We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly Accomodation”
Review of Rocklands Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocklands Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked Rockland Lodges so we could bring our family pet with us on a weekend break to Yorkshire. We had originally booked the Ryedale Lodge and after a long journey from Cairnryan we arrived at 1030pm; we found Esmund the proprietor most welcoming and he surprised by upgrading us to the Blisdale Lodge which was fantastic for our little family of two adults, two under 10's and dog.
You are within driving distance to York, Pickering, Malton, Helmsley and the small village of Wrelton is at the bottom of the lane leading to Rockland Lodges.
Overall, the accommodation was clean, homely with all the mod cons of the family home, dvd rentals at hand with a non obligatory donation for bird food. The area itself is quiet which was fantastic for us but it may prove a little busier in summer.
I would certainly recommend Rockland lodges to all families, walkers and dog owners and i hope to make a return visit in the near future!
Thank you Esmund for our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toxicpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have been to Rocklands lodges 3 times, all with our dogs. The owners are very friendly and always make you welcome. If you are looking for a holiday camp atmosphere then forget it. We came here just to chill out and walk the dogs. We have always been in a studio cabin and they are immaculate. The last time we were here they had a mobile fish and chip van thet came on a friday and I must say that they were the best fish and chips that I have tasted in years. you can buy honey eggs and salad sauces from the owners and they have a good dvd selection, We just chilled out and watched TV drinking chamagne on a night it was more of a holiday for our dogs than put them in kennels. The only problem that we have ever had was the weather, it has rained on all 3 occasions that we have been there, but would definately go back.

Room Tip: If you go to pickering on the saturday morning go early in the morning or in the afternoon as the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we arrived an hour before dark. it looked so nice and quite. the owners were so nice to us and our dog lucy. on collecting our keys we went to our lodge it was really nice . well furnished for a nice weekend away. everything you needed was in the cabin. by now it was dark and we went for a look around all the cabins had fairy lights all over the roofs and all the trees were covered in various lights it really looked amazing. our dog lucy loved the place running about investigating chasing the birds which seem used to the dogs. we have all ready decided to come again it really is nice . try it and you will love it too. thanks to the owners see you again .

Room Tip: cabin 3 had various birds feeding of bird feeders aa day long nice to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Having just returned from a 5 night break, me, my partner and his 2 young kids are all in agreement that Rockland Lodges is awesome! It proved to be an ideal base for our Yorkshire break, situated perfectly with stunning views in all directions. The website described the accommodation and surroundings perfectly and we were greeted by a friendly and charming host who instantly made us feel welcome.
The Eskdale caravan was perfect for us. Clean and fresh with enough room for the kids to run about! The garden space was really pleasant and the addition of the animals was delightful.
As lovely as our accommodation was, we spent very little time there as there was just too much to do in the neighbouring areas. Yorkshire is a fantastic place to visit for anyone on any budget. We reached our chosen destinations every day within 30-60 minutes. There are also shops in the local villages which stay open late - ideal for self-catering.
We must recommend The Buck Inn in the local village. The food and hospitality was superb!
I could go on and on about the merits of Rocklands Lodges and I truly have no gripes (and I'm one fussy customer!). We will be returning either as a family or as a couple and I have no hesitation in recommending Rocklands to all.

Room Tip: Ignore my ratings re swimming pool and fitness centre! Not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

What can I say. We have just had the most relaxing time at Rocklands Lodges, just what we needed after a hectic 4 month schedule. The lodge was lovely, immaculate bedding (which is one thing I am very particular about) The kitchen area was very well equipped and clean. The owners could not do enough for us recommending places to go with our children (and dog) and places to eat. Many thanks to Jeanne for helping when my little girl fell over. We will definiteley be returning and would not hesitate to recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My partner and I really enjoyed our few days away at Rocklands. We stayed in a studio lodge which was very clean and had everything we needed. As others have said, the grounds are well maintained and the whole place has a relaxing atmosphere. We enjoyed some very nice meals at the local village pub, however I would not advise walking to the pub at night as the lane is steepish, narrow and dark. Fish and chips from the van which visits Rocklands on a Monday night was also nice treat!

Perhpas if anything, the furniture in our lodge was starting to look tired, but nothing to put us off returning to Rocklands in the future. All in all, a very nice stay in a lovely part of North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PuddingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

just got back from Rocklands lodges we had a great time lovely lodges were lovely, clean, peace n quiet everywhere was spotless there was everything we needed evan our doggie Reggie had a good time . thanx again see you again definatly ..

Room Tip: well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
2.8 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
2.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Windmill
The Windmill
#16 of 184 in Scarborough
165 reviews
21.2 mi away
York Holiday & Cycle Stop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocklands Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocklands Lodges

Address: Rocklands Cawthorne Lane | Wrelton, Pickering YO18 8HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Price Range: $123 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocklands Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocklands Lodges is a unique complex of just 16 self catering lodges set within a beautiful woodland glen. Perfect for a Log Cabin holiday in North Yorkshire. Nestled between two farms & set within 3 acres of gardens and pine trees makes Rocklands Lodges an idyllic location to unwind from a busy life We have a variety of different types of lodge ranging from a studio lodge which ideal for a couple, to a detached supreme lodge for larger groups & families and with a small selection now with hot-tubs, our lodges are perfect for walkers, cyclists, romantic couples and families alike. Weekend and Midweek breaks available. 15 Lodges are Pet friendly with a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rocklands Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocklands Hotel Pickering
Rocklands Lodges Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing