We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely lodges”
Review of Rocklands Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocklands Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“lovely lodges”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

just returned from a 2 night stay here in the Junior Suite lodge and had a fantastic time. the lodges are in a great peaceful location but only a 10 minute drive from flamingo land which we visited on Saturday and half an hour from scarborough where we went on Sunday. the owner of the site was extremely helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. there is a dvd hire service which was fab for the kids since the weather wasn't great, and fresh eggs and homemade jam for sale in reception. Brilliant kids play area too. The lodge itself was clean and fairly spacious with an open plan style with double bed behind the living area and separate kids room. they had made swans and elephants out of our towels for arrival which was a lovely touch, along with the kids books in the bedroom! id definitely return here, a lovely peaceful retreat! hope for better weather next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire_lou272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    54
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
88
146
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just came back from a 2 night stay here yesterday 9/6/2013, i must say the place is fantastic, cabins are lovely and clean and well laid out, People are saying there small but i still managed to get a travel cot and pram in there and still have plenty of room. The surrounding area is very nice and the built in bbq's are a good touch! We had lovely weather so made full use of them.
The owners are both are great, really welcoming and cant do enough to help! They offered extra blankets so that my 15 week old son wasnt cold and even took the time to walk to the cabin and show us how the heating worked so that the cabin was warm enough for a baby(not that we needed it as the sun was glorious). All in all very nice and peaceful and will definatley go back. Thanks for a lovely weekend retreat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbul84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in a studio lodge at the start of June. The park was easy to find, and in a great location just outside of Wrelton, and very near Pickering, surrounded by trees and plenty of countryside - with some great walks all round the area, with amazing views across the county and a nice village pub nearby.

The lodge had everything you need, it was very clean, and they even provide BBQ's for you to use. The owners were very helpful and advised us on places to walk.

Will definitely recommend this place to others and visit again myself.

Room Tip: We got a good deal by calling to book rather than booking online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonesg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had perfect weather which makes any stay more idyllic, but also meant that we could use the BBQ's that are adjacent to every cabin :). The cabin itself (studio) was very small and open plan, but perfectly adequate for the two of us and the dog. It was spotless and had everything we needed - including many of those extra things that make a stay more enjoyable, and you usually forget to pack. The site was full but felt in no way crowded or busy - a very peaceful spot.
The Buck Inn in Wrelton is within easy walking distance and is also dog friendly - the landlord is a really lovely chap.
All in all a lovely stay and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just walk to the end of the road and you see the whole of the Vale of Pickering. The lodges are done out beautifully, friendly owners and very well equipped, also doggy friendly. Would recommend and we would definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from a 2 day stay and had a lovely time. Nice friendly welcome, lodges are well kept and fully equipped with everything you will need. Beautifully maintained gardens and play area for the kids. Bbq area for each lodge, although didn't get the chance to use it as the weather wasn't great. Fish and chip van visited on Monday evening, fish was excellent but the chips a little underdone. Great location for a base to see the surrounding area. Nice walk down to the local village pub, the Buck Inn, with a warm welcome and good food and drink. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PNEFan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay at these lodges over the weekend already talking about going back very clean. Lodges warm and cosy. Will definitely book for the summer. And dog friendly. The weather was abit rubbish but that didn't stop us going out. Family run business who couldn't do enough for us. Xx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
2.8 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
2.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#2 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 46 in Pickering
55 reviews
23.3 mi away
The KP
The KP
#2 of 6 in Pocklington
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocklands Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocklands Lodges

Property: Rocklands Lodges
Address: Rocklands Cawthorne Lane | Wrelton, Pickering YO18 8HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocklands Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocklands Lodges is a unique complex of just 16 self catering lodges set within a beautiful woodland glen. Perfect for a Log Cabin holiday in North Yorkshire. Nestled between two farms & set within 3 acres of gardens and pine trees makes Rocklands Lodges an idyllic location to unwind from a busy life We have a variety of different types of lodge ranging from a studio lodge which ideal for a couple, to a detached supreme lodge for larger groups & families and with a small selection now with hot-tubs, our lodges are perfect for walkers, cyclists, romantic couples and families alike. Weekend and Midweek breaks available. 15 Lodges are Pet friendly with a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Rocklands Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocklands Hotel Pickering
Rocklands Lodges Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing