We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This little museum just gets better and better......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beck Isle Museum

Beck Isle Museum
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in what was intended to be England's first agricultural college, this fine historic building is Pickering's hidden gem. We have 27 rooms or areas of separate displays, covering many aspects of local, social and family history, militaria and everything weird and wonderful. Thousands of objects are thoughtfully displayed in re-created period shops throughout the building. On our special event days we have a number of working craftspeople, covering such crafts as Printing, Blacksmithy, Costumery, Rag-rugging. Lacemaking, Quilling, Quilting, Spinning, Butter making etc. We have an Activities Room where children may play Victorian games, a riverside picnic area, a gift shop, modern toilets including disabled facility and baby changing unit, disabled access and DVD for disabled visitors. We are open 7 days a week from February to November 10 a.M. To 4 p.M.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This little museum just gets better and better......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I understand that more changes are afoot for next year - can't wait to see them and chat to their enthusiastic team of volunteers.

What a refreshing change from many others. A welcome change in policy too regarding Dogs.

Well behaved dogs are welcome although due to some small corridors, access has restrictions and interesting waiting areas. This is sure to help families and couples with a dog who have been restricted in the past.

Parking too for visitors during their visit. Pretty good in the centre of Pickering.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank denburyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Trustee/Director at Beck Isle Museum, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We are pleased you returned to our museum for a repeat visit, we get many visitors who return because there is so much to see on only one visit, we also attempt to change displays as regularly as possible to make it interesting for return visitors. We do have a firm policy now on admitting dogs to certain areas which is displayed prominently on the front entrance door to the museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    53
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very informative, plenty for kids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very nice museum and as the advert says deceptively large. The visit we had took us more than an hour and they even suggested themselves that about two hours would let you take in most of it. There was a friendly reception and if there is space you can park right next to the museum if you go and get a free visitor pass form the entrance in. We went when haloween was on and they had a good tick the boxes thing going for the children which we saw plenty of and were not bored. There was an activity room in full swing and the museum obviously likes as much hands on as possible. If you take children and want to look they do seem to cater for them quite a bit. There was no food to purchase but I don't think they had enough room for anything like that. I would say there were more than thirty welll layed out rooms and exhibitions to look at with a good variety. For the infirm there are quite a lot of stairs but there is an upstairs section that can be visited with a wheelchair lift in place so there is quite a lot that can be viewed. The entrance fee is by no means extortionate and they are prepared to let you back in if you want a break and want to look in the town. It certainly isn't a stuck up type of museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Director/Trustee at Beck Isle Museum, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for you kind words, we usually advise visitors that they will need a couple of hours to really have a good look round the museum, we have 27 different areas of exhibits including our Victorian Schoolroom which we had converted into a witches' coven for Halloween, we had lots of things happening in there and we were very busy with many families enjoying the scary events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely museum with lots to see.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a great museum that is a lot bigger than it looks from the outside. Go in and see all the rooms and be reminded of how it used to be in the 'old days' - if you can remember that far back!
I can! Anyway - it is well worth a visit and run by volunteers - so well done to them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank happydays2013abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Director/Trustee at Beck Isle Museum, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We have many people commenting on the number of exhibition areas and the time it takes to go round the museum once they get inside, we are regularly described as the tardis of museums and many visitors have to return to finish off their tour as they run out of time the first visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Gem Of A Find !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We accidently found this lovely little museum in the heart of Pickering. It is run entirely by volunteers -mostly over the age of 80 - who were very knowledgable and very entertaining !! Two floors of little shops, rooms and outdoor buildings stocked with memorabelia plus a gift shop and a great activity room for children old and young !!
A 'must visit' if you are in the area..Pickering is a lovely place too and the town was just preparing for their annual 'War Weekend' and it was great to see costumes and shops decorated in readiness.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Trustee/Director at Beck Isle Museum, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Our volunteers are a key part of our local museum and we rely on them to enable us to give the service we do. They are very knowledgeable and we do have a certain number in their autumn years but we also do have quite a few younger volunteers. Some of them can be very entertaining especially on our craft demonstration days, especially with the younger children on our dinosaur and fossil event days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely little museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

not a bad price and quite a bit to see, took us about an hour to walk round, lovely place to visit, definitely worth the admission price which i think was about £5 for an adult.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank belter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Trustee/Director at Beck Isle Museum, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are always pleased when visitors think we are excellent value, we try to minimise any increases in admission charges, but we are volunteer run and supported and we rely on money that is taken at the admission desk to keep our heads above water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beck Isle Museum also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Beck Isle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing