We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lowther House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lowther House
Ranked #13 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning B&B”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the recent bank holiday the setting is just perfect with exceptional hosts who make you feel totally at home.

The food was of a very high standard and the gardens were to die for with a little brook running just to the left go the garden.




5 star

Kev

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnoc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely garden with the noise of the babbling brook and intermittently the steam trains.
The quality of the food is outstanding,salad beautifully dressed,lovely bread and all presented beautifully.
Get away from the crowds in Pickering and stroll up the road yo ths little gem .thsvis parking if you eed to drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinhoodsbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We called towards the end of a long country walk for a very welcome cup of tea. It exceeded expectations with super location, excellent service and prices which were very modest. We have cake with our tea, the mote substantial food looked nicely presented and very tempting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PeteGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My friend and I decided to see what this venue was like. We arrived and parked just outside but on their development. At the time we did not know that it was also a Bed and Breakfast establishment and if I didn't live close by I would love to be in a part rural retreat.
I had a latte and my friend had a hot chocolate the weather was wonderful, sun blazing and idyllic surroundings. The menu was a delight inexpensive, we sat in the garden under a parasol for nearly two hours, hearing the beck splash against the side and the steam trains meandering along the tracks to Goathland, Levisham and Whitby. It was a magical afternoon, we will be visiting again, the staff were friendly and when questioned told us about the house and grounds.well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Lowther House in the Beck Room.

Absolutely wonderful stay - the warm sunny weather, together with the hospitality, food and location of the property made this a real treat.

Our bedroom was a good size and very comfortable. It doesn't come en suite but you have your own private bathroom just down the hallway. The little in room fridge was really useful especially in the hot weather.

We had our breakfast outside 2 out of the 3 days we were there which was a really nice way to wake up. The breakfasts were good with decent choice - it was also good to get some decent toasted bread for a change!

We also ate there one night - we enjoyed a good meal of prawns/tomato & mozzarella followed by a lamb tagine, rice, courgettes & mushrooms. Our desserts were tiramisu & a rhubarb and strawberry upside down cake - very nice indeed. Not bad for £20 a head and very good value when compared with what's on offer in Pickering. You can also bring your own wine too!

Pickering isn't the world's best place to eat though we had decent meals at Figaro's and Cilantro, both in the town centre. Being into real ale I especially enjoyed the Sun Inn which also has a large beer garden at the back. It's about a 15 minute walk into town.

We had good walks around the Levisham/Hole of Horcum and Helmesly/Riveaulx as well as a nice short stroll around the area we were staying in.

It was nice to come back after a tiring walk to just chill out in the back garden - so peaceful. You can also see the steam trains chugging by too!

So all in all a really good stay. Thanks to Paul and Tula for a very enjoyable long weekend.

(And yes we did hear the owls at night - we even saw a wild deer and bats too in the nearby forest!)

Room Tip: Beck Room is slightly bigger than the other room - nice comfortable king sized bed with 2 windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PjayP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We only stayed one night here, we were made very welcome, had a lovely circular walk ending back in the garden which is lovely, great place to relax with its own "babbling brook". we had breakfast the next morning served on the decking in the beautiful sunshine, only noise you can hear is nature and occasionally the steam train going past .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynste50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Lowther House for 1 night and it made such an impression on us we can't wait to go back! We stayed in the Orchard Room, with beautiful views of the gardens, which are an absolute delight! We arrived earlier than planned and wanted to find Lowther House and let Tula and Paul know that we'd arrived (it was a last minute booking) before enjoying a day at the steam railway. Paul went out of his way to find train times for us (despite trying to clear up after breakfast) and recommended some places of interest to visit. When we got back later that day we were made to feel very welcome and given tea and cakes in the garden where we got to meet Tula and the cat. Nothing was too much trouble for them. After a wonderful nights sleep we went downstairs to have breakfast on the terrace, which was a wonderful end to a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela29071971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.9 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 49 in Pickering
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#16 of 49 in Pickering
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowther House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowther House

Property: Lowther House
Address: Newbridge, Pickering YO18 8JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lowther House B & B and Tea Garden is situated in walking distance of the market town of Pickering the home base of the North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway. The house itself sits within beautiful gardens with a babbling brook and views of the steam railway. Ideal place to get away from it all for a couple of days or just to stop over for homebake snacks, a variety of tea's or coffee and cakes when out walking, cycling or touring the area. Tea Garden and Tea Room open Wednesday - Sunday 11h00 -16h00 From the last week in March to Mid October. Your host John & Helen offer bed & breakfast accommodation and evening dinners by prior arrangement. Relax, Refresh and Rejuvenate in the tranquillity and nature that surrounds us and allows you to 'JUST BE' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lowther House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowther House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing