We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the nicest hotel room we've ever stayed in.”
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Probably the nicest hotel room we've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed September 25, 2007

My wife booked a three night break at the White Swan while we were having some work done at home. After we had booked we saw one very poor review here on TripAdviser which concerned us.

We had one of the superior contemporay rooms at the rear of the hotel and it was superb. A very good sized room, excellent bed, fantastic bathroom and beautifully decorated.

The staff were very well trained, helpful & attentive without being at all intrusive. We ate in the hotel on the first night and we enjoyed our food but we ate elsewhere on the other two nights. Breakfast was wonderful. We enjoyed the residents lounge/clubroom with TV's, pool table, honesty bar, complimentary coffee.

We liked Pickering and the general area and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

PS Don't be afraid to ask for a deal, we were initially quoted the full rate (which is quite expensive). The next day I noticed some deals on the internet and they were happy to match the cost which was a considerable saving.

  • Liked — Size & quality of room/fittings
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank filaollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    144
    41
    18
    9
See reviews for
72
432
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

I recently stayed at the White Horse with my Husband, our two young children (4 and 8 months) and my very fussy mother visiting from Australia. We had two interconnecting rooms in the new building towards the rear of the hotel. The rooms are fabulous and spacious with very comfortable large beds and lovely linen. I had the best shower ever (in the UK) and my Mum loved the bath (with candles). The interior design is modern and comfortable. Wide screen wall mounted TVs with an extensive DVD library adding to the luxury. The rooms were spotless.

Staff were friendly and helpful including taking, heating and returning baby food on our arrival. Plenty of space in rooms for cot and ready bed. They also have a lovely lounge area for guests separate from the main building which had been recently decorated with sofas, two wide screen TV's, pool table , papers and mags, on tap coffee (from an impressive machine) tea, a courtesy bar and a loo. A great place for me to hang out with the kids between sight seeing in the village.

Pickering itself is an interesting town with lots of character and interesting shops. The castle (walking distance from the White Swan) is worth a visit as is the sight of Steam Engine starting up and moving off at the train station.

On the food front all was delicious. We enjoyed an excellent dinner of pizza and gelato (home made) in the pizza place next door. Breakfast was excellent and extensive and well worth taking the complementary paper to read to prolong the experience. Lunch of fish, real chips and real mushy peas was lovely. We also enjoyed an afternoon coffee in the snug.

Children were welcome and out two seems to enjoy the stay (slept well and were well behaved).

My mother could find nothing to complain about (which is unusual) and we all thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would definitely return for a few days next time.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramberx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Small rooms in need of refurbishment in the main building or better rooms outside next to the car park, but getting soaked on the precarious walk to the main building for breakfast; all rooms at a high price but towels, toiletries and contents of the hospitality tray never replaced; poor breakfasts in a crowded dining room with too few staff; top restaurant prices for average dinners served on cheap tables without tablecloths whilst sitting on hard kitchen type wooden chairs; indifferent staff; noisy street keeping you awake; a proprietor who is apparently never in the hotel to hear customer complaints; etc etc. If that is what you want, stay here. If not, don't go within a mile of the place.

  • Liked — Leaving it!
  • Disliked — You mean like everything?
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TubbsMrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2007
The White Swan has a published no-quibble money back quarantee if guests are not delighted, (that is delighted not just satisfied). It is odd that despite attempts to reach him through this site he never claimed his clearly justified refund or claimed it on departure. The White Swan is not perfect and we do make mistakes but we are an extremely popular inn that does what it says on the tin and has been very successful for over twenty years at getting people to return and return again . For table cloths, fussy food, oversized breakfasts made from dubious ingredients you should go elsewhere. For old world charm and good simple food made from great ingedients and cooked order including at breakfast time give us a whirl - it is risk free after all. With 51 great people on the payroll the 21 bedroom inn is fully staffed and has a dedicated management team of five professionals with over 35 years service despite the oldest being 34 - therefore you don't need a doddering old propriator like me hanging around all the time getting in the way - but I'm never far away. The team is usually widely regarded, young, enthusiastic, IIP accredited and willing to please - indifferent - not us. We wouldn't have the confidence to offer our guarantee if we had to pay out very often - but when we get it wrong we do pay out so do get in touch Mr Tubbs, prove to us who you are and when you stayed and get what you rightly deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

As we drove across the empty moors having been sent that way by a sat nav with a sense of humour we began to relax into the rural life. It was to be a welcome break from our increasingly frantic life in Newcastle-upon-TYne -the party city.
The market town of Pickering looked perfect as we drove in. The ducks and ducklings swimming down the gentle river, the flowers in full bloom, the Yorkshire stonebuilt houses resplendent in the summer sun.
As we were shown to our room in the main building we could hear the gentle voices of the local traders packing up for the night and vacating the market place upon which the hotel stands.
Our room was a little tatty, in need of a good lick of paint and the tightening of the odd screw to make the doors on the cabinet look level. We did reflect on the price of our superior room, consider it too expensive and worry about those who must be in the standard accommodation.
The rest of the hotel main building like our room would have been grateful for a revamp.
Still the beer was good, the staff friendly and the village appeared peaceful. All was well.
We ate dinner in a side room as the restaurant had been confiscated for a wedding. It was cramped but we overlooked that. The food whilst above average for a pub was nothing special. Indeed my langoustine looked painfully thin and the meat from the shell was hardly worth the effort. We overlooked that. We even overlooked the complete failure to actually bring a glass of sweet wine that I had ordered.
And so we retired to bed. The irritations in the service and quality of the room were nothing compared with the utterly appalling experience of having a room which overlooked Pickering Village at night. This town would make the centre of our home city centre look tame. The antics of the customers of the local licenced premises was disgraceful. Having been a criminal lawyer for nearly 20 years there is little that shocks me but the language used, largely by Yorkshire young ladies was the worst I have ever heard. Most of the requests made of the Yorkshire boys were illegal and certainly immoral. Other terminology used was that usually only heard in an anatomy lesson or witness box. Every public order offence I am aware of seemed to have been committed. Pickering is loud and violent. Revolting. Pickering town centre that night. A disgrace - nothing less.
After a really rather good breakfast we were glad to leave the White Swan.
So an ok pub with shabby but ok rooms and reasonable food (but very good breakfasts). We could have overlooked all the inadequacies if we could have been able to sleep. As it was we were glad to get back to our North East home.
If you want a rural town in James Herriott mode steer clear of PIckering on a Friday Night. And Pickering - if you want normal human beings to frequent your town - do something before it is too late.
It is a shame but we won't go back to the White Swan.

  • Liked — the beer
  • Disliked — pickering noise levels
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Gums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2007
We have taken GUMS complaint's very seriously and are sorry that we weren't given the opportunity to respond to them face to face. The White Swan offers a full no-quibble money back quarantee if guests are not delighted. No refund was demanded on departure by this guest. However on investigation of the night in question we must confess that this guest had every right to be disappointed. We have never as a rule accommodated weddings but as a special treat we allowed a member of staff to hold a civil ceremony and have a dinner afterwards. It was due to be over by early evening but through no fault of our own the occasion ran late. This resulted in the kitchen being unable to cater properly for other dinners and the food provided was not up to standard. It so happened that a member of the owner's family ate in the restaurant on a table near GUMS that night and communicated a similar message. This is not normal experience and we have now apologised profusely. We have now adopted a No Wedding policy unless exclusive use of the hotel is taken. We have a roling program of refurbishment and there remain 4 out of 21 rooms that have not had a refurb within the last three years. The room in question has been down graded from superior to standard until it can be redecorated at the end of the season. We reserve the right to retain some so-called tattiness because others in a different frame of mind may construe the same as character. As far as the noise in the street is concerned - the night in question was the Friday that A level results came out and their were plenty of high spirits and no doubt a level of anti-social behavior in the street. This Trip Advisor guest report was given to the local paper as evidence that the Police need to be more active on occasions such as these and the paper ran the story on its front page. This is a market town inn and we don't pretend to be anything else. The street is not always noisy but we are in a busy town - but we do have quiet rooms at the back. This guest has been contacted and offered a free repeat visit to try to show that neither the White Swan nor Pickering are places to be avoided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We had a lovely 3 day stay at this hotel. We stayed in the new rooms which are nicely furnished with an excellent shower and large tub. Can't complain about the rooms.

We had 2 evening meals in the restuarant and 3 breakfasts. The main issue was that the standard of catering was a bit inconsistent. Having ordered the same starter and dessert on 2 nights the presentation was different on both nights. The breakfasts were ok but don't order any eggs, they were always overcooked. One order of boiled eggs and soldiers turned into soldiers with an almost hard cooked egg! One morning, there was no milk for the coffee as the milkman had not turned up...this is not acceptable at the prices charged...and not an acceptable thing to do to a customer that relies on their morning coffee!

Overall the staff however were very friendly but you could tell the difference depending on which shift appeared to be on. Some staff were very efficient and professional but others seemed flustered and inexperienced. The hotel has great potential but needs to work on consistency in both their food service and the service of the staff.

  • Liked — the power shower!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller4047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, U.K.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We recently spent three nights at The White Swan with our dog and had a great time.

We stayed in one of the new contemporary rooms which was very modern,
comfortable and nicely decorated. The extra touches like the dvd player, bathrobes and complimentary newspaper were great. The bathroom is fantastic - nice big tub and a brilliant shower. The room
and bathroom were extremely clean. Make sure you read through the Guest Information folder - it is very entertaining.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant every morning and the food was very tasty, with lots of choices. We also ate there for dinner one night and really enjoyed our meal.

One of the best things about The White Swan is the hospitality. All of the staff are very friendly and professional. We were always made to feel very welcome and the hotel is very dog-friendly - our dog's name was even included on the bill!

We had a really nice stay at The White Swan and would highly recommend it. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadowChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

This hotel is a great find and if you book late, you can get some good rates (we paid £79 per room including breakfast). I was travelling with a very fussy mother and boyfriend and both were impressed. The rooms were not huge, but you are in an old coaching inn and not a purpose built Hilton. Both of our rooms were perfectly adequate in size and being in the main building, were traditionally and tastefully decorated (see pics). Yes, there were bumpy walls and a couple of cracks in my mums room, but having lived in an old house, this sort of stuff happens the minute the paint dries and is part of the charm! More importantly, the rooms were clean and the bathrooms large and well equipped . It was also a pleasant surprise to have a selection of magazines in the room (be it slightly out of date) and a free newspaper of our choice the following morning.

As we were staying only one night, we decided to sample the hotel restaurant. Again, we were not disappointed. The food was fresh, local and delicious. Perhaps slightly edging towards the expensive side (certainly London rather than Yorkshire prices), but probably worth the money and I didnt see anywhere else locally with such an enticing and varied menu. The breakfast was also pretty special (and included in the room price!). There was the usual selection of fruit (e.g. fruit salad, fresh grapefruit etc) and cereal which you could help yourself to but also a hot menu served to order. Nothing left sitting on a hot plate drying out for hours on end and again, all freshly cooked and clearly homemade (the black pudding and croissants are particularly good). We were also impressed with the freshly squeezed orange juice which had obviously been made that morning, but had also been chilled - a small thing but so often forgotten.

Although we didnt really have time to use it, the guest lounge was an excellent idea in the converted outhouse. It featured plasma screen TVs (which the rooms had as well), a pool table, comfy sofas and an honesty bar.

We cant recommend this place highly enough, especially for a short weekend break. If you like repetitive modern chains with hundreds of rooms (but smooth walls!), then this may not be for you, but if you like individual and traditional rooms and excellent food, then definitely book.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Food and drink are a little expensive
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pookyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
215 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#2 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,532 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Property: The White Swan Inn
Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing