We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eastgate Cottages, Pickering”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eastgate Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eastgate Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, UK
1 review
“Eastgate Cottages, Pickering”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have had an fantastic time, staying at Eastgate Cottages both as a family and a couple. The cottages have all been refurbished, decorated and equipped to the highest standard and no detail seems to have been overlooked to ensure you have a comfortable stay. There's plenty of parking and a play area for children, as well as games and DVDs for the quiet times. When the weather's fine you can sit out. Very reasonably priced for the level of comfort offered. Pickering is a good base for exploring east Yorkshire. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
73
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed in these lovely cottages last July (2011). Family of four plus dog. The cottage has been renovated to the highest standard and is superbly well equipped with absolutely everything anyone would need for a long or short stay, even down to simple things such as DVD library, board and card games for those evenings when you may just want to relax indoors (or outside if weather permits). Staff are friendly and could not have been more helpful. There are plenty of things to do and see both locally and in the surrounding area. The town of Pickering boasts plenty of shops, pubs, restaurants and there are plenty more in the surrounding towns and countryside. The dog was made especially welcome with his own little welcome pack which complimented our own.
We really enjoyed our week here and our only regret was that we hadn't booked for longer - hopefully we'll put that right next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Superb cottage,best we've ever stayed in,and our dogs were very welcome too,fantastic break.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had another fantastic holiday at Eastgate Cottages, so much so that we didn't want to go home. We have stayed at 2 different cottages now and both were excellent. We are returning in December and again next summer so this is a true testament to how good they are. I recommend booking well in advance as they are very popular. Congratulation & thanks to Elaine, Kevin & their staff for making our holidays so fantastic. Yvonne & Paul, St Andrews.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tengallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Occupied this cottage from 3rd Oct to 7th Oct 2011.One word describes this property "PERFECT". Decor ,facilities and comfort are first class. It far exceeded our expectations. The property is clean and very well designed. Nothing was lacking. Only a very short walk to Pickering. Despite being sited on a main road it was very quiet and we were not disturbed. Owners are extremely helpful and we were greeted with a bottle of wine, tea making facilities and a snack on arrival. We will endeavour to return in 2012. Bill, Wirral

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in Hartoft cottage and this really is a 5 star cottage! Exceeded our expectations and we are quite particular with what we want from our holiday accommodation. Staff very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed it so much we booked there and then for next year .

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimnic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Having spent many self-catering holiday in the UK over the years, this was probably the best. Service and welcome was excellent. Cottage was exceptional clean, well equiped and very cosy. The added extras were very welcome and a nice touch! Location was perfect, Very short walk into town with everything you need and a steam train!!
Excellent base for walking in the North York Moors.
Totally recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsters_Ink_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#2 of 27 in Pickering
264 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#10 of 49 in Pickering
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastgate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastgate Cottages

Property: Eastgate Cottages
Address: 117 Eastgate, Pickering YO18 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastgate Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine holiday cottages situated in a private courtyard within walking distance of the market town of Pickering. Almost all have en suite facilities, ideal for couples traveling together and all have log fires perfect for winter breaks. Most cottages welcome pets. The cottages individually sleep 2-7. We are open all year for full week or short breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastgate Cottages Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing