We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay over new year”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Late at reviewing but we stayed in a 2 bed silver birch for new year. Lodge is lovely with everything you need - love the underfloor heating. Isolated site but lovely for walks the kids enjoyed it. No mobile phone/wifi/3G signal. You can buy a film and wifi package which we did and enjoyed lazy nights watching films and have some contact with the outside world!! Hot tub was fab and clean but no temp control this is obviously set by them but was fine. Really relaxing break and the champagne hamper left for the new year was greatly received x

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choggy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your review following your New Year break at Cropton. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope you enjoyed the champagne whilst relaxing in the hot tub! We’d love to see you again, perhaps next New Year?

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 574 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

There's something very relaxing about being in the forest, and this forest holiday's site makes you feel very secluded. The cabins are all pretty new, so the modern decor, layout and functionality is very comfortable, and the hot tub is worth while for an extra bit of luxury. It's not a big site, but apparently there's plans to upgrade the communal facilities (forest retreat, etc.), and build more cabins within the existing grounds, which will only improve the place.
It's a nice base for adventuring into the forest, with mapped walks all around the immediate forest area, and the Keldy site isn't too far away, which has slightly more modern facilities (but older cabins). You're only a short drive from some nice yorkshire places like pickering, scarborough and york, or you can hire a bike to head into the wilds as well.
I'd say the only criticisms I have are that there was no instruction on how to use the underfloor heating, or how the recycling needs to be sorted (done differently to where I live). That and the water went off for most of a day without warning - not good when you have a 6 month old baby! They did supply bottled water as an emergency measure.

Room Tip: Hot tubs are probably best in winter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaronVonNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent break in Cropton. I am pleased you liked the peace and seclusion of the forest and enjoyed your family break. Thank you for your feedback with regard to the extra information you would have liked in your cabin; we will review this. In the meantime the team are always happy to answer any questions. I hope you will stay with again before too long.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We arrived for a much needed relaxing break. The Cabin was clean airy and just had a wow factor. The hot tub was to die for! If you are looking for more of an adventure break then there are many activities for adults and children. The Retreat will order and deliver items like breakfast rolls, croissants etc to your door! We had a fantastic break walking and simply relaxing in the hot tub. I would love to come here for Christmas or New Year or any time really! Try it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Cropton. I am so pleased that you enjoyed a nice relaxing break and by the sound of it, took advantage of the services on offer. Do come for Christmas or the New Year; it is a magical time in the forest.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I will keep this brief, we stayed in cabin 37 in the last week in february. The cabins are faultless, everything you need for a relaxing weeks break. A fantastic base camp to see all the local attractions and for walking in the woods. The entertainments package was definatley worth getting for all the movies. The beds are very comfey, the decor and bathrooms were brilliant, and the hot tub....................................was awsome. We will almost certainly be returning and as a first time experience for us forest holidays didnt fail to impress. Also worth noting the staff were very helpfull and polite and the hot tub was checked daily by the staff.

we will see you next year.

thankyou

from the hill family.

Room Tip: 37 was nice and secluded when in hot tub :-)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDYLELI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for a great review following your first Forest Holidays break. I am delighted you enjoyed the forest experience and also that you found it a good base for exploring the local area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Cropton forest lodges, which my husband and I booked for my 30th birthday.
We had a wonderful time and can honestly say we were very impressed. The service we received from the staff was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in cabin number 26 a silver birch. The cabin was clean and tidy when we arrived and the little touches like the scrabble board spelling out Welcome and a complimentary doggy bag and doggy biscuit for our dog was lovely.
We had pre booked the entertainment package and found this great we used it a lot and the wifi enabled us to call our son who was staying with my parents via Skype whilst we were away, as there is no phone signal.
We ordered pizza and other nibbles through the tv and can definitely recommend. The pizzas were delicious and delivery was prompt.
We used the hot tub every night and really enjoyed this treat. We also found the cabin manual and things to do manual very useful.
The only negative things I could comment on were that we didn't have a frying pan in our cabin, which made breakfast cooking difficult. I did report and the staff did try to find us one, but unfortunately they had no spares. Also it was very windy on our second night and the hot tub lid kept blowing open, as the straps were broken. We did eventually manage to secure it with some rope but it wasn't ideal.
Overall this did not spoil our time and we would definitely return, lovely area and fantastic lodges.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent Forest Holidays break at Cropton and Happy Birthday. I am pleased to hear that you had a relaxing break and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bring the issues that you mention to our attention, we will make sure they are sorted out. I do hope we will see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great holiday in a Golden Oak cabin at Cropton. Well equipped accommodation with lovely log burner and hot tub. Staff could not be more helpful, but unobtrusive also, allowing us to relax in peace, but access facilities if we wanted. The dusk walk and bush craft activities with the park ranger were fab, very informative and entertaining (we were rewarded with spotting two deer on the twilight walk!) and we just couldn't help but forget about the outside world. A great place to visit with children, back to nature but with a nice comfy, warm lodge to come back to at the end of a day's walking!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent family break at Cropton. I am delighted that you enjoyed a good back-to- nature holiday – with some additional comforts! The Forest Ranger activities sound as if they were a highlight, and I have to agree with your sentiments: if the children are happy, everybody is happy.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a very enjoyable 3 night break.2 adults,3 kids and our dog had a fab time.This was our second visit here and was much more enjoyable than the previous time.The lodge itself was spotless and much cleaner than before.The hot tub was also cleaner.Cropton itself doesn't offer much but Pickering and scarborough are within easy reach.Thornton le dale is also a lovely village well worth a visit.Forest holidays also offer ranger activities for the kids and there are cycles to hire as well as lots of walks if you're that way inclined.Very peaceful and nobody bothers you.It was good to see the hot tub being drained and cleaned as we were leaving.All in all we had a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sontex12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for writing a review following your recent Forest Holidays break at Cropton. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing and refreshing family holiday. I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
16.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,078 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
681 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
286 reviews
11.5 mi away
Jasmine Park
Jasmine Park
#11 of 29 in Pickering
69 reviews
0.7 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 1 in Cropton
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Address: Forest Holidays Cropton, Pickering, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Also Known As:
Cropton Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing