fire which attracts.If you were looking to be over critical you could say that the old coach entry is very narrow for bigger cars.Welcoming and helpful service and a particularly wide choice of wines.Bedrooms are good if you pay above the standard rate. The whole experience is highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Peter

Thank you for your kind review. Hospitality is all about attention to detail coupled with a smile or two. Glad you liked the experience and come back soon.

Regards

Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
226 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
530 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,624 reviews
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: $159 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing