We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocklands Lodges winter retreat”
Review of Rocklands Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocklands Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

beautiful setting and stylish lodges set in between pine trees. complete privacy with own veranda. all mod cons and exceptionally high standard of cleanliness. owners are friendly and helpful giving advice on local attractions. definitely will come here again :)

Room Tip: every lodge is quiet and although semi detached the verandas and entrances are completely separate a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 301 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

Rocklands lodge is an ideal place for families with younger children, with lots of things on site to keep them amused. We went as a couple and also enjoyed our stay.
We stayed in a studio lodge and found it a good size and well equipped. The lodges are located approx half a mile from the village up an unlit country lane. The village had a pub but did lack a local shop.
As four star accommodation I was slightly disappointed to find the lodge, in places, and on close inpection was in need of a clean. The shower cubicle and sealant had mould/mildew on it and there were stains inside the fridge that should have been cleaned. Overall though the cleanliness of the lodge appeared good.
I would consider returning in the future should I find myself in north yorks again.


  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnyaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Really great accommadation.Clean and very well equipped.Owners could not do enough for you and had thougt of everything that you could possibly want .Will definately be returning.
and telling all our friends to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mashersmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We have had the pleasure of staying at Rocklands several times, and have always had a wonderful break there in our favourite Studio Lodge 1
The Hosts Mr and Mrs Watson, and daughter Andrea are so very kind and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We had problems getting up the very snow covered lane to the lodges from the village, the last time we were lucky enough to visit, but it proved no problem for Mr Watson and his daughter who kindly drove down in their four wheel drive and effortlessly tow us up the hill!
We are well travelled and when staying in an hotel, we always prefer at least 4*, but Rocklands is in a class of its own. I can honestly say that there is only one thing that you cannot rely on ....and that is the weather! On our last visit we were lucky enough to have lots of snow, and the cabin was warm and cosy, and the scenery like a winter wonderland.
Hopefully. work allowing. we will be returning there in January to a place we consider to be our "Heaven on Earth"

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Not sure what our expectations were as we have never stayed in this type of accommodation before. What a surprise..Fantastic!. Stayed in a studio, very clean, very nice, and very warm.
The only disappointment was the weather but what do you expect in October. On our first night we stayed in and sampled the fish and chips provided by the mobile caterers...lovely.
Will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just back home from yet another idyllic stay at Rocklands Lodges .

As usual I had a very warm welcome, and the lodge was in immaculate condition . It smelt very fresh and clean as soon as I opened the door . The bed linen as ever, was very crisp and clean; lovely to slip into after a relaxing day .

The site is family owned and run, and this is very apparent by the well appointed facilities and equipment in the lodges . Great attention to detail has been taken .

The setting is very tranquil, and the site is so well cared for . A great place to unwind & relax, it really is peace, perfect peace !

My thanks to all the family, and Linda, ( not forgetting Spike & Alfie ) for a very enjoyable stay, once more .

( Dog friendly pub in the village, nice meals . Fish & Chip van calls on site twice a week - delicious; bakery deliveries on a Wednesday , you can order in advance )

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ternardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was in desperate need of a "getting away from it all" mid week break, I had a deadline on my book and was finding it impossible to do anything productive at home as I'd find everything a distraction. When I came to Rocklands, I was thrilled to find not only an inspirational location with beautiful scenery, but a gorgeous wooden lodge with all the mod cons without losing any of the character. My studio lodge was perfect for my writing retreat and I finshed my book with a day to spare to spend as I pleased - what a luxury. The lodge was clean, comfortable and had everything I needed, the owner's daughter was also very helpful when I needed advice on where to walk and what to do in the local area. I loved it so much, I'm going to treat my husband and I for our anniversary next year.

Room Tip: A good pair of walking boots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
16.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
9.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
702 reviews
17.3 mi away
Griffon Forest Lodges
Griffon Forest Lodges
#1 of 2 in Flaxton
829 reviews
3.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 45 in Pickering
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocklands Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocklands Lodges

Address: Rocklands Cawthorne Lane | Wrelton, Pickering YO18 8HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Price Range: $127 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocklands Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocklands Lodges is a unique complex of just 16 self catering lodges set within a beautiful woodland glen. Perfect for a Log Cabin holiday in North Yorkshire. Nestled between two farms & set within 3 acres of gardens and pine trees makes Rocklands Lodges an idyllic location to unwind from a busy life We have a variety of different types of lodge ranging from a studio lodge which ideal for a couple, to a detached supreme lodge for larger groups & families and with a small selection now with hot-tubs, our lodges are perfect for walkers, cyclists, romantic couples and families alike. Weekend and Midweek breaks available. 15 Lodges are Pet friendly with a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rocklands Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocklands Hotel Pickering
Rocklands Lodges Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing