We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Fish & Chips in Pickering” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastgate Fisheries Cafe and Takeaway

Eastgate Fisheries Cafe and Takeaway
Ranked #12 of 66 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best Fish & Chips in Pickering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Not to be confused with Capplemans. THIS is the best fish and chip shop in Pickering. I've called in here many times over the years and the quality of their products exceed any competition. I've used the takeaway and the Cafe. I'd almost travel the distance from Scarborough if I didn't have an equally good chip shop on my door step in Crossgates.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJames69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    19
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“PURVEYORS OF EXCELLENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We always call in the café for an evening meal on our way back from Whitby or Scarborough (closes at 8pm). Excellent 'Special' - haddock or cod, chips, tea/coffee, bread and butter. Served quickly despite queues outside the takeaway (traction engine rally in the town). Aiir con managed to cope on hottest day of the year staff very pleasant. We remembered to take home a drum of 'American Chip Spice', a local delicacy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
321 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Filled rumbling tums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We called off here after visiting Scarborough for the week-end and we were absolutely ravenous. We ordered the 'special' at £6.95 which was fish,chips, mushy pea,bread and butter and a pot of tea and honestly did not know what to expect. WOW the meal was served on 'fish shaped' plates and the fish took up the entire plate with the chips underneath and the peas on the side and was amazing - the best fish and chips we have had in a long time. The owner came to speak with us which was a lovely touch and the waitresses were very attentive and friendly - would recommend - a lovely meal and a lovely experience - well done to all

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfecto !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

been coming here for years have taken away & eaten in - fantastic staff ,lovely service and quality food !
Tasty fish , proper mushy peas & meaty gravy !
My children eat the chicken bites - not nasty chicken nuggets but proper chicken pieces , sausages are also quality .
Excellent value for money too !
No complaints here and have been in the darkest winter to busy summer Saturdays !
Only warning is they don't accept bank cards but is a cash machine at coop next door :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krsrejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovley fish shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

well cooked fish & chips could recommend this place, only tried it the one time but quality was great

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AJAY40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastgate Fisheries Cafe and Takeaway also viewed

 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Eastgate Fisheries Cafe and Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing