We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasmanians, December 2012”

Cilantro Pan Indian Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Cilantro does Indian food with passion" The menu oozes culinary delights; from the selection of ingredients to the presentation of the food. The Cilantro menu embodies a unique blend of ethnic and progressive dishes and the chefs will always push boundaries with their combination of modern and traditional influences. The front of house team is friendly, responsive, informed and discreet. Staff would be delighted to host your party and help you commemorate your special occasion in style. Their exquisite cuisine and selected wine list will be admired by you and guest. Eat here first, whether you are a curry lover or not!
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasmanians, December 2012”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a lovely meal for our last night at Pickering at Cilantro's - very delightful food and complimentary shot of Baileys at the end - much appreciated. Service was really friendly - we didn't expect to find such upmarket restaurants in a small town - very impressed!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Weavereye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    60
    16
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top Pickering Indian”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Pickering has 3 Indian Restaurants and we have eaten in all 3 regularly, however, we have only recently truly discovered Cilantro. In a good location on the main shopping street - Market Place, it is ideally situated. We have recently enjoyed a few evening meals at Cilanto which, to our mind, are better than the local competition. The menu is slightly different and not over-facing, like so many Indian restaurants can be. Slightly different choices to normal. Every meal with have had at Cilanto has been lovely, but our most recent visit was great. We all had different main courses and they were all presented nicely and tasted great. The service is extremely friendly and efficient. A good vegetarian selection also and side dishes. Great Naan breads. Would have no hesitation in returning and recommending this little Gem in Pickering.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EMSEDEN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food & friendly service”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been here a few times recently and found the food to be very tasty, the onion bahji are very fresh and tasty and the different main courses we have tried have all been very nice. We recently visited on a Sunday evening and the two courses for ten pounds offer which runs on a Sunday was a nice surprise. We took our two children last week and were very pleased to find a range of childrens options together with smaller meals from the main menu. On the whole the staff are friendly. I would recommend this restaurant, give it a try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Much better than when it opened”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had 2 disappointing meals when Cilantro first opened but recent feedback from our guests has been good so we decided to try again.
Good service in a pleasant atmosphere. Food was good-not great but good.
What came on the plate just needed a little more pzazz.
Will certainly put it on our list of places to use in Pickering

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank littlewillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton in ashfield
Level Contributor
208 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were staying in pickering for the war weekend & having looked at previous reviews decided to book in advance.
Suprisingly for a Saturday night during this weekend it was very quiet.
It is deceptively large once you step inside & nicely decorated.
Disapointingly we found the the food didn't match the decor or service, finding it very average!
We all had different mains(4) & we all agreed that none stood out. In fact I had lamb samosas with my main but I just wonder if they'd being bought from the Co-op next door, very bland & doubt if made 'in house'?
There other places to eat in Pickering so a second visit will probably not be on our agenda in the future

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cilantro Pan Indian Restaurant also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cilantro Pan Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing