We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed here this last weekend, the accommodation was brilliant extremely comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and nice. They popped over to the cabin to see that we had settled in Okay. I cannot rate this place highly enough.

We didn't take our dogs but there were plenty of walks for them and plenty of dog poop bins. They have an area for the dogs to rest with plenty of water.

The shop is well stocked and no more expensive than most holiday shops. We will come again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review following your recent break at Cropton. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and that the team looked after you well. We do hope you stay with us again when you are next in need of a break.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    135
    34
    21
    18
See reviews for
214
208
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We returned yesterday from a really relaxing stay. The staff were friendly, the location was better than we imagined, the cabin was clean and well equipped, wildlife in abundance. Really enjoyed soaking in the hot tub at the end of the day. Everything has been said in previous posts, just magic, visit and enjoy.

One thing for me that would make it perfect is somehow getting rid of the view of parked cars, have landscaped garages???? pretty impossible but would be nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your May break at Cropton. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the location was even better than you had imagined. Sorry about the parked cars; perhaps next time we can help you to select a cabin with views of the forest only.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned home from one of the best holidays upon arrival 1st class service greeted by lovely knowledgable staff really can't help you enough then when we got the key to the cabin we were so impressed with it beautifully clean and very well equipt with all you need just add the food !! We decided to order a home delivery from asda that was delivered with no hassle had a day trip to York , Whitby , and a wonder around pickering then spent the rest of the day in the hot tub just a nice quiet chilled out place to go fab park and even came face to face with a deer what an experience it was will be back that's for sure it doesn't point out in the brochure there's a dishwasher and a microwave but no mobile phone Signal ... we also had entertainment package sky sports and wifi with a movie package that was great as well

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent Forest Holidays break at Cropton. It sounds as if you explored some of the delights of Yorkshire as well as enjoying the forest setting. I am pleased you found your cabin comfortable too and took some time to relax in the hot tub after your excursions. I hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have just returned from spending a weekend at the Cropton Site and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the accommodation is very clean and comfortable. The Hot tub is great after a day out at the coast, well anytime really!

Great quiet location, good weekend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your bank holiday break with us at Cropton and I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked this as a 5 day break for us and our two year old girl instead of going abroad.

Having endured some rather average self catering accommodation we instantly bowled over when we went into the cabin, so nicely furnished and perfect for us.

We loved the floor to ceiling windows and that we were right in the forest, not just seeing it in the distance or another cabin

We all had fun mountain biking in the forest. A 5 mile ride for the family and a 20 mile ride for me.

We liked the little touches such as the map of the area on the wall and the owl keeping watch, not to mention everything being so clean and well maintained.

We are already looking at booking in another forest holidays site and maybe a weekend break at Cropton!

The only issues we found was the tendency to want to charge extra for everything. £30 for wifi is a lot of money for 4 nights even if you do get the movies too. Also it could have done with a small playground.

Thank you first holidays and see you soon!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Cropton. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday and found the accommodation so pleasing. I am most impressed with your 20 mile cycle ride! With regard to the Entertainments Package, some of our guests don’t necessarily want to take advantage of it and it makes sense therefore to charge for it separately. You will be pleased to hear that there are plans for a playground at Cropton later this year, so I hope you will return for another break.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed in cabin 23 which is a 2 bed gold cabin. It had everything you would need for an enjoyable stay. The hot tub was great and someone came to clean it everyday. There was even a scrabble board and jenga if board games are your thing.

If you don't want to you don't need to drive anywhere as everything you need is on the site. You can order pizzas and wine through the tv and they deliver to your cabin. The bacon buns were lovely and a good price and a fish and chip van comes to the site on a Wednesday night.

You can hire bikes from the site if you fancy cycling and there are activities such as bushcraft skills and a night vision walk. We didn't try these and just enjoyed walking in the forest. We also went to Rosedale Abbey and walked round there.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Sat on the decking we saw pheasants, squirrels, jays, blue tits, finches etc. On the site when heading to the retreat one morning we saw three baby deers.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy_sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Cropton. I am pleased you liked the location and found the team friendly and helpful. It sounds as if you had a pleasant, relaxing holiday.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked this place as both myself and my husband needed a break from the old routine. This place was a perfect hideaway! We booked the Golden Oak cabin with hot tub which gave us everything we could have wanted. Only point to note is the limited privacy when using the hot tub even though its at the back of the cabin but the neighbours could look directly onto us. The cabin was spacious, although there was just us 2 and the dog. Great to have the dog inside with us and there be no issues - wooden floors throughout makes it no hassle. Plenty of walks to choose from although even the easy trails present their own challenges! Looking forward to trying some of their other locations in the near future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your recent getaway to Cropton with your husband and dog. I am delighted you enjoyed your break from the old routine with some forest walks and hot tub relaxation. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
16.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Property: Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Address: Forest Holidays Cropton, Pickering, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Also Known As:
Cropton Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing